We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic experience”
other traveller has booked this property
The cosy living room with open working fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy living room with open working fireplace
The house is in an Edwardian terrace in a quiet residential area The dining room table seats up to 6 people and there's a selection of books and games for guest use
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The cosy living room with open working fireplace
The house is in an Edwardian terrace in a quiet residential area
The dining room table seats up to 6 people and there's a selection of books and games for guest use
Guests can use the cottage Wi-Fi to plan sightseeing trips
The dining room connects to the kitchen
The large dining table seats up to 6
The kitchen is open to the dining room creating a sociable living space
The well equipped kitchen
The kitchen has a gas hob, electric oven, microwave and washer dryer.
The master bedroom has a king size bed
All bed linen is provided
Bed linen provided
The family bathroom has a bath and a separate walk-in shower
Our prices include bed linen and towels
There's a private off-street parking area immediately in front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GuelphOnt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Baker's Cottage for 12 nights and loved every minute. The cottage was well appointed, ideally located, and just the perfect size for my husband, 19 year old son and I. We travelled to Wales, to family in Blacon, and to various sites outside of Chester. Shopping in Chester was fantastic and the green grocer in Handbridge was terrific. We were so sad to leave the cottage and can hardly wait until we return. I highly recommend this holiday rental for those who are keen to explore Chester, Wales, Liverpool, the Lake District and Yorkshire. It is truly a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, location and size.
Liked least: Kitchen was lacking a few utensils and necessary cooking ingredients (i.e. olive oil, vinegar, flour)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Treasure”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

From the moment we arrived at Baker's Cottage we immediately felt at home. It was very homely and comfortable with lots of nice touches such as tea coffee and biscuits on arrival and lovely welcoming letter from the owners who I must say have pretty much thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. It was exceptionally clean. It is situated in a very quiet part of Chester but your at in the City Centre within 15 mins. We loved our accommodation and would certainly like to return sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't fault property or Chester itself - loved it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
We’re always pleased to hear that our guests felt at home at the cottage and found it a convenient location for exploring the city. We look forward to welcoming them back in the future.
Jo & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagefo...
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in March 2013

After a long journey we opened the door to a lovely warm cottage,with tea,coffee,milk and biscuits for us.
All home comforts in a very quiet residential area, easy walk to the city centre, we used the train to visit Liverpool,Port Sunlight,Llandudno and the local bus for a visit to Mold.
Hope to return and see a bit more of the area. A big thank you to Jo and Peter for letting us share their cottage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2014
It’s great to read how much our guests pack into their holidays – there’s so much to see in this part of the world (we’ve been coming here for nearly ten years and we still haven’t done everything on our wish list!). We’re glad to see they took advantage of the excellent local public transport network which gives everyone a break from driving. We’re looking forward to welcoming them back in the future for some more exploring.
Jo & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Gem”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our second visit to Bakers Cottage did not disappoint. Arrived on a cold windy November evening in the dark , opened the door to a warm lit welcoming retreat. Fresh bread, milk and treats in the kitchen and fresh linen and towels , fantastic. We enjoyed Chester immensely , wandering down to the city centre for dinner only a ten minute walk away by the beautiful river.Bakers Cottage is a gem and we will be back. Jo Cunningham makes the whole process of getting away for a few days a breeze , from start to finish the booking process was efficient but personal . Would give 6 stars .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2013
We’re glad to hear that this reviewer enjoyed their second visit and we’re looking forward to welcoming them back a third time. We love the walks by the river Dee and into Chester city centre and it’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed them too.
Jo & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor C
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be Warned an Awful Experience”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The property is not a cottage as described but a two up two down mid terrace in the middle
in the centre of an ex local authority housing estate in a less than desirable area of Chester and is not appropriate for a holiday let. The walk into Chester is 35/45 minutes and the return in darkness is daunting. The cleanliness in the kitchen, appliances, sinks and ground floor wooden surfaces were so unhygienic that we had to clean ourselves before using. The experience was so bad we stayed only one night and booked into a hotel in Chester. The owners have refused to pay us any compensation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Booking a hotel to move out
Liked least: The location and lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2013
This is a very unusual complaint. Over the last nine and a half years of letting we have accommodated over 300 families at Baker’s Cottage. In that time no other guests left early because they were unhappy with the house or its location, or indeed for any other reason that we are aware of.
We were astonished to hear from these guests that they had left after one night of their three night stay without even speaking to us first about their concerns. Sadly, it seems that Baker’s Cottage didn’t suit them; however, we consider their demand for compensation of twice the cost of their holiday to be unreasonable.
We have referred them to the dispute resolution service provided by the English Association of Self Catering Operators (EASCO). As members of EASCO, we are committed to their code of practice and willing to abide by their independent arbitration scheme.
The term ‘holiday cottage’ is a common description in the UK holiday industry for this type of small house. In the past we have considered and rejected other descriptions as they could lead guests to expect a larger property. Since many of our previous guests also refer to it as a cottage we believe this is a reasonable description.
The assertion that it is located in the centre of an ex local authority housing estate is untrue.
The distance from the cottage to the Cross at the city centre, is 0.8 miles which, at average walking speed, is about 15 minutes away so we find it hard to understand this reviewer’s claim that it took them 45 minutes.
Chester is a relatively benign and friendly city but we understand that guests may be apprehensive about walking in an unfamiliar place at night which is why we provide phone numbers for local taxi firms.
We ask our guests to contact us with any questions or concerns regarding the cottage. The cleanliness of the cottage is especially important to us and if there were problems then we would not have hesitated to call the cleaners back straight away to put them right. Unfortunately, the guests undertook to clean the cottage themselves instead of reporting the issues to us and left us with no evidence to verify that it was unsatisfactory.
We love our cottage and are disappointed that these guests seem to have dismissed it out of hand when so many others have found it such a great base for exploring one of the most beautiful cities in England.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonHer...
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautifully furnished”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed here at very short notice. The cottage was warm and comfortable. The area was very handy for walking to the south side of the city. It was a real "Home from Home". The kitchen was so well supplied with equipment that there was no room to put any food.

The Fish and Chip shop around the corner was very good and not expensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort and artworks.
Liked least: The key safe was very far down the wall and difficult to read.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2013
It’s always gratifying to read that our guests felt at home at the cottage – we want our guests to feel comfortable there and find it a warm and welcoming base to return to after exploring Chester in the winter months.
We look forward to welcoming them back in the future,
Jo & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the extras ie books, games, tourist info and welcoming friendly feel.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$136
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing