We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Macdonald hotel for one night. The staff were all helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in the morning which was included in our booking, fantastic food!
It is in a great location just off the main street, although there isn't any parking there is a car park round the corner which was cheap, secure and close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrjorzuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    550
    344
    163
    110
See reviews for
166
1,100
38
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Having just moved from one hotel of the Fawlty variety, this made a welcoming difference. And we arrived at Happy Hour for half-price cocktails. Just the start we needed for an evening of wall walking. This hotel, one of the oldest in town but full of 21st century comforts, is just a few yards from the clock tower entrance to the wall and just a short stroll to the river. Good-sized room and bathroom and a good breakfast, immaculately served.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I took my partner here for some R&R. The hotel is located in the pedestrian zone in Chester centre and as such we couldn't find it at first due to road closed no access signs saying I couldn't go where the sat nav was sending me. Tell the wardens where you're going and they'll let you through the barriers. Checkin was ok but slow ( language barrier). The room was nice. Warm. Huge bathroom but a naff view of a roof covered in pidgeon guano. Water lukewarm. Didn't really see any staff except front desk. Instructions for the car park were not clear and as such we ended up in the expensive one. Good points are because it's in the pedestrian zone the shops are just outside. Plenty of nearby pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0798anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Tiniest bathroom. Knees touch the bath when you sit on the loo. Toilet didn't flush. View of a brick wall from the window A bit like prison with nice sheets cocktails £9.50 each. Dessert £8.50. Eat out!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmcke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked via Late Rooms and had a third floor room. The lift was rather small but understandably in a hotel that was built in 1605!!! The room was PERFECTLY clean and of an adequate size. There were the usual amenities but a lovely touch was a welcome plate with a chocolate, small cake and a strawberry. We chose not to eat in the hotel but decided to visit the bar for a cocktail as it was 2 for 1. Although they were quite pricey the bar tenders made me a cocktail that wasn't on the menu. They were chatty and polite with nibbles on the tables. Beds were comfy, linen spotless and pillows super soft.
You have to park in a The Grosvenor Shopping centre and it is £10 for 24hours. At the hotel desk you pay for this and only pay £9. It is a struggle to get into collect your car before 11am so just ask the hotel staff.
One main let down was the night club on the street which attracted late night revellers. I'm glad I had ear plugs as late night stragglers were still waiting for taxis at 3:30am. It is to be expected in a city but it might be worth asking for a room on the main street.
The staff were very courteous and check in was faultless. We did have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely hotel staff really nice in particular thanks to Fern for making us so welcome and to pleasant and efficient breakfast staff. Couple of points down on the booking in......Given wrong directions to car park as a result was more expensive, given no breakfast times etc when booking in, on arrival at allocated room found this not room requested although this was very quickly changed for us but given no help with luggage which would have been nice even to have been offered.

Room Tip: Room at back of Hotel looked out on to a brick wall.......Room at front much nicer but be aware nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just arrived back from 2 nights at the new blossom to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, I cannot fault a single thing about this hotel, the location is perfect the beautiful town centre, river, bars, restaurants are on the doorstep, our room was beautiful, we stayed for bed breakfast and evening meal, the food was beautiful, I have never stayed anywhere with such friendly staff they made sure from the moment that we checked in to the moment we left that we were happy and enjoyed our stay, nothing was too much trouble, we were greeted with a beautiful plate of brownies and strawberries decorated with happy anniversary in chocolate on a plate, at dinner we received a complimentary course from the chef and a glass of champagne ,a huge thank you to all the staff for making our anniversary weekend just perfect, we will definitely be back xx

Room Tip: Front rooms can be quite noisy due to the surrounding bars but the double glazing does block out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckiwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing