We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour with facts and fun”

Chester Heritage Tours
Ranked #2 of 21 Tours in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A tour with facts and fun”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was a lovely alternative to walking the city walls. The guide was very knowlegable and she was fun and easy to listen too. We really enjoyed the tour and would certainly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    34
    5
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very good tour. Well worth the price.”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I'm not normally one for coach/bus tours but at £6.50 for an open top tour on a vintage bus, i thought we'd give it a go.
An excellent, fun, and informative tour around Chester provided by genuinely nice people.
Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank youkillemwechillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value trip”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We went on the top deck in December! - very chilly so wrap up warm! The tour was very interesting with a real person (lady) giving the commentary. She was obviously proud of the city & was very knowledgeable and plenty of humour thrown in. It was a really enjoyable experience, which I can certainly recommend. Not expensive and brilliant value for a tour of almost an hour. A must if you want to see areas of Chester you may otherwise miss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Draigcoch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worth a Trip”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We tried the Heritage tours and were extremely glad we did.
The driver and guide were pleasant, comical and informative throughout the experience. The driver joked with all his passengers whether they were coming or going and obviously made a few old ladies day.
The lady who did the commentary came across as someone who was knowledgable and personally interested in the history, she added touches of humour and involved the children when she could with simple questions for them to answer.
The route took you outside the usual tourist haunts and the walls of Chester to show some interesting architecture and stories about the history of the city.
The tour was very interesting as we had never been to Chester before although we had heard good reports about the city our experience up to the tour had been disappointing.
Lasted approx 50 mins, wrap up well if you go in winter as the top deck certainly was a bit chilly. The stairs are steep and spiral but okay with time and care, the staff do not rush anyone.
Well worth a Trip and with a complimentary book mark as a bus ticket

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank petlyn0248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
267 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Bus Tour with a difference”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This bus tour around Chester is in a 100 year old bus, one of only 3 left and the only one still on the road. Leaves from outside the tourist bureau and has an entertaining live commentary. Can highly recommend this tour, a heritage tour in a heritage bus. Wonderful

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester Heritage Tours also viewed

 

Been to Chester Heritage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing