We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C E N T R A L & brilliant hotel - but dont get room over nightclub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
wigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“C E N T R A L & brilliant hotel - but dont get room over nightclub”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a fantastically central hotel- it is literally in the centre of the centre. 11/10 for location!

This is a gem of a hotel with only couple of reservations (see later). The hotel is slightly upmarket, and it was built in 1650- so plenty of history and character. The rooms aren't big (its an old hotel) but they are of a good level of spec, as is the ensuite. Rooms are also clean. Nice touch getting couple of arrival chocolates.
Staffing is superb- plenty of staff, friendly too. The bar is lovely, so is the newly refurbed breakfast room/restaurant- its very well done. Grand staircase etc- a nice hotel, pure and simple.
Breakfast was excellent. have some good offers on the restaurant between 5pm-7pm but we didn't try it.
This is a really good hotel- but there are only 2 downsides:-
1) Parking- you need to park in nearby shopping centre multi-storey (£9 per 24 hours)- its bit of a walk (and easy to get lost if you arrive after shops closed)

2) Do not get a room over the nightclub. It is VERY noisy and goes on well into the early hours. We asked for room away from club, so we were ok.

we will definitely be back- we love chester and we got a great price on this hotel.

Room tip; ask for a room on Eastgate. It avoids the nightclub noise- and you are on the main shopping street, so you can do lots of people watching. Our standard room we got here was fantastic!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danbertNobacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear SaurusWigan

Thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor and I am glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished restaurant.

I am looking forward to being able able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    561
    352
    177
    112
See reviews for
173
1,118
41
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a great hotel, awesome location, you are just seconds from the main street of Chester but not on a street that the drunken people wander down at night so its nice and quiet,
The staff are very helpful, although couldnt accommodate an early check in they did look after all luggage until check in time.
The room was basic but clean and tidy, I have no complaints at all of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_JPx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Miss_JPx

Thank You for the kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am however sorry we were not able to accommodate the early arrival.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
Geneeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Recently returned from a couple of nights away in Chester stayed at the New Blossoms hotel. Our room 113, very good nice and large space, massive comfy bed and bed linen was excellent. Also included robes/slippers which were a nice surprise at the rate paid - Our rate of £99 included breakfast. Warm welcome on check in. The breakfast room / restaurant, looked lovely, really neat and tidy and well designed pleasing to the eye. Excellent choice of continental including meats / cheeses/ fruit and pastries. We both were looking forward to eggs Benedict, shown as a supplement of £2.75 on the menu- unusual to find that, but wanted a treat. Sadly disappointed. We made a point of telling the waiter that it wasn't what we expected, as it arrived on half a burger bun and with two rashers if smokey bacon instead of ham. Not like any other eggs Benedict we've ever had. We just assumed that's how they did it in Chester! It was like they had ran out of muffins and ham. It just put us off having our evening meal there, which was a shame. On the second evening, we tried the 2-4-1 cocktails - first class, excellent in fact the best we've ever had! Lovely surroundings and felt well looked after. Our second mornings breakfast, we chose to avoid the eggs Benedict, even though I'd always pick it, if shown on the menu - I had boiled eggs which were fine and my husband chose scrambled eggs on toast with a sausage. The sausage was off! Disgusting. It smelt awful. We were in a hurry and just left for work. That really put us off staying for breakfast again. Especially as they charge £17.50 per person. It's a real shame, as everything else was very good. Should mention the car parking. We found to park in the Grosvenor shopping centre - it's £10 to stay 24 hrs, the new blossoms hotel will give you a ticket so you pay £9 instead. Good value parking for city centre parking. We found the staff very pleasant. Good location for a Chester city break, stick to continental breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oanne044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Oanne044

Thank You for placing a review on trip advisor, we always welcome feedback both positive and negative as this allows us to assess whether our guest’s expectations have been met, and would like to thank you for assisting.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, however I was very concerned about your comments about the breakfast, I would like to assure you that this is not our usual standard and I have discussed the matters with my Head Chef who would like to be associated with the appology. Our breakfast is usually of the highest standard and I would like to apoliogise that this was not your experience.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Located in central Chester, it is walking distance to all tourist attractions. The hotel staff is friendly, professional and eager to please. The Classic room we stayed in was spacious by UK standards. It included queen size bed, two chairs, table, chest of drawers, desk and hd tv. The bathroom was large, clean and modern. Breakfast was included in stay and was excellent. Service by wait staff was timely and food was hot and ample.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Deaer Mark1011

Thank You for placing a review on trip advisor and for the kind words expressed within your review. My team and I were delighted to learn of your comments and these review are used within out staff recognition programme so once again thank you for your assistance

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We went to the new restaurant at the Blossoms. my wife is not a wheel chair user but cannot walk up stairs without pain. There was only a ramp made up of 2portable ramps to get up the 3 flights of about 4 steps each.
Totally inadequate when the ramps were held in place by the waiters foot and were not wide enough for walking easily. Especially when his foot moved with my wife on the ramp !

I would imagine the ramps would be highly dangerous for a manual or electric wheel chair.
We will not be going again despite enjoying our meal.
We were advised that the local council would not allow a purpose built means for disabled access since it is a listed building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Audrey R

Thank You for placing your review on trip advisor, we always welcome feedback both positive and negative as this allows us to assess whether our guest’s expectations have been met, and would like to thank you for assisting.

We are a heavily listed property as we were first opened in 1650 and therefore are not able to change the fabric of the building, I appreciate your comments about the portable ramps and we will investigate alternative options for access.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your meal and do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is an old building so don't expect modern furniture and facilities. The hotel is in a great location. The staff were very professional and helpful at all times. We were fortunate to arrive on the official launch of their new restaurant, so as well as getting complimentary champagne and cocktails we also got to sample the food from their new menu which was lovely.
Unfortunately we didn't get to eat there due to other commitments but we liked the look of the menu, the ambience was very welcoming, the staff were very smartly dressed. (There was a young blond haired girl on duty in the restaurant the day we arrived, I forget her name, but she was lovely) There is a cocktail happy hour every evening from 5 to 7pm. Mohammed makes a great cocktail. We would definitely return to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milosgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night and found it hugely enjoyable.The staff were professional and friendly and helpful whenever we requested help.The room was small but adequate as was the bathroom which took a bit of negotiating especially when stepping out of the bath but both were exceptionally clean and comfortable.
The food quality was excellent and I recommend it unreservedly.The only "sour" note was the price of a cafetiere of coffee which was £8.30 -rather pricey! However the cocktails at 2 for 1 between 6 and 7 more than made up for this.
Fortunately we did not experience any street noise or hotel noise and found everything to be stylish and classy.The location of the hotel is also excellent for stepping out and exploring beautiful Chester.
We conclude by stating that this hotel is well worth a visit for those wanting to treat themselves to a luxury city break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing