We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top night all round!”
Review of Laugh Inn

Laugh Inn
Ranked #10 of 47 Nightlife in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS The Laugh Inn Comedy Events have now moved to the Commercial Hotel Chester.Chester's newest & best live entertainment venue & restaurant.Hosting comedy with some of the country's finest and up-and-coming comedians every Thursday, Friday and Saturday, along with touring shows, live music, bands and theatrical events midweek and Sundays. Our main theatre with 350 seats is the best place to watch live entertainment and theatre in Cheshire. Available for private parties, corporate events and general hire, the Laugh Inn offers high quality entertainment and dining for all occasions and all ages. Come and join us at the Laugh Inn with your family, friends and work colleagues for a fantastic quality fun night out!
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top night all round!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

A great comedy club with some cracking acts appearing!! I've not eaten here yet but have heard good things about the pizza!! Drinks and admission really reasonable and with 3 acts on in a night you get a great variety of comedy! Been here several times and have stayed on once the comedy's finished, again great times have been had!! Noticed a few negative reviews on here but on the many times I've been, it's been an excellent evening of fun!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Goose564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    13
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Went in a group of eight in a the downstairs booth and had a great night. Very good bar service and well kept Erdinger weissbier (my favourite) made for a good atmosphere. The pizza's were authentically italian and all three comedians were excellent. We will definately return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carloslerouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Third act was shocking, we won't be returning”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We went to Laugh Inn on 20th April. We had food first and then were ushered into the theatre where the show didn't actually start for about 30-40 minutes which was quite annoying.
The Compare was brilliant and we really loved the second act (Joe Lycett) but the third act (Carey someone) was shocking. He didn't connect with the audience, was all over the place and seemed to forget his lines/run out of things to say. I found him very offensive but despite that he really wasn't funny at all.
A member of a stag party fell asleep during his performance (which says alot in itself) and the only way he reacted to this was to suggest that we all poo on the mans head- what are we, aged five?! There was an awkward atmosphere whilst he was on stage and I could see that the girls on the front row clearly felt uncomfortable. Why the management/compare didn't cut this guy short-god knows!
After approx 15 minutes one couple got up to leave, they didn't say anything but the so-called Comedian thought it was appropriate to hurl abuse at them. This clearly upset another member of their party and they left after a brief argument. Other people began to leave and so did we.
I know that some comedians are to different people's tastes but this guy was appalling. Surely the managent screen their acts?! And they certainly shouldn't allow them to become abusive to guests. One of the rules for the audience is no heckling etc but apparently it's okay for the acts to subject the guests to it!
After that performance we certainly won't be returning again and to be honest it has put me off going to watch stand ups altogether.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tilliflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Public Relations Manager at Laugh Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
On Friday afternoon we posted a video clip of Carey Marx which had over 400 views - no complaints, on Friday night over 150 people saw Carey Marx perform - no complaints, on Saturday night Carey Marx performed and weather it was something in the air or he was having an 'off day' but his performance managed to upset and offend some of you for which we apologise.
From our point of view its upsetting to hear that people will not be returning, that "we should be ashamed" and that we are being branded a "tasteless venue".. If you are sat at home and see an advert or programme that you dislike on t.v. do you switch the t.v. off and never enter the room again? would you never return to the cinema if you had seen a film that you did not enjoy there? Stand up comedy is a subjective art form and as such will not please all of the people all of the time. Week in week out we endeavour to bring to Chester the very best national and international comedians on the circuit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Went to the Laugh Inn as a family (23, 24, 56, 57)for a good night of comedy. Compere was great as usual. 1st act was a little dry. 2nd act was fantastic. 3rd act...well...Carey Marx was his name. Laugh Inn - you should be ashamed. Not only was he shocking, to the extent that the guy had no laughs for 20 minutes; he subjected one member of the audience to a vile attack. After a run of crude attempts to rectify what was simply a shocking performance, Marx launched a vile attack on what was one of many 'walk outs' on his act. 20 minutes was enough for many as people walked out by the dozen. 1 person was subject to personal, humiliating, tasteless abuse about what it was later found to be a deceased relative. But did he stop there? Most would think that calling a persons mother a w*ore was disrespectful & taking things too far. With an audience booing, hissing, heckling & walking out at this stage...did he stop? No, he continued. This vile man is not a comedian. He is not funny. The audience were discussed & vowed to management that they would never return - after a largely positive beginning. Scores of people left in their drones, booing as they left. From the stalls to the balcony. From the upper class to the lower class. A sign of a disgraceful act in a tasteless venue.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Muscat_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Public Relations Manager at Laugh Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
On Friday afternoon we posted a video clip of Carey Marx which had over 400 views - no complaints, on Friday night over 150 people saw Carey Marx perform - no complaints, on Saturday night Carey Marx performed and weather it was something in the air or he was having an 'off day' but his performance managed to upset and offend some of you for which we apologise.
From our point of view its upsetting to hear that people will not be returning, that "we should be ashamed" and that we are being branded a "tasteless venue".. If you are sat at home and see an advert or programme that you dislike on t.v. do you switch the t.v. off and never enter the room again? would you never return to the cinema if you had seen a film that you did not enjoy there? Stand up comedy is a subjective art form and as such will not please all of the people all of the time. Week in week out we endeavour to bring to Chester the very best national and international comedians on the circuit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great comedy venue”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Went to see Marcus Brigstocke (who incidentally was VERY good, would happily see him again even with the swearing!) at the Laugh Inn and it was my first time to this venue. There is pay and display car parking just round the corner which was great. We arrived about 7.30 and went straight in to the bar area, nicely set out with tables and chairs. After about 15 minutes we were called through to the stage venue. it's a great size for comedy, not too big, you felt pretty close to the act. (There is a balcony as well, not sure how it feels from there.) We just had standard seats, a bit close together and not the most comfy but when you see a good act as we did you tend not to notice. At the interval the bar staff at the back of the room were very efficient. I would definitely go there again for the right act and as friends had booked it I might explore the food and VIP options to make more of a night of it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nantwichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laugh Inn also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Laugh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing