We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
143 reviews
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee
Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Guest bedroom, kingsize or twin beds, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Guest bedroom, double bed, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Large, sociable, kitchen dining room leading to the walled garden
From the kitchen to the front door
Luxurious, Egyptian cotton bed linen and sumptuous pillows in all the bedrooms
Ensuite bathroom
River House luxury holiday cottage, city centre, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 4 car spaces
Blooming walled garden at the River House Holiday Cottage Chester
The River Dee leading to the River House
Early morning just outside the River House Chester, sipping a cup of tea and sitting on the bench
Enjoy England Tourism   Four Star Gold Award self catering accomodation
Enjoy England Four Star self-catering accomodation
Chester Races a short walk from the River House luxury holiday cottage for six adults
Winter sunrise on the Meadows opposite the River House
River House luxury holiday cottage in the heart of the city, 5 minutes from the shops & restaura
A bride and bridesmaid in the living room at the River House Chester
Beautiful bride in the courtyard garden of the River House
Elephants bathing at Chester Zoo
Chester Rows ideal shopping a short walk from the River House Chester
Chester Race Course a stroll along the river from the River House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 143 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gary H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely home from home”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The minute we walked through the door it felt like home, very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped
A welcome pack waiting for us in the Kitchen, instructions for everything and helpful hints for the visit to Chester
We did not cook in the house other than toast but the Kitchen is fantastic with all you would ever need.
Perfect location alongside the River Dee with walks and restaurants on the doorstep, a 10 minute walk to the town centre.
The grandchildren joined us for the last night and we had to force them out of the house, they just loved it, and getting them to bed was not a problem that night, leaving next day though proved difficult and promised we would take them back.
This house is looked after directly by the owner and you can tell, so I have no hesitation in recommending this for any time of the year to visit Chester and the surrounding area.
We will be back and no doubt will have to fetch the family, thank you Melanie, you have a lovely property to be proud of.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2017
Hi Gary - it was a real pleasure to have you and your family come to stay and to meet you. Thank you for looking after everything to beautifully. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the lovely city of Chester. I look forward to seeing you again in 2018. Thank you for your visit.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super riverside location”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A perfect location by the river, yet just a short stroll into the centre of Chester. The property is furnished and equipped to a very high standard. Comfy beds and sofas. Just like a home from home. Nice welcome pack on arrival. A delightful owner to deal with. Will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Hello Jan
I’m so glad you found the house so welcoming and comfortable. You were such a lovely group it was a pleasure to have you stay. Thank you for your visit, it is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21Riddell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy house”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Excellent location and very well equipped cosy house. Fabulous hosts who thought of everything we might need and more. Highly recommended for 6 people looking for a city break

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Hi there
Great to know that you had a lovely time at the River House. Thank you for your visit and pop back soon.

Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzyLB
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing place, a real treat!”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I stayed here with 5 other ladies mid September for shopping, champers and the races! It was a truly beautiful place, great location with ample parking. The attention to detail, gorgeous decoration and little touches (welcome pack) without a doubt made this place one of the best self catering rentals I've stayed in for a very long time, it felt like a boutique hotel.

A million times thank you, we all had a wonderful time.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Hi Lizzy
It always makes me so happy when one of our lovely guests has such a fabulous time. Thank you so much for your visit and for your love for the River House!
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angharad...
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fantastic stay at this beautiful apartment. Decor light & modern. Location was amazing. Right on the river and only a five minute walk into town. Lovely touches such as a breakfast hamper to welcome us. Commumication with the landlady was first class (although she was abroad at the time!). Very impressed and would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Come back soon. Thank you for looking after the Apartment so well. I really appreciate it. I hope to see you again next year.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrykell...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This rental was perfect for our group of 6 who were looking for a simple weekend away. Its location is spot on with being in walking distance of the city of Chester which was 10 mins round the corner. The outside of the property does not do itself justice to what lies behind the front door.The River House is a comfortable property with spacious rooms with its centre piece being the kitchen diner being the hub of the property and perfect for us all to meet, eat, drink and gossip together. The owner of the property was more than accommodating with our requests and we felt rest assured that if we needed her for anything she would be there to assist come rain or shine. I cannot recommend this property enough as the setting is truly wonderful and we all could have easily spent several more hours sat by the riverbank or simply gazing out the bedroom window watching the hustle and bustle of river life. So glad we stumbled across this gem and would recommend to anyone who wishes to visit Chester.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Hello Kerry
Yes, the River House is deceptively large once you pass through the doorway. It's such a lovely position on the river that all our guests feel at home.
I hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Thank you for your visit.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nctravele...
Bolivia, North Carolina
1 review
“Luxury vacation home in the perfect Chester location”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This fine English home located in The Groves area of Chester was ours for several days. The decor was lovely & luxurious and the kitchen exceptional. From the first moment Melanie made us feel welcome with fresh flowers plus bread and jam for our breakfast. A big basket of sightseeing brochures and restaurant suggestions made our visit even more enjoyable. I would definitely choose The River House again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Oh thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was a delight to have you stay and I hope to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing