We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Always good

Our third visit to this very good zoo. A lot of work going on but still plenty to see....the high... read more

Reviewed today
bobbyboyat22
,
Coventry, United Kingdom
Day visit

Spent a full day in the zoo, (6hours) and still didn’t see everything. Only get to visit this... read more

Reviewed today
769denniss
,
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Read all 13,381 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chester
from US$675.82
More Info
from US$179.78
More Info
Reviews (13,381)
Filter reviews
13,381 results
Traveller rating
9,098
2,781
883
377
242
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,098
2,781
883
377
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bat cave butterfly house conservation work baby elephants big cats large enclosures boat ride animal enclosures packed lunch great family day plenty of places to eat plenty of space school holidays monorail picnic lions jaguar
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 13,381 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Came here with my family and we all had a fantastic time, entrance fees and café food is all about right, with the costs of upkeep for all the animals and the staff its understandable it's fairly expensive.
We loved the veriety of different types of animals and fish, snakes, plenty of ample space for the kids to run about and parks, picnic areas and cafe's, huge gift shop and massive car park, also very easy to find.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank maxf343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We regard this zoo as the best in the country, well maintained, clean and the animals are better looked after than I am, its been 15 years since we last visited, we thought it was good then and now We cant praise it enough, but don't take our word for it go and visit it yourself you wont be disappointed

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank gordyt895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Whilst up in Chester, we decided to take a day to visit Chester zoo. We had heard good reviews from a number of friends as well as a Chester Tour guide, whilst on a walking tour the previous day. We’d booked ticked at Chester Tourist Information Centre, which gave a discount on the zoo tickets (also no queuing!) Having not been to a zoo for over 20 years, it was a very pleasant surprise to find very large enclosures for the animals and we had no trouble seeing the animals as there was access to indoor as well as outdoor areas. We were lucky with the weather, but even on cold or wet days, there is still plenty to see under cover. We didn’t manage to cover the whole zoo, but did pretty well during our 5 - 6 hour visit.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank heatherpJ2777TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

I love it .. went there in Autumn and loved every bit of it .. it's more like a theme park combined with zoo .. reminded me of Singapore's Jurong bird park .. must visit.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank NirmitaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

What can we say
Excellent day ..everybody loved it ! Can be expensive when there is quite a few of you but as a treat no problem .We took a picnic lunch which helped with costs and children loved it .
Staff were very helpfull
Excellent facilities

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank christinedF3988WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews