We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sumptuous selection of sweetie sensations!”

Mr Simms Olde Sweet Shoppe
Ranked #8 of 22 Shopping in Chester
Attraction details
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“A sumptuous selection of sweetie sensations!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A wonderful treat for all ages as you gaze around the sumptuous selection of sweetie sensations! Whether you are spending pounds or pence, the patient staff make your purchase seem like the most important of the day and give you all the time and encouragement you need. A real treat.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SeaSailSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

love the style and the staff. Its a must in Chester, I like the unique style and quaintness of the place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ECPienaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Childs dream”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Excellent shop lots of lovely sweets and they even gave us samples before we bought lots of old fashioned sweets too worth a visit

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of THE best place to go in Chester, superb prices”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Okay, I know Chester has lots of sweet shops dotted around the place, Ye Olde Sweet Shope, Sweets of Heaven, Candyland and Thorntons etc, but Mr Simms (It's got a new name now) has excelled itself.

When you enter the shop, you are instantly hit with an array of wierd, wonderful and wacky sweets, (including the ORIGINAL milk bottles with the cornflour). They also do a small range of American branded sweets, which are reasonably cheaper than Sweets of Heaven in the Grosvenor Precinct.

The service there is exceptional, and being a student I always get a warm friendly welcome and maybe the odd sample to try, which is wonderful. A must visit shop for anybody visiting Chester

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank andybell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good taste”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

we went in to explore one saturday afternoon, and decided to have a pick and mix. Being the indecisive person i am i could choose what to have, lucky the young welsh girl that served us was very knowledgable and advised us very well on our sweet choice..thank you.

Helpful?
Thank mr_k_anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Simms Olde Sweet Shoppe also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Mr Simms Olde Sweet Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing