We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Chester East
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Storrington, West Sussex
1 review
“Please don't!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

By far the worst hotel I have stayed in (for money!). Got in late; the light bulb by the bed would not fully work(flash flash flash), it was freezing cold (heating not on) the TV had no signal (no aerial wire) and when I took a shower, it was scalding hot and the mixer did not work. Went out to leave, and complain only to find that there was no reception staff at all. Dear dear.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleMort, General Manager at Days Inn Chester East, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hello.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Firstly I am saddened to hear your stay with us was less than satisfactory, this is not our usual standards, and would appreciate if you could contact me personally at the hotel to discuss this matter so I can investigate what it was that happened.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again so we can show you that this is not our standards and this was a one off occasion.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    64
    52
    20
    20
See reviews for
69
46
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I've stayed at this Days Inn probably about 20 times because it's convenient for my work, but the sevcie here is going down hill I'm afraid. The rooms are what you would expect from the days inn chain, adequate and clean. The welcome is pretty good, usually friendly and usually quite quick, so no complaints there. The only real gripe I have is the free wifi is very often playing up (has done on the last 5 visits there), and the reception just keep telling you that they have reported it, which is no help went you want to upload your days work.
I would probably use again but if they can't sort the internet out I will be booking elsewhere, it's getting boring to keep being told its being sorted!

Room Tip: Wifi generally only works downstairs close to the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleMort, General Manager at Days Inn Chester East, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Days Inn Chester East.

I would like to thank you for you kind words regarding the hotel, adequate and clean. Also mentioning the quick and friendly check-in you receive when you visit the hotel, all these comments will be passed on to the relevant departments.

I am sorry to hear that you have had problems using our Free Wi-Fi. Last year we did have it replaced and new antennas installed and moved to ensure every single guest room receives the Wi-Fi signal and this is tested. On your next visit if you do have a problem, please do come and see me directly or if I am not in the hotel, ask the receptionist for my contact details and I will do my upmost to ensure this is resolved on the spot for you.

Once again I do thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Days Inn Chester East.

Kind Regards,

Danielle Mort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Watch out for parking charges - even though we registered both our cars at check in (and we specifically asked about parking and were told that it was OK) we received a parking notice that took me several hours on the phone and sending emails to sort out. Was a shame as the hotel was decent. The parking charge company said it was the hotel's fault, the hotel have said nothing yet (the Wyndham Hotels website asks for comments but if you click there it takes you to reservations - bit cheeky!, the Days Inn website has a phone number but that is not recognised if you call it). All told, not impressed as I don't have time to mess around chasing other peoples jobs up. Would not choose to use, or recommend, this hotel (or other Days Inn) again purely on that basis.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleMort, General Manager at Days Inn Chester East, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that you found the hotel itself 'decent' and marked us highly for the hotel. I do however apologise that you had received a parking charge whilst you were parked on site during your stay, this is very unfortunate and once again I apologise that the hotel has not lived up to its high standard to ensure this was not issued to you.
I will also ensure that the issues with the website are looked into, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
The hotel does have free parking, and shares the car park with the service area next door which does have a parking time limit in place, the hotel ensures all our guests receive the free parking, and I am sorry on this occasion that this has not happened. I hope this issue is now resolved, however if you are still having difficulty then please contact me directly and I will deal will this matter for you. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Chester.

Many Thanks,

Danielle Mort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We waited 30 minutes at least to be checked into our room. There were also 2 other couples waiting to be checked in as well who were becoming agitated with the situation. All of us had pushed the "pager" button, but no one even came out to see us which was annoying. Once the girl arrived, obviously late, she was very polite and checked us in promptly. The room £60 was quite expensive for a room that was very outdated and smelt quite musty. There wasn't a fan in the bathroom which wasn't very pleasant as well. Next time I will stick to booking a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurAds7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Room was very spacious, clean & staff were friendly.
What spoilt the stay for us was the lack of eating facilities/breakfast.
You have the option of purchasing vouchers valued at £10.00 for £7.50 at reception which you can use in the service station to purchase your breakfast.

The breakfast was very limited for choice, very expensive and appeared to be somebody's left overs.

If you are requiring just a room for the night, its fine but if you require a breakfast before setting off, AVOID.

Room Tip: Family room is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R8chael10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleMort, General Manager at Days Inn Chester East, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel!

We pride ourselves on our very clean and spacious rooms, all of our team will be informed of your review and will all be very happy to see that we are still achieving this.

In regards to your comments to do with the breakfast/eating facilities. I have passed these comments onto the restaurant manager, and your feedback will be used to make a difference.

Once again thank you for taking the time the post a review about the hotel and we hope to see you again soon.


Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastry
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Paid 50 pound pr night. Surpriseingly good for motorway services. very clean spacious and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squiddyEastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Have just returned home having spent a 4 day break. Found the room clean and comfortable, originaly booked a twin room as that was all that was available, on arrival I was asked if I would like to change to a double. I was then given a family room, lots of space. The manager and staff were very curtious and helpful and although we had a room facing the service facilities we did not hear any noise, even though all facilities were open 24 hours. Location was very good although a little industrial and supprisingly we could not hear the motorway traffic. Just right for visiting Chester, Liverpool and surrounding area. We found a couple of resturants close by, although if you use McDonalds or Roadchef you can buy discount vouchers, £10 value for £7.50.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveA933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
9.1 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
465 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
453 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
6.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chester East

Property: Days Inn Chester East
Address: M56 Junction 14 | M56 Elton Cheshire, Chester CH2 4QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Chester East 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Chester East is situated within easy reach of the M56 (junction 14). Chester Zoo, Chester Racecourse and the City Centre are a short journey away. Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village Shopping is 5 minutes away. Helsby Train Station 1.5 miles. Mostyn Ferry 24 miles. Pets Accepted 10 GBP Charge Per Pet Per Stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Chester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chester East Hotel Chester
Days Inn Chester East Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing