We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£131
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Expedia.com
£129
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£114
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kate F

Unrivalled perfection.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2024via mobile
Absolutely perfect! It’s seemingly tough to get good service anywhere these days. The hotel is in a perfect location to access local restaurants, shops & bars. The booking process was clear and communicative, everything is crystal clear on the website. We received the warmest welcome from all the staff, it’s soooo clean and comfortable and they wrote me a birthday card! Legends! We already can’t wait to return, hopefully with our dog.
Thank you so, so much! You’re all wonderful and made our stay perfect.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Hotel Chester, Owner at The Hotel Chester, responded to this review
Responded 3 Apr 2024
Hello Kate,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so grateful for your kind words about our team and service, it's always amazing to see our hard work goes appreciated and it's lovely to have the opportunity to meet guests like yourselves. Great to see the apartment was comfortable and homely for you.

We can't wait to welcome you back again in future.

(Of course, you will only go up in our estimations when the dog comes too!)

Kindest regards,
Rhiannon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£100
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Agoda.com
    £79
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£81
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    £81
  • Agoda.com
    £73
  • Priceline
    £81
0.3 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£100
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £99
  • HotelIndigo.com
    £100
0.3 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£112
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
    £178
5.1 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Travelodge
£37
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
0.1 miles from The Hotel Chester
Booking.com
£179
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £168
  • Hotels.com
    £179
8.7 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Travelodge
£36
  • Vio.com
2.3 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free parking
Booking.com
£81
  • Tripadvisor
    £81
  • Priceline
  • Doubletree
    £81
1.8 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£71
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £71
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £71
0.6 miles from The Hotel Chester
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Chester
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
212
22
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
212
22
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari room flamingo room elegance room romance package copper bath tree house room huge sofa roman gardens amazing hotel bed apartment complimentary breakfast living area the secret garden car park next door mini bar a multi storey car park located close
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Last week we returned from our one-night stay at The Hotel Chester, where we enjoyed the top level of hospitality. Chloe greeted us with a warm welcome, Mia brought a powerful air conditioner into our Elegance apartment. The Maid delightfully decorated our room with rose petals, including on the bed and around the bath, and prepared a nice bottle of Prosecco on ice and tasty Lindt chocolates. Moreover, the Team made a nice surprise for my wife - a Birthday Card with lovely wishes! Thank you very much for making our stay enjoyable and remarkable!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank G1488JQjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Hotel Chester, Owner at The Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Hello G1488JQjk,

Thank you for leaving us such wonderful feedback, it really is appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and I am glad we were able to make your wife's birthday a memorable one.
We would like to thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we would love to welcome you back again should you return to Chester. Warm Regards, Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

We were slightly apprehensive when looking at some of the recent negative reviews. However, we had a really lovely two night stay at this city centre hotel. The staff at reception, the doorman on duty and every other member of the hotel staff were professional, pleasant and helpful.
Our room was on the second floor, very quiet and spotlessly clean. Large comfortable bed and spacious room and bathroom.
We ate in the hotel on our first night and the food was superb. I have allergies and the staff were knowledgeable and happy to explain the menu and double check with the chef on the ingredients for my chosen dish.
We travel all over the world and have stayed in many 5* hotels so we know what a well run hotel is. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a place to stay in Chester.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Surreytraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Edwards, Owner at The Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Hello.

Thank you for leaving this glowing review. However, it appears you have left this on the wrong page.

We are The Hotel Chester. A boutique apart-hotel boasting 16 individually themed apartments however we do not have a restaurant on site.

I hope you are able to leave this wonderful review in its rightful place.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Lauren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024

From the first moment we booked, to the excellent customer service and personal touches we enjoy our time staying in the Safari Suite.
Lauren and the team were absolutely fantastic, so helpful and friendly, we will be back.

Jacuzzi, Exceptional Bed and Gorgeous Decor.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank basilcockapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Hotel Chester, Owner at The Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hello basilcockapoo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely comments.

We would love to welcome you back again should you ever have a return trip to Chester!

Kind regards,
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024

Wow - what a find.
In truth, when we arrived outside the hotel we wondered if we had made a mistake! As soon as we stepped into the building we knew straight away it was going to be a fantastic stay.
Stayed in Secret Garden. Fantastic accommodation. Immaculate. Fantastic bedroom bathroom and kitchen lounge area.
And staff were amazing - so friendly.
Couldn’t fault the hotel.
Looking forward to our next stay there!

Room tip: Ingnlre the outside - step through the front door and you will love it!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daviddJ6171GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Hotel Chester, Owner at The Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Hello!

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was so lovely to meet you both and I'm glad Secret Garden turned out to be perfect for you. We'd love to have you stay with us again in future - next time I'm sure we can get you into somewhere with a bath!

Kind regards,
Rhiannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Lovely hotel,we liked the central location.The staff are very friendly ,your made very welcome the rooms are clean spacious and really lovely.The bed was super comfortable and we will definitely stay again .The hotel reception advised us to book direct next time to get a better deal.

Room tip: Park in the nearby grovener car park
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Hotel Chester, Owner at The Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review! Your kind comments about our team go very much appreciated, we certainly do our best to make all of our guests feel welcome and at home with us. Our beds are handmade by Burgess Beds under our Walker&Williams brand, they definitely do feel like jumping onto a cloud!

Feel free to give us a call or email next time you book!

Kind regards,
Rhiannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews