We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Step in India

Step in India
Ranked #319 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Brilliant staff, gorgeous food and even got a glass! Can't wait to go back, we only wish they did take a way to Chorley :):)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    23
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Glad we found this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely little restaurant with welcoming staff and lovely food. Three of us ate starters and mains with drinks foe under £70. Service was good and staff attentive. It was a welcome haven from the rain

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoanerNotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snaith<east yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Some nice some just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ate here with friends and the place was dead! Don't know if it was early or a bad sign? Anyway the popadoms were nice and pickles plentiful some of them tasted a little stale and old. The lager was ok but my friends coke was warm and tasted like rolla cola lol. Starters were again ok and i enjoyed the chicken chat. The mains were also nice and as we were a party of 6 got to see a varied amount of meals there just could of been a little more. We ordered off the buffet menu so not sure if you get less due to this? All together would eat here again but would probably try somewhere else next time i visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BazNLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went as a group of eight for the early evening special.
Very good value we all had lots of different dishes and all enjoyed their meals.
The early special has lots of choice as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmm7levels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“"Step out of India "”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Went here with my girlfriend hoping for a nice Indian cooked meal , ended up with a very poor processed substitute .
Chicken chat starter was very tasteless and they're wasn't much of it .
For the main we had the chicken tikka masala , We've had better frozen microwave meals.
The food came without the pilau rice , We got a dirty look from the staff when I mentioned this saying you never ordered any , they brought it out 30 seconds later , luke warm on a tiny plate , it also tasted like something out of a supermarket packet .
The chicken tikka came in what looked like a cereal bowl and was also very tasteless .
They left us without cutlery , I asked two different members of staff for it , they both nodded , walked past and never came back . My girlfriend ended up going to the till asking again only to be ignored , we eventually got our cutlery at the 4th time of asking .
Basically , if you want a nicely cooked Indian meal stay well clear of this place .
People reading this may think I'm the moaning type who puts these type of reviews on a daily basis out of boredom .
I'd just like to add , this is my first ever negative review about anything on trip advisor , just felt very strongly about warning people away from this place . A £40 meal could have been had for fiver from the supermarket , trust me , you would have enjoyed it a lot more .

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Step in India also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Step in India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing