We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the New Blossoms Hotel on a busy Saturday night in Chester and the Hotel was also hosting a wedding party. Despite this, we were warmly welcomed and throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Our room on the first floor was spacious with a comfortable seating area and the bathroom was larger than expected for an older building and well planned. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat with plenty of choice including speciality bread, individual yogurts with compote and the cooked options were prepared freshly to order. I overhead a lady on the next table who was visiting from Ireland also raving about her stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,418 - 1,424 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Never visited Chester before. We stayed in the blossoms hotel great location in the centre of a first cc lass city. We travelled to Chester by train and arrived to find a beautiful hotel in Chester. The staff were very welcoming, spacious bedroom, very clean bathroom, tea and coffee. Comfortable bed. Wonderful breakfast every morning. The bar staff and facilities were a bonus. We have booked again later in the year to stay here again and have a flutter at Chester Races. The town is welcoming and there are some first class restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had a very comfortable stay. We booked a suite which consisted of a bedroom with a four poster bed, separate lounge area which was very spacious and also had a TV (in addition to the one in the bedroom) and a bathroom which had both bath and shower. We booked using the hotel's own website and it cost less than £100 per night including breakfast which I thought was very reasonable.
There were some nice little extras in the room including the chocolates on arrival and the Nespresso coffee machine. However, it would have been nice to have some cotton wool and cotton wool buds as part of the bathroom toiletries.
I liked the fact that breakfast was ordered and freshly cooked unlike so many hotels these days where you have to queue up and help yourself to hot food that you don't know how long has been hanging around.
The hotel is right in the centre of Chester so everything is on your doorstep.
All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

been here before, always a good stay, lovely hotel,excellent staff, had dinner both nights in the hotel, food was great, the sun was out, walked the walls, all in all a good weekend. recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter, rooms at the front overlook a night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clwyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here in a last minute deal when I was on a night out with work colleagues. It was functional and ok value for money but I would have been disappointed in it if I had been travelling with family as it could do with modernising but simply as a place for sleeping it was fine. Only part of the service that I was disappointed in was that I didn't get a receipt after pre-paying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Together with some friends we stayed at this hotel for three nights over a long week-end, 28 Feb to 3 March. The hotel is well situated in the very centre of Chester, which was excellent for getting around the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a very old building with all rooms unique. As a listed building they are unable to install air conditioning, but could do with secondary double glazing.

We'd read the previous reviews on Trip Advisor so took the precaution of phoning and asking for quiet rooms. Our rooms were on the first floor looking out over a building void. Our room (119) had a strange musty smell which persisted over the week-end. Our friend's room wasn't as bad. We also had the constant background overspill music from the Lush shop below during shopping times, but this went off at night. Our biggest issue was the en suite, which was tiny and very badly laid out. We had to squeeze between the open door and the wash basin to get in and knock our knees against the bath to sit on the loo. The hotel should replace the bath with a shower and reorganise the layout or only allow small slim guests to book into this room. In contrast our friends in 117 had a good sized bathroom and two windows, though they also got the Lush overspill music.

The breakfast was excellent and enjoyable with large variety and wonderful bread. We stayed in the hotel one night for dinner which was more ordinary. We opted for the set menu, which was a real disappointment to the vegetarians amongst us. Although the restaurant manager had previously suggested we could replace the three cheese gnocchi and beetroot relish with something else, the waitress on the night said no. We wanted some vegetables so had to order a side dish. We were a bit surprised to find the "seasonal green vegetables" consisted entirely of vegetables out of season. But eventually we did get some cabbage with our courgettes and calabrese. With hindsight we should have ordered from the a la carte. As vegetarians we do hate it when the vegetarian option does not include vegetables! So dinner was disappointing and below expectations.

Parking is not available on site, but you can get a discount at the Grosvenor centre car park through reception. We found we didn't need our cars over the week-end because there is so much to do in Chester. We had a very enjoyable week-end.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and check it doesn't smell and you can get into and out of the en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The new blossom hotel is one of the best hotels in Chester .I arrived a t at 9.30 am knowing I could not check in .so I arranged with the reception chap (Alex) for them to look after my bags while I went to Liverpool for the day. that was a great help thanks Alex .the hotel was spotless the .staff were very friendly and helpful all smiles .the food was 2nd to none .(now I know I say this on all my reviews but i am a fussy sod so when I say its good its good)the grand old staircase that greets you when you walk into the place makes you feel special as you walk down and up it.(could do with a red carpet for extra effect.)the hotel its self is in the centre of the village in johns street if you don't know Chester ask where is as Chester's a big place .if i had to mention members of staff who where above the call of duty then I think it would be unfair on the ones who I missed .there a great team and its a great hotel nice lift as well if like me you have a bad back and cant lift to many things up stairs..im now looking to returning to this hotel on day but next time it will be longer .thanks .all

Room Tip: look for the two market traders selling football stuff the take a left look for a window with steak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggy4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,797 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
2,207 reviews
0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,583 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing