We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience all-round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chester Fields

The Chester Fields
Ranked #45 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience all-round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have often driven past this restaurant, before trying it out one evening. The menu is varied, with a French leaning; the food and bar drinks are good, and the service was excellent !

We've been back at lunchtime since, and will certainly be back again !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnZUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    210
    127
    60
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Becoming part of the Cheshire set?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good mix of people here - there is a lot of competition on the A56, and Chester Fields is holding its own :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaviesHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place! No plonkers here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We tried the Chesterfields on our friends recommendation! The place was very busy and the service was excellent. Young lad who attended to us in the bar area was very good and the food was great. May sound strange but I particularly liked going to the toliet - where episodes of Only fools and Horses were on! Excellent touch! Will definitely be returning with a bigger party for my birthday in a few weeks time! I now have a new favourite restaurant! Paul

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank xpauledwardsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic location- food could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Chester Fields overlooks farmland in the Cheshire countryside just outside Chester. The seating area to the rear is stunning on a warm June evening such as the one my wife and I visited on. Inside it is very pleasant, the bar stocks a varied and unusual range of drinks from around the world.
The food is good without being brilliant. I had the Sunday roast of beef. The portion size is good, the vegetables fresh and correctly cooked and the potatoes crunchy! However the roast beef I found to be served very thinly cut and when cut it became stringy. In fact on my last visit which also happened to be on a Sunday I had the beef which I had similar issues with. My wife had the home made Fish & chips. She described the fish in batter as too greasy for her liking and the huge chunks of potato so wanting to become chips were undercooked on the inside. The staff are alright, friendly but very young and lacking in a degree of customer service and a tendency to say just a little too much.
I really really want to love this place if only for the incredible location but my wife says she would not return so I guess I won't be either. I may try and get her in there for lunch on a weekday.
Great potential..but in my view not quite there..yet!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SilvioDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Fresh food. Beautiful views. Friendly staff. and austrian lager. Can't ask for better. Will be bsck.

Helpful?
Thank Thomson101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chester Fields also viewed

 

Been to The Chester Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing