We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I was at the hotel on business and can say that this was the best business trip I have had with amazing customer service and friendly staff. I am looking forward to returning with my husband to do some shopping in Chester and for him to experience this wonderful hotel. My room was amazing and when I arrived was greeted with a welcome platter of homemade cakes. The evening meal was amazing too and the steak tasted like it had been done on the BBQ and cooked to perfection. All the staff were friendly and would like to give a special mention to Sting who was an amazing host. Thank you and look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: There is a bus that runs from the railway station to the centre of Chester and the hotel is a 3 minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jupeter531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just back from an overnight stay at New Blossoms. Not our first stay at this hotel and hopefully
we will be back again. Although we live a short distance away we decided on an overnight
as we were meeting friends for a wine tasting and dinner - not a driving event!!!!
As before we found the hotel most welcoming and comfortable and convenient for our
get together and also for retail therapy. We were able to do everything on foot!!!
Parking is convenient at the Grosvenor and Blossoms even given £1 off the parking
charge. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day's shopping before heading
home. The hotel facilities are first class and everything one would require is available.
Definitely 'Service with a Smile' with very well trained and friendly staff. Ten out of ten again.

Room Tip: The 'Red Door' is closed on Tuesdays and so no party noise at the front on Tuesdays. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for the weekend on a Tesco voucher deal with my girlfriend. The hotel has a great location, free fast wifi, comfortable beds and is very clean and tidy. Our room was overlooking the street so we had a bit of noise on an evening but it wasn't enough to spoil our sleep.

Breakfast was excellent - massive cold buffet (consisting of everything from fruit to cereal to cold meats and cheeses) which you can follow up with a cooked option. Really tasty.

The only problem with the hotel (and it's a sacrifice you tend to have to accept with such a central location) is that there's no parking on site. There's a public car park just a 5 minute walk away but this costs £10 per 24 hours. So always factor that in if you're driving there!

Room Tip: Room 122 is quite a walk from reception - up and down stairs - and if you're a light sleeper you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_benj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Myself and my wife stayed for two nights last week in room 125. The bed in the room was terrible, sagging in the middle it was almost impossible to stay on the edge and the mattress was shocking. I had read a previous review that said the beds were big and comfortable, unfortunately, ours must be one they had forgot to replace. The seal on the shower was useless and we had pools of water on the floor after each shower. The noise from outside was terrible on the first night, but a bit better on the Thursday night. We hardly got any sleep because of the noise on the first night. The hotel was very hot and housekeeping staff had to open windows in the corridors to cool the place down. The staff were attentive and friendly, but reception was left unmanned a few times, so we walked away and went back later. Overall, I was disappointed and wish we had paid more to stay at The Grovesnor

Room Tip: Don't get room 125!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank O2BADon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My fiance and I have just returned from a lovely weekend away in Chester, where we stayed at the Macdonald New Blossoms hotel on a Tesco Clubcard deal.

We had room 122, which was very nice indeed - spotlessly clean and very comfortable with its big, soft double bed; hot, powerful shower; and all the usual amenities you would expect from a 4-star hotel. Being situated overlooking the busy high street, it was a little noisy (especially at night when the pubs/clubs kick out and the local bongo player started up at 3am!) but it didn't affect my sleep *too* much!

The hotel itself is apparently the most historic in Chester, and we really enjoyed the maze-like layout, narrow corridors and grand staircase at the hotel's reception.

The cold buffet breakfast was so varied and plentiful that you don't even really need the freshly cooked option as well (but being greedy, we did partake of a full English and it was delicious!). At least it saved us having to buy lunch!

The staff (particularly the tall chap with glasses on reception) were warm, cheerful and helpful - we have in the past felt like second-class citizens when travelling on a Tesco deal, but we were really happy with the service here.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not overlook the street (if there are any) would probably be quieter. If you are trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Welcomed by Andrew at check in, we were instantly impressed by the service and feel of the hotel! He told us we were in for a bit of a walk to the room as the building is so old, but we appreciated the age and character of the hotel. It really was like a maze inside!! Our only downfall was the noise from the high street during the night, but we were a little "self-inflicted" from the wine so irritable all the same. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rachelina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here last week for work purposes and have to admit I was really disappointed! My bathroom had a dead spider that had to removed before I could shower. Every night there was so much noise outside I couldn't sleep. Apart from on Friday there appeared to be only 1 member of the waiting team and I had to ask at reception if I could order breakfast.
The hotel only had a 3 course evening meal available in the restaurant which meant we ate out most nights.

I have stayed here previously and enjoyed it but this visit was not up to its usual standards.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Staceyd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing