We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I booked this for friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have seen mrs groves tonight who I did the booking for. My neighbour wanted to treat her sister to a shopping trip and some sister time. They say the hotel service and location was second to none. I had booked them the evening meal which was lst class also breakfast. A really good deal and time had by all. You have to park a little way from hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasfrynPorthmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear GlasfrynPorthmadog

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, the comments and opinions of our guests are invaluable and assist us impove our offerings.

Thank you for your kind comments following your neigbours stay, we were especially delighted to hear your comments about our newly opened 1650 St John's Restaurant.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spend 1night at this hotel , the room the staff was lovely , friendly , hotel was clean room was clean , the evening meal and breakfast was lovely , the only down fall was there was no parking so had to find parking and walk , but would stay again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Joanna R

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, the comments and opinions of our guests are invaluable and assist us impove our offerings.

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay, we were especially delighted to hear your comments about our newly opened 1650 St John's Restaurant.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Central in Chester so great location. Parking in the shopping centre car park a mere inconvenience to us but could be more of an issue for less able people as vehicle access to hotel is difficult. Staff very friendly with prompt service. Bar expensive. Room was small but serviceable and clean enough - however musty smell due to flooded window ledge when showering. Breakfast was ok but inconsistent. Would we stay again? Probably not for the money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Sue B

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, the comments and opinions of our guests are invaluable and assist us impove our offerings.

I full appreciate your comments about the car park and understant this inconvenience, there is the facility to stop outside the hotel to offload luggage before parking. Thank you for letting us know about the musty smell in the bathroom which we will have our maintenance team resolve and the inconsistent service at breakfast which our Food and Beverage manager is now addressing.

I do hope we will have the oppertumity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We called here for are dinner. We were all made most welcome. We took advantage of there early bird menu. 3 courses for £15 and are children had a good size portion for £9 the dining area was very smart. And staff well trained. The food was faultless for everyone of us. We also had cocktails £8 but it was 2-4-1 on early birds very nice. I will call back again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Lee W

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, the comments and opinions of our guests are invaluable and assist us impove our offerings.

Thank you for you kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed our new 1650 St Johns Restaurant, pre opening there was a great deal of effort taken to train our staff and it is most rewarding to know that this has paid off.

I do hope we will have the oppertumity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel & 1650St Johns Restaurant in the future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to give this restaurant inside the blossoms hotel a try today. As soon as we walked in we were welcomed in by the manager, we were shown to our table and told about the menu. We chose fish chips and mushy peas with a drink all for £10 each. yummmmmy this must be the best fish and chips to date delishes :-) Steven was our waiter who was very charming very well mannered and really friendly, also a lady didn't catch her name was equally welcoming. Very lovely afternoon and really looking forward to having lunch or dinner on a regular basis. Thankyou joan and antony

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joan17666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Joan & Anthony

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, the comments and opinions of our guests are invaluable and assist us impove our offerings.

Thank you for your kind comment about your meal in our new 1650 St Johns Reastaurant which only opened on the 6th of May. There was a lot of hard work done pre-opening designing food and training the staff which we are delighted has paid off. Thank you for mentioning Steven and our other staff members as this goes towards our staff recognition programme.

I do hope we will have the oppertumity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked an 'Executive King' at £130 per night. Slightly confused when we first walked into our room as it seemed we were given a family room. Walking through the door we walked into a single bedroom, further on was the smallest bathroom I have seen (complete with peeling paint), followed by the main bedroom which seemed far too small and bland to be classified as an 'executive' room. Totally disappointed considering we had requested a nice room when booking. We decided not to say anything to reception as we were only stopping one night and didn't want the fuss.
Really wish we had now as we ended up being kept awake until 3am by the music coming through the walls/floor of our bedroom from the night club next door which extends below the hotel. At 1am I called down and eventually got through to the night manager who was sympathetic but unable to offer an alternative room away from the noise.
I don't think this hotel is suitable for couples or families over the weekend, its more suited to stag/hen dos or friends wanting to experience the Chester nightlife.
All in all we feel pretty let down, ripped off and tired.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjjemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Jjjemima

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor and I would like to apologise that you have been left feeling let down and ripped off.

Our hotel was opened in 1650 all rooms are completely different in both size and layout, if you had mentioned at check in we would have been happy to move you although that does not condone the state of the room for which I would like to once again apologise. I have requested my head housekeeper & maintenance manager review the room and place it as a priority on our room redecoration programme. I have also previously discussed the matter of the noise coming from the property below and they are in the process of installing additional sound proofing to eliminate this issue in the future, I do regret that this however was not in time for your stay.

Once again I would like to apologise for the dissapointment and if you would like to discuss the matter further please contact me via general.blossoms@macdonald-hotels.co.uk .

I hope that I will have the oppertunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a fantastically central hotel- it is literally in the centre of the centre. 11/10 for location!

This is a gem of a hotel with only couple of reservations (see later). The hotel is slightly upmarket, and it was built in 1650- so plenty of history and character. The rooms aren't big (its an old hotel) but they are of a good level of spec, as is the ensuite. Rooms are also clean. Nice touch getting couple of arrival chocolates.
Staffing is superb- plenty of staff, friendly too. The bar is lovely, so is the newly refurbed breakfast room/restaurant- its very well done. Grand staircase etc- a nice hotel, pure and simple.
Breakfast was excellent. have some good offers on the restaurant between 5pm-7pm but we didn't try it.
This is a really good hotel- but there are only 2 downsides:-
1) Parking- you need to park in nearby shopping centre multi-storey (£9 per 24 hours)- its bit of a walk (and easy to get lost if you arrive after shops closed)

2) Do not get a room over the nightclub. It is VERY noisy and goes on well into the early hours. We asked for room away from club, so we were ok.

we will definitely be back- we love chester and we got a great price on this hotel.

Room tip; ask for a room on Eastgate. It avoids the nightclub noise- and you are on the main shopping street, so you can do lots of people watching. Our standard room we got here was fantastic!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbertNobacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SaurusWigan

Thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor and I am glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished restaurant.

I am looking forward to being able able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,495 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £71 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing