We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bunkroom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bunkroom
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed as part of a lads weekend so was seeking a hotel which represented value for money and this did not miss, £21 p/p inc. breakfast is difficult to beat anywhere let along somewhere which is so close the city centre (5-10 minutes stroll).

We arrived well before check in as we had prior arrangements during the day but we were welcomed and left our luggage whilst we went off upon return a member of staff (Mel) had kindly taken this up to our rooms which was very kind.

The hotel room itself was compact as you would expect (housing 6 in 1 room) but was clean with 2 triple bunk beds (took the top bunk, not sure when I will next get that chance) and a small shower room & toilet (sink was in the room). The room was perfect for our requirements as we were not expecting to spend much time in it.

Another area of note was the seating area outside the back door which was sheltered and perfect for gathering, sharing a drink and for the end of the inevitable kebab at the end of a heavy evening.

The breakfast was full english and was fine with unlimited coffee and tea available.

The only reason for a 4 instead of 5 rating is that the area surrounding the hotel is not the best and parking is not realistically available free in the area instead you have to utilise the railway station at £5.70 for 24 hours, both these elements however are outside of the control of the hotel.

Overall I would not hesitate in booking The Bunkroom if I was visiting Chester again, thanks to all the staff especially Christopher and Mel for making us feel so welcome before and during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    29
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
11
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

6-10-12 Excellent welcome to a well above average hostel. Our bags were taken to our room whilst we went out for the day.

Mel was very sociable and made us feel very welcome, even joining us in the Cabanna for a chat about what Chester had to offer.

10/10 would come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here for one night only as I went on a night out in Cheter. Lovely staff (Mel), she coped well with cooking a great breakfast for loads of hungover girls, and was willing to accommodate any requests, which made it feel special. The location is ideal as it's a stone's throw away from the train station and only 15mins walk into town. Very clean and plenty of room for what we needed.

Room Tip: Would have prefered an en-suite as the bathroom is downstairs by the communal areas, but this was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinsan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Very central location, close to the railway station. For the price you can't fault this place. Admittedly we had to go down one level to access the bathroom, but our price reflected this. The chill out area at the back is brilliant. Good kitchen facility. Even if you don't have a tight budget it's a good place to stay. Check with them if you need parking, we were on bicycles.

Room Tip: If no ensuite room is available check where the nearest bathroom to your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuaySmithTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

a group of 7 of us visited Chester for the races the weekend just gone, and I can not speak highly enough of the bunkroom!!
the service was first class from phone call to book, arrival, information provided about how to get where, and a breakfast which was first class.
without a shadow of doubt we will be back, and i will recommend to others. The gentleman that we saw was first class, polite and again very helpful.
thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Located a stones throw from the station and plenty of Chester's bars and pubs. There are nice communal areas both inside and out, a pretty well equipped kitchen, bbq and even a little bar. The rooms are pretty standard but they do the job and the beds are comfy enough. The staff are a mixed bag. One female receptionist was a pathological liar and a bit on the icey side whereas the male receptionist dragged himself out of bed after a couple of hours sleep and made us a full fry. Overall a good place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisinleedsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkroom, Owner at The Bunkroom, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review, which is most important to us in order to help us improve our standards. However I am a little bit amazed by the comment that Mel, one of our receptionist, is a pathological liar. What a strange thing to say about some one checking you in and handing over your key.
Still, as we do take all reviews very seriously, you will be pleased to know that we have addressed the problem and Mel is now booked on a course for psychology, psychiatry and finally psychotherapy.
We hope this will resolve the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecco, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Very nice hostel with a good service and friendly stuff. (wi-fi free). It's very clean and enjoyable. You only need 5 minutes to walk into the city centre and is therefor ideal for groups and tourists!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunkroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunkroom

Property: The Bunkroom
Address: 106 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bunkroom 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 mins walk from the train station and 3 mins walk from city centre, The Bunkroom is beautifully presented with en-suite bunkrooms for 4, as well as doubles. Self catering facilities, free WiFi, lounge and dinning areas, washing and drying machines, fully cooked breakfasts (£4.00) and evening meals (£7.00) available. Spotlessly clean and exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Bunkroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bunkroom Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing