We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative chef amazes vegan - and omnivore wife happy too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Creative chef amazes vegan - and omnivore wife happy too”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights Thursday and Friday just after New Year. We'd booked inclusive of evening meals as a previous experience had shown Macdonald's would adapt their menu to make vegan some of their dishes. This time however there was little that looked easily modifiable. I said I'd be happy with whatever the chef could provide that was vegan ... and that's the best thing I've said this year. Excellent tasty inventive vegan food (including sweet course) both nights. Besides that the food on the menu was very good too, and we enjoyed a relaxing stay. Very friendly and welcoming staff.

We will be back again!

Mike & Jackie

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    550
    344
    163
    110
See reviews for
166
1,100
38
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent new year eve at this hotel food was excellent, room very good first hotel we have been in where we did not have to mess about with the heating to get it comfortable, nice gesture when we got back to our room bottle of wine, chocolate thorntons bottle, chocolate on pillow,
Our only gripe with this hotel was the price of drinks just short of £11 for a bottle of cider & 175ml glass of wine, car parking was also a problem got soaked on New Year's day as there is no parking with the hotel had to use the Grosvenor multi story which was accessed from the bottom of the street, would still recommend it as a good central hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianLeslieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

One could not be closer to the centre of Chester at New Blossoms, close to the Cathedral, the main shopping centre and of course the 'Rows' the famous shops in the arcades above the main street level. New Blossoms was 'new' way back in something like 1600, but although the building retains its character of that period all inside is welcoming in maybe a 20thC way. Warm and friendly without being effusive.

Our room was large and fully equipped with all the requirements of the 21stC. and with very comfortable beds. Our only regret was that as it was over the hotel entrance we did not realise that the red doors adjacent were the entrance to a night club and we were woken by loud laughter at well past midnight as the club guests were leaving. If you are a 'light sleeper' then a room at the rear may be advisable.

The dining room has a type of set meal at a fixed price plus an additional set of choices but one cannot mix the two, however the food whilst being acceptable is not exceptional and one would not stay for the food alone. Breakfast is the norm - part self service and part served with quite a large choice

Finally a perfect hotel for a city centre stay - the one alternative is the Grosvenor but at considerable more expense! There are other hotels within walking distance but then they are not in the centre

Room Tip: Rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel and again it didn't disappoint us. As soon as you arrive at the hotel you receive a friendly welcome from polite, professional and efficient staff who will go that extra mile to make sure you have a pleasant stay. The room was very clean and the comfortable bed resulted in a great night's sleep. The food was delicious - whether you have the Chef's Special for your evening meal or the superb breakfast. Whatever your culinary tastes, you will not be disappointed by the choices on offer. The location of the hotel is ideal for shopping and the local tourist attractions are very close by. All in all, this is a hotel that really does go out of its way to give the personal touch with nice little gestures to make your stay special and is one that we will be definitely be returning to on a regular basis.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAH228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel for new years eve and was very happy with our choise the food was briliant hotel was very clean and comfotable the staff were very helpfull nothing was too much trouble the disco was very good and everyone enjoyed themself i would be pleased to recommend this hotel to all my friends and family and i will be returning as everthing is central for shopping and relaxing

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jgdutfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked 2 nights over New Year and must say we were most impressed. After reading mixed reviews we were a little apprehensive, but we need not have worried. The Gala Evening on New Year's Eve was thoroughly enjoyable and the gift was a nice gesture which was greatly appreciated. The location of the hotel is excellent and the staff were exceptional, very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We will definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This lovely hotel is one of those gems that keeps me coming back. In pleasant surroundings this hotel stands firm with the macdonald standards clearly met. Staff are polite, professional and efficient. Rooms are of a very good standard, clean and fresh. The food is also very good and their signature breakfast is excellent. We will be returning in a few months. Thanks to Andrew at reception.

Room Tip: It's in the centre of Chester, street view rooms are expectedly subject to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeforliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing