We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£72
£72
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
155
63
25
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
155
63
25
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping centre next door chef joe bath or shower car park blackout curtains mini fridge large tv close to shops lovely receptionist hotel is in a great location bars and restaurants double glazing air con rooms were very clean bottle of prosecco comfortable bed lady on reception
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2024

We stayed here for 3 nights in January for a long weekend and it was excellent! The room was lovely, spacious and clean. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice and foods are restocked frequently. Lucia was very friendly and welcoming when we checked in. Fantastic city centre location, everything was within walking distance. Very fast WiFi available in the room. Excellent value for money. The nearby car park was expensive as there is no parking at the hotel. The TV in the room had a chrome cast which is useful if you wish to watch Netflix etc. We also booked the afternoon tea through Groupon which was nicely presented and delicious. The restaurant staff were very friendly and went above and beyond. The restaurant area is nice and quiet to relax in. When we next return to Chester we will definitely be staying at Leonardo's!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C9501IBjennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ewan Simpson, Owner at Leonardo Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Delighted to read you enjoyed the stay and afternoon tea and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Leonardo Hotel Chester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Lovely welcome at reception, nice big & spacious room, breakfast was one of the best buffet styles we’ve eaten, and the location is just perfect for exploring Chester.
Our room had tea/coffee facilities, fridge, safe, hairdryer, shower & bath, lots of room & very clean. The shower even had good water pressure!
Definitely recommend this hotel

Room tip: Location is perfect, in the middle of Chester, everything is within a 10-15 minute walk
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ewan Simpson, Owner at Leonardo Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Great to read you would recommend us and thank you for choosing the Leonardo Hotel Chester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024 via mobile

Greeted by smiling reception staff,nice to be remembered too, up to our room on the 1st floor, 119.
We booked through Secret escapes so get the offer of breakfast and bottle of Prosecco included, nice touch.
The room was lovely and warm, great comfy bed,fridge,perfect size TV,plenty of tea & coffee and nice biscuits.
Bathroom didn't have a bath but great powerful shower.Bathroom didn't have a heated towel rail so was a bit chilly.
We had a great nights sleep,best comfy bed by far in any of the places we've stayed in....
Breakfast was great, very quiet in the restaurant,plenty of choice, we opted for poached eggs, the chef did a perfect job, even gave us tips how do our poached eggs at home.
Overall a great stay,lovely staff,great accommodation and looking forward to our next visit,think it'll be number 5.
Cheers Leonardo.

Room tip: Park at the Grosvenor car park, £10.00 for 24 hours and 5 minute walk to Leonardo.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Boothie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ewan Simpson, Owner at Leonardo Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Leonardo Hotel Chester and I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024

Staff at the leonardo reception are extremely helpful. The restaurant staff were a tad grumpy but maybe because the bar/restaurant wasn't officially open when we arrived at 10am. However a free coffee and tea made up for that.

We were due to be checked in at 1pm but the reception realised we were tired and probably didn't fancy waiting until 1pm to check in so offered us a room at 11am. That was very appreciated as we were knackered from an all night drive down from Scotland. Up into the room and a nice hot shower and zzzzzz.

We were in chester for a work related matter so had plenty of time to kill. Later in the evening we went walkabout. Streets looked very clean and felt safe. We were in and out several times throughout the night.

We didn't go out for dinner but ordered a takeaway. It arrived within half and hour. Sadly the food did not live up to expectations. We ordered a chicken tikka masala but seems like the chef ended up putting a whole bag of sugar and coconut cream into it. We were better off with a tin of Heinz tomato soup!
So to recap: Leonardo chester staff are extremely present and helpful. The hotel is clean and smart. Beds and pillows I'd give 7/10 but that's because I love my own bed and pillows too much. Area is nice and plenty of pizza, steak, Italian and Greek eateries nearby.

Room tip: Dine out so you know what you're getting. Some takeaways below standard.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vape T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ewan Simpson, Owner at Leonardo Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Thank you for the great review and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your time at the Leonardo Hotel and in Chester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in room 103. Reception girls where friendly.. room was OK on arrival apart from we noticed a dirty towel was left behind the door in the bathroom. The shower gel on the wall was empty also. The bed was uncomfortable me and partner never got a good night's sleep at all.. we wanted to have room service at 9.10pm so we rang down and got told the chef had gone home now so there was no food available.. but u can order a takeaway and get it delivered to the hotel so we did that instead.. but it advertised 24 hour on some food on the menu.. the prices invar for a gin and lemonade and a lager was 22 pound.. so expensive..
We have stayed in the leonardo in Liverpool a few times and it's so much better than this one.. we also get a free drink and a coffee in Liverpool never got one in chester..

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 786shells
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ewan Simpson, Owner at Leonardo Hotel Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dear 786shells, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry to read you were not entirely satisfied and that you experienced a couple of issues with your room, I trust these were rectified by our team when mentioned, please accept my apologies. Your feedback in regards to the bed is surprising, normally we receive extremely positive feedback on the comfort of the beds, but I appreciate this is subjective. We are operating reduced kitchen and bar hours for the month of January, this is quite normal in the industry and we have clear signage on our reception area detailing this. The hotel pricing is regularly checked against other hotels in the Chester area to ensure we are offering value against our competitors. We also offer a complimentary drink and coffee when you book a certain room type as you received in Liverpool, unfortunately on this occasion you did not book one of these. I do hope you enjoyed the stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews