We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, no car parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersBronze level
manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, no car parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel as a Valentines treat. We were advised there was car parking. But this is on a multi storey car park a few streets away. We travelled light but it wouldn't have been ideal were this not the case. We unpacked and went for a snooze but struggled to sleep because of a very noisy family with children upstairs. We ate in the restaurant but were told when we arrived at 8.30 we were only just in time and they closed at 9pm. We felt uncomfortable. Before we had eaten starters the waiter came to take our plates away. We explained we hadn't finished. Food was lovely but pricey as were the drinks. On the plus side, although the room was very small, the bed was extremely comfortable. We explained at reception re the family upstairs and were told we could change if it was a problem later but hopefully the children would be asleep as they were going to the zoo in the morning! We slept OK during the night but unfortunately the family were up very early doors and consequently so were we! It would have been nice if the hotel and simiply offered immediately to change our room. Overall lovely hotel, had nice weekend but car park and restaurant let us down.

Room Tip: We didnt have a view but I think it was better than maybe a room overlooking the main street which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valente50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    540
    334
    160
    101
See reviews for
161
1,077
38
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked a Valentine's surprise night away for my wife back in December and I was really looking forward to this stay. I booked it as a "Just for Two" package in one of the suites: sharing platter and two glasses of Prosecco were delivered to the room and a £10 discount on any food or drink bought in the hotel.

I had booked a table at another restaurant but on seeing the St Valentines menu on offer at the hotel we decided to book a table there. The food was excellent and reasonable value although the choices of wine were stacked towards the more expensive options (we paid £30 for a half decent Malbec).

The staff were very polite, helpful and the service was a high standard, breakfast was very good and the only reason this isn't a 5 Star rating is because of a poor nights sleep. When we returned to the room at around 11pm we noticed a "drainy" smell that we hadn't noticed earlier. This smell grew worse through the night and a faulty thermostat on the room radiator meant we couldn't turn the heating down either, so between the sweltering heat and the smell we didn't get a lot of sleep.

We didn't fancy changing rooms at 2am so I left the issue unreported until checkout. The reception supervisor Andrew was very helpful and spoke with the Hotel manager and we received a significant reduction on the bill.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, marred only by the smell of drains in the room (maybe the weather, we had had a week of storms) and rescued somewhat by the staffs attitude and eagerness to please.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Thinking it being a Mcdonald's hotel you would expect the best. Ok location was good after finding the place but directions to the shopping center car park was a little harder to find. Staff on arrival were professional and friendly.
Room was of a small size but had the requirements we needed for a night stay. Was cold on arrival to the room but warmed up after putting the radiator on and used the second heater in wardrobe. Un slightly stain was on the carpet and black mould was all around the window in the coldest bathroom ever experienced in a hotel.
After exploring the city and had a lovely meal out came back to the room. Boom Boom Boom!!!... Noise coming from the night club opposite so a dire night sleep was had all round. No we hadnt read the tripadvisor but will take note and never use again.

Room Tip: Apparently you have to request this to ensure you get a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0pps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We chose this hotel because of it’s central location right in the heart of Chester where, once there, we could abandon the car and use our feet to see this wonderful old city.

Our room, an Executive King, was spacious enough and well furnished with complimentary tea and coffee facilities and a bottle of drinking water. The bed was very comfortable indeed and the whole apartment was spotlessly clean.

The bathroom too was spacious and nicely fitted out with a large shower unit but no bath… just perfect for my wife and myself. However, if you prefer a good soak in a big tub then I suggest you check with the hotel at the time of booking.

This hotel does not have it’s own parking but your bags can be dropped off at the hotel curb and plenty of parking space is available in the adjacent Grosvenor Shopping Centre multi-story car park for £10 ($16) for 24 hours. This car park is well lit and very clean and just a couple of minutes walk back to the hotel.

Breakfast and dinner are taken in the Steak and Grill Restaurant. This is a modern looking room with a much cooler feel than the rest of the hotel. Breakfast is a mixture of self-service buffet food and cooked to order items. The buffet selection is reasonably extensive and should cater for all comers with cereals, cold meats, cheeses and fresh fruits on offer. However, we found the cooked items varied with one day being just ‘so so’ and the next just fine. Dinner too was much the same but generally a little disappointing to all concerned. If I were to go back again to this hotel (and I would go back) then I’d take the B&B option and take dinner in one of the many local restaurants dotted throughout the City of Chester and all within a few minutes walk.

So, the bottom line… I liked the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, it has a nice welcoming feel and the staff are friendly. The accommodation is excellent but the restaurant in my view is lacking. But I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is some street noise to the front of the hotel late at night. If you require a bath tub then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Brilliantly situated for a city break in Chester.

Welcoming staff at reception on arrival. Rooms and bathrooms very clean with all the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Nicely decorated,comfy beds.
We had booked a 3 night Winter Warmer break which included b&b and evening meal. We were informed that there would be 2 menus each evening, one of which we would have an allowance of £25 each evening, the other menu was a 'chefs special' 3 course menu which would include a glass of wine, again for £25
On arrival in the dining room we were given the menu, and we asked if we could see the Chef Special menu too. We were told by a rather embarrassed young waitress that the Chefs Special menu was not available. We asked why and were told that because there had been a wedding taking place that there would only be one menu that night. This we accepted.
I asked if I could have the Lamb dish and was told this was not available, so had to choose something else. The meals were well presented and we had no complaints about the service.

It was quite cold in the dining room because the main front door of the hotel had been damaged and it was jammed open, meaning the cold night air came straight in to the lobby / reception area and dining room.

It's worth mentioning here that our room was on the corner of the building. Room 207. It faces the main road where there are 2 nightclubs. All I can say is that it's a good job the room had secondary double glazing, because there was loud boom, boom ,boom ,music and shouting from clubbers outside of the club in the small hours of the morning ie 3-4 am
I hate to think what it would be like in the summer if you needed to have the windows open.
Fortunately the nightclub is closed on Sunday nights so we had one night out of 3 without the added noise.

The following morning at Breakfast time ,the dining room was still very cold. We were assured that the door would be repaired that day which it was.
The choice of breakfast was very good, with buffet items, yogurt, cereals, cheese, etc and items cooked to order which we all enjoyed.

The 2 nd evening we were offered both menus, and chose the Chefs Special Menu.
We all had a very enjoyable meal which was served and presented very well.

On our last evening we were surprised to see that the Chefs Special Menu for the evening was the same as the previous evening! We enquired as to why it was the same menu as before and were told that the Chefs Special Menu only gets changed once a month!
We chose to eat from the standard menu, but found that the Lamb dish which we had requested the first evening was STILL not available, I then asked for the Lemon Sole and was told this was also not available!
The waiter who was was clearly embarrassed then said we wouldn't be charged for the bottle of wine we had ordered by way as compensation, which we felt was a kind gesture.
The meal was enjoyable but we were disappointed that we hadn't been able to have the items we would have liked on the menu.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay, but felt that several small points let this hotel down.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms facing the night club, although there is a 2 nd club directly under the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very centrally located hotel. Less than a minutes walk to the main shopping streets. Also lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Stayed for 1 night in November 2013. Overall nice stay, room was spacious and clean, the bed was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast had lots of options and quick service. Rated 4 as my view was of a wall so not very nice to look out onto.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 240JoM240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Lovely hotel, spacious rooms and great service. The food were absolutely amazing and the staff were fantastic. Perfect location as its right near to the shops and only a short walking distance to the bars.
100% credit goes to the staff working at that time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing