We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting.......” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The D Hotel Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The D Hotel Chester
Ranked #66 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
North West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting.......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2007

We were on a stag night and due to stay in the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. Upon arrival, they had no confirmation of our booking and had to find another hotel. After phoning several hotels, the one we finally got through as having availability was the Hotel Roma. The eight of us arrived hoping to be checking in to 3 twin rooms and a single. They were unable to accomodate this - instead they gave us 1 room on the top floor (room 12) which is the worst, smelliest room i have ever encountered, We were only in there 5 mins before having to go the shop to purchase 3 bottles of air freshner (even the apple smell failed to dampen the horrific smell!!!). The shower was not a shower - it was drips that evapourated by the time it would have touched your head. When the tap was turned on for the sink - the shower plug hole would bubble!! Room 2 (No. 29) was situated in a different block - despite the room not smelling - the toilet was broken and had not been fixed (or emptied of its content!!!!! The other room in comparison was luxury!! DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Liked — Leaving the place!
  • Disliked — Everything about it.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    15
    15
    18
See reviews for
8
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2006

We arrived at this hotel after a four hour car journey only to be told that our room would not be ready until after four pm.This was not a good start as we felt that having booked well in advance the room should at least have been ready on our arrival.The room left everything to be desired in the way of cleanliness.The carpet had not been vacuumed and the vinyl floor in the bathroom had obviously not been mopped for some time as there was a considerable layer of dust around the sides and the outside of the toilet was grubby and soiled.To cap it all we found one bedspread was actually damp and the other duvet cover was a grubby white with a lipstick stain.We asked on three separate occassions for the problems to be rectified.The damp bedspread was replaced fairly promptly but the bedroom was not properly hoovered and the bathroom floor was ,after 2 days,given a cursory clean but this just meant the dust was pushed further to the sides.I cleaned the toilet area myself with disinfectant and anti-bacterial wipes as there seemed to be no hope of any domestic input from the hotel.The carpet in the entrance hall and stairs leading to our room had not seen a vacuum cleaner for a considerable time judging by the very visible dust and grime.We were totally unimpressed by this hotel and will not stay there again.It is a real shame because the location is really ideal and there is room to park the car which is a real bonus in Chester.

  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

On our arrival we were shocked by the poor standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel. The stairs did not look like they had seen a hoover this side of the millenium and the rooms were covered in dust. We hired three rooms, two of which were decent in size, although the furnishings and decor in all the rooms were well overdue a refurbishment.
The hot water tap in one of the rooms did not work. When this fault was highlighted, an apology was received. The mattress on one of the beds in this room had a hugh indentation, resulting in an comfortable night sleep.
On a positive note, the hotel is in an excellent location and the breakfast, albiet early, was very good. The hotel's restaurant was our saviour for our evening meal, after having an abysmal experience at the Italian "Vitos" (a few doors down from the hotel.) I strongly recommend, that should you be visiting Chester you avoid eating here. We had to walk out disgusted and violated by the way we were treated.
To summarise, if you are looking for a centrally located hotel and are unphased by a bit of dust and dated furnishing, then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not go
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FeFe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2006

Hello,
We had a meal at this hotel on a previous trip and it was so so.
My girlfriend thought the location was good and suggested next time in chester we would stay there ,i emailed booked 72 pounds a night etc.We arrived on saturday were given the key told to go to the car park eventually found an extension with rooms ,it was more than grubby much more went back they showed me another room it was more tired than the first so we left with nowhere to stay the day before the races ,
we would have prefered to stay outside luckily after trying 3 hotels found one near the station was ok "and clean" we laughed about it ,it is a dive one of the worst hotels ever to be called a hotel and i've stayed in a few.
Avoid it stay anywhere else YMCA if need be but if you can live with grubby stained sheets laminate bathrooms and wrinkled filthy carpet ,enjoy :-)

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank homer.sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2006

We booked in last minute for the weekend, then read the reviews and were somewhat discouraged! We were pleasantly surprised at the staff, the accommodation and the food. The staff were friendly and helpful - we booked out on the Sunday and asked about where to park the car for the rest of the day - leave it here we were told - no charge! The food though not cheap was excellent and I have never seen so much drawer space in a hotel double room! All in all well pleased - I have a feeling we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2006

I booked this hotel before reading the other reviews but to be true im glad i did,i stayed at the hotel for a week whilst i was in chester on business. The location was fantastic right in the centre of chester and my room was huge a large double bed, three chairs a table, a tv,fridge and lots of cupboards and hangers.The staff where very plesant espically the owner and the pizzareina was good.

Disadvantages
After reading about the breakfast i didnt have high expectations and being honest it could have been alot better. The tea was very watery however the cooked breakfast was nice. on one day i had the contentental breakfast, i wouldnt recomend this as it was only a dry old croissant and some toast.
My shower didnt work - however when i complained they gave me the key to another room which had an exellant shower to use

all in all it was fine for me for a week i had a clean room to come back to after being at work and was close enough to the centre of chester to allow me to do some exploring. i payed over 200 pounds for the week and chose the hotel because it was the cheapest i could find for the particular week -in reality they would do better to lower the prices or make the breakfast an optional as it really lets a very nice hotel down.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greene666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire,England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2006

The only thing going for this hotel is its location. It is right in the centre within "the walls", very near the river all shops and restaurants. But it ends there! The room was grubby and the decor very faded.There were knobs missing off two of the drawers,although the carpet did look new. The shower didnt work properly giving luke warm water and there was a strange odour in the bathroom which could have been the drains as the water was slow to disappear!I had to ask twice for extra pillows and there were no teaspoons with the tea making equipment.
The breakfast too left much to be desired... we waited 10 mins before anyone even aknowledged we were there, after a further 10 mins we were served with some kind of orange juice and toast. Again after a further wait tea and coffee arrived. I say coffee not quite sure were it originated! Then the cooked breakfast finally arrived...2 slices bacon 1 sausage and a very hard fried egg. I will let you guess if it was eaten!
My advice is do not stay here. Chester is a beautiful place and we did enjoy our stay but there MUST be better places to stay than this.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smittyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#44 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 81 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#8 of 81 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The D Hotel Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Hotel Chester

Property: The D Hotel Chester
Address: 51 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England (Formerly Chester Bridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The D Hotel Chester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The D Hotel Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The D Hotel Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing