We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab time for a 60 th birthday”
other travellers have booked this property
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee
Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Guest bedroom, kingsize or twin beds, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Guest bedroom, double bed, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Large, sociable, kitchen dining room leading to the walled garden
From the kitchen to the front door
Luxurious, Egyptian cotton bed linen and sumptuous pillows in all the bedrooms
Ensuite bathroom
River House luxury holiday cottage, city centre, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 4 car spaces
Blooming walled garden at the River House Holiday Cottage Chester
The River Dee leading to the River House
Early morning just outside the River House Chester, sipping a cup of tea and sitting on the bench
Enjoy England Tourism   Four Star Gold Award self catering accomodation
Enjoy England Four Star self-catering accomodation
Chester Races a short walk from the River House luxury holiday cottage for six adults
Winter sunrise on the Meadows opposite the River House
River House luxury holiday cottage in the heart of the city, 5 minutes from the shops & restaura
A bride and bridesmaid in the living room at the River House Chester
Beautiful bride in the courtyard garden of the River House
Elephants bathing at Chester Zoo
Chester Rows ideal shopping a short walk from the River House Chester
Chester Race Course a stroll along the river from the River House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Suszie1
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab time for a 60 th birthday”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at the riverside apartments , house was lovely had everything you could want and so comfortable . We did have a little problem with the heating but Melanie found the problem and apologised regarding this , so if you want a lovely place to stay with great views of the river and not far from the town centre then this is the place to stay .

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Hello Sue - I'm so glad you had a lovely time at Riverside Apartment. It's a lovely space to share with friends and family as it's so large and well located. Thank you for the feedback, I'm only ever a phone call away if needed.
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bojangles...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous, Tranquil & peaceful, beautiful river views 😊”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

It’s all true!
I read the reviews of the River House with a pinch of salt but after a week there I have to eat my words. It’s a lovely, tranquil place to spend time. I came to meet up with family and friends and I wasn’t disappointed. When you walk into the house it’s so welcoming. You feel immediately at home. It has a timeless feel about it that so few holiday cottages have. The decoration is very relaxing and nicely done. The views from the house are quite lovely, especially first thing in the morning and last thing at night when the river is still. At this time of year, it’s full of birds, and in the morning the rowers are practising. It’s a really special part of the world, in the middle of the city.
We spent most of our time chatting around the table in the very large kitchen. It has everything you might need, even things like tin foil and tupperware boxes. It was so nice we stayed in and played games rather than going out. The beds are very comfortable and we slept really well. One small suggestion for the owner would be to get a reading light for the far corner of the lounge as I struggled a little. Apart from that small suggestion, the house is a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely be back again.


Kind Regards
Debbie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Best of both worlds-peaceful and tranquil but minutes from the fabulous city
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Great suggestion, and thank you for being such thoughtful guests, it's much appreciated. Thank you for choosing the River House and we are so happy you're coming back again soon.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend 11th-13th December”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This is outstanding. A very welcoming and homely feel about this property. The extra mile has been taken and we fully appreciated the flowers, bread, jam and biscuits on arrival. We will be very sad not waking up to this beautiful view tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you Stephen - I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and you took some fond memories of Chester and the River House with you. Look forward to hosting you again one day if you decide to return.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed for the second time this year with a long weekend in early December. House and stay as lovely as the first visit in May, but with added bit of Christmas touches with a tree and decorations to get you in the seasonal mood!

Chester Christmas market was nice to see in the evening with the Christmas lights and very festive feel with food and drink stalls.

Will be back to stay at River House no doubt again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overlooking the river yet in a quiet location but only 5 minutes walk to centre of Chester.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for coming today again. I hope it's a home from home for you. Wasn't the Santa Dash great! Thousands of Santas running past the River House. We really appreciate your visit and thank you for being such considerate guests. Hope to host you again in the New Year!
Kind Regards & Festive Wishes,
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor.
Liked least: Some cool showers. (We were not familiar with timers on water heaters.)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you, Sharon, for your very kind words. You were the first family to rent both properties for your special occasion. I'm so happy that everything worked well for you and your guests and you so enjoyed the open plan of Riverside Apartment and the lovely sociable kitchen at the River House. I hope to see you next time you're over.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheryl W
Adlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous - one of the best ever for everything.”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Location 10/10
House 10/10
Amenities 10/10
Customer contact 10/10
Parking 10/10
Comfort 10/10
Cleanliness 10/10
Welcome basket and flowers 10/10
This property is superb, Melanie and Craig are lovely and know what to do to make your break of any length excellent. Would recommend it to anyone- our 3rd visit and each one surpasses the last. I suggest you try it, parking so close to the city and on the river bank is so convenient- it makes everything so easy and Chester is beautiful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We love the kitchen - a great place to dine with friends and relax
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Thanks for the glowing review Cheryl. You are all such lovely people it was a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for the invite - it was a first for us! Hope to see you again next year. You're right, it is the perfect spot for shopping and then just enjoying the peace of the lovely location.
Come back soon!
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiggett20...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in Chester”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the River House in Chester. The house is lovely, with everything you could possibly need. The location is fantastic, with wonderful views and access to the River Dee and also so close to shops and restaurants. Melanie was warm and welcoming and very helpful with advice about the area and places to eat. I highly recommend The River House to anyone wanting a comfortable and pleasant place to stay while they enjoy the beautiful Chester area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Hi there - it was lovely to meet your family. Especially as, for some, it was the first visit back to England after 49 years in New Zealand! I was delighted to recommend my personal favourite fish & chip shop and the lovely places along the canal. I hope you had a safe flight home and thank you for your kind words.
Kind regards Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing