We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a spot of lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coffee Mill

The Coffee Mill
Ranked #15 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Chester
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional Tea Room and Coffee Shop, waitress service, producing a variety of tasty homemade dishes, including breakfasts, morning coffee, lunches, delicious salads, freshly prepared sandwiches, filled jacket potatoes, cakes and our superb afternoon teas. Very friendly, welcoming staff.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice for a spot of lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

A nice place to relax with good, friendly service. I had the clotted cream tea, which was nice although the scone was a little dry. They were very happy to bring me extra jam when I asked though.
My husband had the Welsh rarebit, which he said was nice enough.
On a Friday afternoon, it was an enjoyable place for a relaxed snack.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flowerangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    11
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We choose to have a light lunch here last Saturday, we had never visited Chester before I was attracted to this eating place as it is NOT a chain and offers a good selection of what I believe to be home made dishes eg. Cottage Pie and a range of sandwiches and jacket potatoes. Fine for us at that time.
It was fairly busy but we were not rushed. the staff were helpful advising my Mother about portion sizes so she could have what she wanted... I was impressed. The light bite options is a good idea for those with smaller appetites.The portions on the main menu were extremely generous and the food tasty. We were very satisfied. I feel it offers good value for money and I would return if visiting the city again.
I would say to anyone to try it as the food and service are good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ka h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service was terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nipped in here for lunch with friends and were met by terribly rude staff! The people who came in after us got served before us and we were completely ignored for about 20 minutes. Our drinks arrived in dirty cups and glasses. Our food took another 30 minutes to arrive and was just dumped in front of us. The food itself was nice, big portions but we were in a rush as one of us had to get back to work, so we quickly ate and left. When paying the bill however, the lady who cashed it up was actually rather pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rocknrose24335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Coffee_Mill, Owner at The Coffee Mill, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I'm really sorry to hear this.. You clearly enjoyed the food but felt the service wasnt up to scratch.
On that day you visited we were a member of staff down, we usually have 3 waitresses on, on that day it was 2.
I would, however, dispute dirty cups and glasses and us being rude... I worked that day, as did one of my most pleasant and experienced waitresses... And I'm sure you would have told us if there was something with the cups.... And meals are timed out if the kitchen... They never take 30 minutes

We really want everyone to enjoy visiting us so I'm genuinely sorry if you didn't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good place to a snack lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's always difficult to choose where to eat when visiting a new town/city and all we really wanted was a snack. We spotted The Coffee Mill which was very busy and this is always a good sign. We occupied the only available table and this was near the kitchen. However, we were presented with the menu and also a card with 'lite bites' (just what we wanted)! We all ordered from this menu - all choosing difference varieties of sandwiches. They were fresh and nicely presented with a small salad on the side. The tea was hot and plenty of it. We were asked on a couple of occasions if everything was OK. The tables had cloths which had a few tea stains but this did not affect the quality of the food. Will we visit again? Yes if visiting Chester.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 31CMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not nice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

visited recently with my daughter, initially the service was ok with a young friendly waitress..... the food I have to say was terrible and after we got the food we found it hard to grab any ones attention due to the staff either being down the bottom end or just being fed up..... there is zero atmosphere and the tables were cleared but not cleaned. They have table cloths on tables which look nice but not practical if you cant wipe them down or change. The only thing we liked about the place was the old style pictures on the wall... have to say that was it.... when i mentioned to the lady on paying i wasnt happy with the food she just shrugged her shoulders (it was obvious we were not happy our plates were still full) the best part about it was leaving although i did feel robbed having to pay for shoddy food we barely touched.... it wasn't even like anyone came over to ask if everything was ok...... will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoMcNally73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Mill also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Coffee Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing