We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice beer garden”
Review of The Cheshire Cat

The Cheshire Cat
Ranked #82 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Cheshire Cat in Christleton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Hornsea
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice beer garden”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The pub is located on a really nice spot off the canal, really nice pub inside and friendly staff, the best feature of the pub in my opinion is the large grassy beer garden which surrounds the pub itself, plenty of tables and plenty of parking if you drive here. The food was pretty slow to arrive but was very good quality, would advise people to book when they're starting to get hungry as it was a good 45 mins wait for some meals. If it's a sunny day this place is perfect for a few drinks and is a short taxi ride into Chester town centre. Prices were pretty standard for pub food, around £10 for a main course.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukeyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    225
    116
    97
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay if visiting Chester.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Part of the Innkeepers Lodge chain ( and a Vintage Inn). I stayed here and ate here on a visit to Chester. In a lovely location, close to a Park and Ride into Chester and beside a canal, with pleasant walks to pretty villages or actually into Chester. Received a pleasant welcome from two of the staff. Check in was quick and efficient. The room was lovely . High ceilings, plenty of space, fluffy towels, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of hot water. The toilet cistern was a bit noisy and the sink water was slow to drain away but this didn't cause any problems. Ate in the restaurant and there was a good choice of food to suit all tastes. The desserts were gorgeous. Prompt service form all staff, good quality food. ( and 25% off the total with a Gourmet card or O2 Priority deal).Continental breakfast was included in our package although we could have had Full English for an extra charge. Choice of cereals, juice, toast, jams and Danish pastries. Had breakfast in a lovely sunny room and the lady looking after us was so kind and helpful and gave us lots of useful information about visiting Chester. The grounds at this inn are lovely and so well kept. Eating outside would be pleasurable. Love Chester and wouldn't stay anywhere else on my next visit there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retracenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service & food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend. Room was nice, clean with nice views of the canal but that is the only positive about this place. Received no welcome when we checked in whilst he finished his conversation with another member of staff. Went for a meal in the restaurant, which was awful! We ordered drinks, then starters & mains. After 25minutes we had still not received our drinks. I called the manager over who apologised & brought us our drinks. When our main meals came, the girl placed them down & walked away without asking if we wanted anything else. Had to call another waiter over to request salt & sauces which took another 10 minutes. Food was average. We were not offered any coffee or desserts, Manager did take the drinks off our bill as an apology, but shouldn't really have come to that. Just no customer service at all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hammersgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Popped in here on the way home from a weekend away. The Sunday lunch menu had a good selection. I has roast dinner which was very nice. Plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. Also you can have wander along the canal. The service was good and the food was very nice. Next time we'll try a sharing platter as the looked really nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Nice selections for lunch. it was quiet, staff very good. Food was good and arrived quickly. Will return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndyXSteveUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheshire Cat also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Christleton, Chester
 

Been to The Cheshire Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing