We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

What an great find. Rightin the city center, good in the restaurant was such good quality. Staff couldn't do enough. Our suite was spotless, huge and the welcome brownie was a lovely touch. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    562
    353
    179
    112
See reviews for
173
1,122
41
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this hotel, it's in a brilliant location right in the heart of the city centre. The room was a decent size with 2 twin beds,although I do think we might have been placed in one of the last remaining rooms at it seemed forever from the reception! We had some lovely cocktails in the bar downstairs. Room service for breakfast was swift but when it arrived we didn't have 2 sets if cutlery which meant that the food was getting cold by the time they came back with the 2nd set. Parking is a slight pain as the nearest car park was a 5 min walk away.
Overall would recommend the hotel based on location and quality and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williams89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After reading some of the reviews prior to our trip on Trip Advisor I wasn't really sure what to expect. We were delighted with the room (104) which was one of the nicest on our entire trip to Great Britain. The service was outstanding and all the staff were so helpful in answering questions and just being helpful. Each morning started out with a Full English Breakfast. We received great value and service and WILL return to this property again... I might also add that the location is right in the center of things for the City of Chester...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiepreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from an excellent weekend staying at New Blossoms for the races. The hotel was beautiful, clean and the rooms spacious but it was the staff that made the stay so enjoyable. Everyone made us feel so welcome and each individual member of staff was attentive and helpful.
Thank you - we are looking forward to the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisec221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorksihre
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. Location is spot on as it's right in the centre and it's also ideal for the racecourse. Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The only gripe I have this time around is the noise from outside. We overlooked the Main Street and it was very noisy in the early hours with people drinking. It hasn't put me off stopping but I'd ask for a quieter room next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely hotel in the heart of Chester. Staff we're helpful with recommendations and taxis, bedrooms were clean and tasteful. Only reason for not giving a 5 is the breakfast was additional and £15, so we went elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Louise MH

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor and for the kind words. With regards to the breakfast price if the room is booked on a bed and breakfast basis direct with the hotel the price is only £10.00.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdoanls New Blossoms Hotel.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a few friends. Each room was 140 pounds, two of us shared a room so we paid 70 each - breakfast was not included which I thought was a poor show for that price.
The staff were all ultra friendly and very welcoming.
I wasn't really impressed with the rooms remembering they were 140 per night. I was lucky enough to see 4 rooms as there were a few of us and I would say only one of them was up to the price. Our bathroom smelled of stale urine and the toilet didn't flush properly. There were hairs on he bathroom floor on arrival, the bath was cracked and stained and the sink had a hole in the basin. The shower was inconsistent, one minute it was boiling the next freezing and the water took along time to drain away.
The walls in 2 of the rooms were stained and dirty, they needed a repaint. There was also old chewing gum on the curtains, the units in the room are in need of a dusting.
It wasn't great.
I love chester but I will be looking to stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Sarah H

I would like to thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, I was disturbed to read your review and of the issues you had during your stay and would like to apologise. I have discussed your issues with our Head Housekeeper & Maintenance Manager who have refurbished and deep cleaned the room based on your comments.

I do hope that we will have the oppertunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms hotel and I would like to once again apologise.

Kind Regards

Ian Griebenow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing