We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Review Highlights
Such a good trip

Took my mum for her birthday, she loved the whole day! There’s a lot to do and there’s somthing... read more

Reviewed today
e16withbeans
via mobile
Still pretty good, even without some enclosures.

When we arrived we found out there were several enclosures that were shut off and a few animals... read more

Reviewed yesterday
BigDaves15
,
South Shields, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 13,491 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chester
from US$692.56
More Info
from US$10.76
More Info
from US$10.76
More Info
Reviews (13,491)
Filter reviews
13,491 results
Traveller rating
9,177
2,794
896
380
244
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,177
2,794
896
380
244
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bat cave butterfly house conservation work big cats baby elephants boat ride animal enclosures packed lunch great family day plenty of places to eat plenty of space school holidays monorail picnic lions jaguar orangutans
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 13,491 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was our first visit to Chester Zoo and we were not disappointed. My nephew adopted the elephants for me for Christmas.

The weather was very windy so we thought we wouldn’t see many animals but we did. The giraffes were the only ones we really wanted to see that we didn’t the queue to get into the house was really long.

We are in the food hall and had the burger and chips. The chips were skin on homemade and they were excellent not as expensive as you’d expect.

We can’t wait to go back to see more we just ran out of time.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank tpw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been a zoo member on and off for the past 16 years and its never boring!
I go roughly twice a month, sometimes just for the walk, other times to see one specific animal and it's always changing.
There is always babies to see, Orangutans causing trouble or a new exhibition like Big cat lego, dinosaurs, lanterns.
Chester zoo is such a great day out, worth every penny to help conservation and the threat of extinction to some of the world's most endangered species

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank xxluvleaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although the weather was not enticing animals outside you could still see most of them in there shelters thanks to viewing areas. We were lucky enough to see a two day old giraffe.
Food in the cafe was lovely and reasonably priced.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank SueMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great view of most of the animals, inside facilities and outside. Bearing in mind, it was wazzing it down all day when we went. All animals are clearly looked after. Tree Kangaroo is the cutest thing ever. Rhinos are beautiful. Lions are MASSIVE.
One thing you must know though,is if you plan on being there all day, take your own food. I paid £12 For a cup of tea and a cold, soggy, sorry state of a slice of pizza. It was rubbish.

All in all, a great day out

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank mattkirk060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a beautiful zoo, animals appear happy, enclosures big and well kept, able to see were animals sleep and habitats. Bat house fab, tigers and jaguars really excellent, a lot of different animals, food is lovely and overall a brilliant day out and very tidy zoo

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews