We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Atina Kitchen

Atina Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Atina Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Enjoying & sharing great food, drink & conversation with family, friends & even strangers (at times) is where we take our influence from. It's how we grew up. Although our roots are firmly in Italian cooking techniques, we love all cuisines & cooking styles at Atina Kitchen & this is reflected throughout our menus.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Ate at Caffe Atina on valentines evening and was impressed by both the standard of food and the helpfulness of the waiting staff. Even though they were busy the standard of the food was top notch and was delivered to our table in good time. Will definitely be visiting again and would recommend to anyone who is after a great meal at a surprisingly affordable price.

Helpful?
1 Thank JDChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    100
    24
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manager needed”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting atina since it opened and We noticed the place go from strength to strength when managed by the little Scottish lady! But since she has left the staff are just slow, sloppy, untidy and just don't care. It's a shame because the food served here is of excellent quality. Unfortunately I won't continue to support atina, despite the good food as to wait 15 mins for a coffee is just not on x

Helpful?
1 Thank Welshborn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Sorry - you are quite right. However, you will see from more recent reviews that the management position has now been filled and we are sure you will be pleased with the improved service . Please give us another chance - ps thanks for the very positive comments on the food !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch - high quality at great price!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We'd been here before for a quick hot drink and made a note to come back based on the lovely decor, and how gorgeous all the food looked that was being dished up around us. We came in for lunch on a rainy Monday, yet there was still a good few people in the restaurant and we received a warm welcome. I ordered the club sandwich and my husband a burger. Both were served beautifully and the burger looked (and tasted, I had a bit and my hubby loved it!) amazing - real quality with a brioche bun. Both our meals were plentiful, fresh and used quality ingredients. The chips were divine! I can honestly say this was one of the best lunches we've had in a long time. Given the price as well, we will definitely be back. There are other local gastro pubs/eateries that would charge at least double, or one and a half times, the price. I've read some comments about a wait. We waited about 10-15 mins but this was fine as it was clearly all cooked fresh and to a very high standard. This felt like a usual wait for a restaurant/gastro pub but I wonder whether people expected it to be quicker, like it is in a cafe. My thoughts are that cafe's have sandwiches pre-prepared or things ready to heat up...so the quality just isn't there. If you like your lunch tasty, high quality, and at an amazing price...try here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks for the great comments. You are quite right , as we do cook all our meals from fresh , they do take a bit longer than simply reheating - but we think the results are worth the little extra wait !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My fiance & I ate at Caffe Atina the other night & we loved it! We had eaten breakfast there several times but this was our first time for dinner. The service is always amazing & the 'kitch' Italian decor makes for an amazing atmosphere. The food portions were large & the flavours spectacular, pricing is exactly what you should expect for the level of service & quality of food. We will definitely be back & I plan on recommending to all of my friends & family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleWestley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
thanks for spreading the word - glad you liked the decor . It is all the family's own design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Went here for lunch after good reviews on trip advisor, and central location,close to Chester's main shopping area, past primark on opposite side of road,food ok I had a pannini my husband a chicken wrap,whilst both were ok bit tasteless,(table nearby ordered burgers that looked good)and nothing to rave about,expensive for what you got.We were sat near the kitchen and the constant chatter/ laughing from kitchen staff was off putting,don't mean to sound miserable,but when your paying £25+for a sandwich (with drinks)isn't the best Service ok,a bit slap dash, would of expected more.Would I go back,not sure,may give it a try??

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julianalgieri1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Sorry you were not totally happy. You will see from more recent reviews that we have "tightened up " quite a bit. Please give us another try . We are sure you will be happy with the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atina Kitchen also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Atina Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing