We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic day out

We had a wonderful day here. Saw every animal except the jaguars. All the animals looked happy with... read more

Reviewed yesterday
lucym407
,
Bradford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic for a day out

This is one of my favourite places to go There is every animal you can imagine and you often see... read more

Reviewed yesterday
530gemmad
,
Mold, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 13,397 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chester
from US$684.05
More Info
from US$181.97
More Info
Reviews (13,397)
Filter reviews
13,397 results
Traveller rating
9,106
2,785
886
378
242
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,106
2,785
886
378
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bat cave butterfly house conservation work baby elephants big cats large enclosures boat ride animal enclosures packed lunch great family day plenty of places to eat plenty of space school holidays monorail picnic lions jaguar
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 13,397 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited a fair few zoo's and Chester Zoo is one of my favorites. The animals and their enclosures all looked well kept. Its such a big zoo that we spent two days here as we didn't want to have to rush round or come home having missed anything. I will agree about wearing comfortable shoe and it is a lot of walking but so enjoyable. Definately a great zoo to visit.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Alex06m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled for 2+hours and felt it looked tired. Signage could have been much much better as signs only showed perhaps 1 or 2 exhibits .would have been helpful to have directions further afield. There was a map but not great. I know it’s a zoo and animals are always on show but we were disappointed that we saw no elephants out . Chimps were all inside and fed inside. Orangutans also all inside. Jaguars inside bu5the inside enclosure was good.plenty for children to do with several play areas that were being used and loved the idea of the junior go ape style course. We did my have children with us but could see the attraction to these were popular. Monorail not working as we pre paid for it they said we would receive automatic refund. Boat ride not operational. Refreshments eg coffee was not to expensive quite fair actually. Plenty of staff around for advice and guidance on exhibits.enjoyed th3 indoor tropical realm with free flying birds. Don’t think I would travel that far again in a hurry. If local then it’s worth the trip. Parking good access good for wheelchairs and buggies. Big souvenir shop.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Did enjoy our visit even though we didnt see all the animals.lots of no shows but also some of the zoo was closed so missed lions,bears,cheetahs,jaguars.bit dissapointed.chimps were great!take comfy shoes its massive!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really good zoo with loads of animals of different kinds. There’s something for everyone and the layout is really tidy and nice. Map is easy to follow and the shop at the front is huge. Prices are what you’d expect from an attraction but overall the day was really good.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Bambi1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic place. Wish we could have spent more time here. Go to the Bat Cave. Really good along with the Elephant, Orange-Utan enclosures.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews