We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,970)
Filter reviews
1,970 results
Traveller rating
661
602
384
192
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
602
384
192
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcentral locationlovely hotelexcellent locationon arrivalcooked breakfastblack puddingreception staffearly hoursevening mealcity breakbreakfast was excellentexecutive roomafternoon teasaturday nightfull englishmy birthday
Filter
Updating list...
1,881 - 1,886 of 1,970 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Could not fault this hotel or the staff. The rooms were great and nothing was too much trouble will be back again later in the year

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHalewood, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you for writing a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We chose to stay here for location and price - it was only £10 more than the Travellodge next door (no breakfast) and was great value. The room was clean and the staff more than helpful (despite our lastminute.com reservation not reaching them. They chased up last minute and sorted it out. Very comfy bed, room a little cosy but very adequate and large bathroom with bath!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHalewood, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for writing a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

,Shown 3 pokey rooms - all dusty, one had water stains from.leak all over the ceiling, fingerprints, old chewing gum in bin. Grotty toiletries, hairs and the filthiest windows ever. In central location but on the less swish side of the famous clock. Tacky streetsellers outside, and loads of noise outside from stags and hens (not hotel's fault of course). My children put on a separate floor, although rooms next to us unoccupied. newspaper sent to my childrens' room. Door cards cancelled twice, and had to trek back to reception. Car parking is at nearby NCP. rate on hotel web site wrong. receptionist said 'I know' in a whatever type of fashion. Carpet to bar duck-taped across the door threshold. Place like the M.arie Celeste. so disappointed. One biscuit and one bottle of water between two, and nothing replenished the following day. However, breakast was lovely, and served in a fine elegant but welcoming room. The waitress and breakfast cook are jewels in a tarnished tiara. Price £99 per night per room - and that was supposed to be a 50% reduction on the normal tariff through booking site. Rip-off.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmeFlaubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHalewood, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

We regret that we were unaware of the issues you had during your stay. Our new Head Housekeeper and Mainteance Manager are now making a very positive impact on the cleanliness and condition of bedrooms. I would be delighted if you would give us another chance to prove this situation is not representative of the hotel. Please contact me directly at the hotel to make your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

My partner and I booked into the Blossoms as a christmas treat. As it is a long established four star hotel we were looking forward to a little bit of luxury. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. The hotel lacks atmosphere, the restaurant was cold and sparsely decorated and there was no bar to relax in. The food in the restaurant was very good but the choice was poor, we were informed that the kitchen had run out of all but 4 of the main courses on the menu. The room itself was comfortable and quiet but quite small, the cleaning was not really up to standard especially in the bathroom and after returning from a morning's shopping around 2pm we found that the room had not been cleaned. When I asked on reception if we had been forgotten I was informed that rooms are cleaned before 6pm, not great when you would like to relax in the afternoon and have no tea or coffee facilities or clean towels. The best thing about the Blossoms is the location, it is right in the city centre yet the rooms at the back are quiet and we had a really good night's sleep however I think that next time we will be checking in to the Travelodge just down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is that the bed was comfortable. The rooms were unclean, noisy and lacked ambiance. The restaurant had a limited evening menu and breakfast took too long if there were more than 10 guests eating at once. There is NO parking, so guests are pointed towards a mulit-story car park and the cost added to the bill (more than the car park was charging!!!). The staff were unhelpful, rude and generally unkempt.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
Thank PearlyGatesBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHalewood, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

We are extremely sorry that you felt that you experienced our staff being rude. I can assure you this matter has been dealt with and our new Head Housekeeper is now making a very positive impact on the cleanliness of rooms and public areas. I would be delighted if you would give us another chance to prove this situation is not representative of the hotel. Please contact me directly when making your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews