We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints at all”
Review of The Chester Fields

The Chester Fields
Ranked #62 of 569 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Staff very attentive. Menu will appeal to all tastes. Food cooked to perfection. Lovely decor and location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ooh_Aah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Again a very straight to the point review ! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, but what is very clear to us now is how very important it is to ensure we maintain our standards. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Fields.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,116 - 1,120 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

Living half hour to 3/4 hr from Chester, Liverpool, Manchester, how convenient to find such a restaurant so close to home (15 mins away in Mickle Trafford). Considering it was boxing day with a lots of tables fully occupied, the service was top class with a similar comment about the food. Don't take my word for it: just go

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Hi Anthony – Thank you so much for writing this review for us and whereas we feel we are located in quite a rural setting, it is indeed very handy for many local towns and cities and with plenty of parking being a bonus too. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Fields.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

well, where do I start!. Lovely building, lovely scenery and thats just from outside. Once stepping inside the level increased, the inside is done out so well, we were met by very friendly staff, you can just go for a drink and take your Dog in with you, very Dog friendly. But don't just go for a drink, the food is to die for, a brilliant range menu, from locally sourced produce, cooked to perfection, beautifully presented, served by smart friendly staff, accompanied by lovely wine, what more could you ask for. I recommend the Lamb Rump, my Husband loves their Rump Steak, never been able to fault anything I have had there, we have been back several times. We would like to wish the Owner, Management and Staff all the best for the New Year and wish them every success for the future, The Chester Fields is truly and outstanding place to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank m0rgan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Hi there mOrgan1234 and where can WE start with this amazing review ? You have described everything we set out to achieve so thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We gave a great deal of thought in putting our menu together and as you have mentioned, we really enjoy working with our local suppliers. I believe we have some of the best produce in the country here in Cheshire, and we will be doing more and more work with our fabulous suppliers as time goes on. You mention the rump steak; the Red Poll cattle are farmed just behind us at Grange Farm and we are particularly proud to feature this on our menu. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Fields.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

recently opened but very professionly run
good menu with local produce well presented
friendly and attentive staff
comfortable surroundings - well decorated
a very pleasant dining experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikefChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Thank you Mike for your very straight to the point and positive review , in fact this could be our mission statement! Thank you for reviewing us and please come and see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I have visited The Chester Fields three times now and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit.

The food is very good I can recommend the cray fish rissoto and the pork belly with its crispy crackling. For desert the apple pie and the banoffee cheesecake are both my favorites. The children love playing the arcade games that are upstairs playing games like pac man is a blast from the past and good fun.

We are all looking forward to going back again, perhaps for a sunday meal next time?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brightsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Hi Brighsider and thank you for posting a review for The Chester Fields, we are incredibly grateful to everyone who has taken the time to review us. The crayfish risotto has indeed been extremely popular – Chef has really got the balance between the sweeteness of the tomatoes and the delicateness of the crayfish just right – if you were to team this with one of our favourite wines, the Gruner Veltliner Friendly Laurenz V then I think you would agree a match made in heaven, maybe next time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chester Fields also viewed

 

Been to The Chester Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing