We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't have been more perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
143 reviews
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee
Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Guest bedroom, kingsize or twin beds, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Guest bedroom, double bed, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Large, sociable, kitchen dining room leading to the walled garden
From the kitchen to the front door
Luxurious, Egyptian cotton bed linen and sumptuous pillows in all the bedrooms
Ensuite bathroom
River House luxury holiday cottage, city centre, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 4 car spaces
Blooming walled garden at the River House Holiday Cottage Chester
The River Dee leading to the River House
Early morning just outside the River House Chester, sipping a cup of tea and sitting on the bench
Enjoy England Tourism   Four Star Gold Award self catering accomodation
Enjoy England Four Star self-catering accomodation
Chester Races a short walk from the River House luxury holiday cottage for six adults
Winter sunrise on the Meadows opposite the River House
River House luxury holiday cottage in the heart of the city, 5 minutes from the shops & restaura
A bride and bridesmaid in the living room at the River House Chester
Beautiful bride in the courtyard garden of the River House
Elephants bathing at Chester Zoo
Chester Rows ideal shopping a short walk from the River House Chester
Chester Race Course a stroll along the river from the River House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 143 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Liz_Harpe...
Frodsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been more perfect”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at 'the river House' for a weekend with some girl friends. It was absolutely beautiful, the pictures do not do it justice. It really is the most perfect location, Chester City centre is a short walk away and the view's from the house are amazing. The River House gave us details of a wonderful chef who comes to the house and cooks. Carl was fantastic, not only providing wonderful food but offering a warm freindly service, I would recommend everyone do this when they stay. Our weekend could not have been better, I cannot recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is just beautiful and is in the most fantastic location.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
Hi - it was pleasure to have you and the girls staying. The chef really enjoyed cooking for you.
Thanks for your lovely comments - I think we will be seeing you again, maybe at the new apartment as mentioned. Perfect for the girls!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbur...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 star accomodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I stayed here last weekend with my husband and 2 children at the end of the half term holiday. The accommodation is excellent and the attention to detail is outstanding. There is a large kitchen at the back of the property which is well kitted out with high end equipment and French doors open onto a lovely courtyard. The lounge area over looks the river and so does the main bedroom which is lovely to open your curtains to in the morning. The property is well equipped and very comfortable. The house is full of character but has been sympathetically modernised. The location is perfect for a visit to Chester. Once you park your car at the beginning of your stay, there is no need to use it again until you go home. It also has the best of both worlds in a quiet river location (I was very surprised how quiet it was considering how close you are to the town centre) and yet, within 5 minutes, you are in Chester city centre with all its wonderful restaurants and shops practically on your door step. I would thoroughly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Feb 2015
Hello - I was so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your special celebration. It is a short walk to the very centre of the city which makes it very convenient.

It's nice to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the house. Thank you so much for drawing to my attention that the heat was unevenly distributed. I have adjusted the settings of the heating controls and the ground floor is warmer, and nice and toasty.
Please get in touch if you would like to come back as we very much appreciate such thoughtful guests, and I will ensure that the House is just right to make your stay delightful.
Kind regards

Melanie Warburton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ASparkles...
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This charming house is situated in a prime location by the river. It is so welcoming and has everything in it you could possibly need. It was lovely to walk into Christmas decorations and a bottle of champagne and it was absolutely spotless. I would recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of everything within the cottage and the location - stunning views and so close to everything within Chester.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind and thoughtful review. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. The River House is located in such a very special place that it always surprises our first time guests.
Although they didnt' disturb you, you'll be pleased to know that our neighbours have finished their building work and their house looks absolutely beautiful. Between guests, the River House is having it's annual lick of paint to make sure we keep up the standards of this beautiful river promenade.
Please do get in touch if you would like to come back as you were lovely guests and we'd love to host you again one day.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lana L
1 review
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A stunning property, beautifully decorated within easy walking distance of all amenities - shops, bars & restaurants. We had a wonderful time and were so impressed with the property and the comfort offered inside that we do not explore the city enough so we will have to go back. - what a shame. We are looking to go back in the summer to make full use of the garden and the river which is right outside the property. It was a wonderful start to our Xmas celebrations. Thank you Melanie for your superb taste and eye for style.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of luxury and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Girlie Weekend with shopping, wine and chatting.”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay. The location was perfect, it was nice an quiet and yet so close to town. The apartment has been decorated throughout beautifully. It was like staying in a home from home, everything you could wish for was in the kitchen and around the apartment. We had a minor issue with the new TV and I text the owners to let them now. I stressed it was nothing urgent and we really were just notifying them. To our surprise the owner was there within the hour and sorted it. You could not have asked for better service.
I would recommend the apartment to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped and clean the property was.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing