We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the whole a good experience”
Review of Revolution Chester

Revolution Chester
Ranked #98 of 558 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Enjoy yourself in the newly re-furbished surroundings of Revolution Chester. Whether you're in for a business lunch, a day out with the family, some tasty cocktails, or a full blown party then this is the place for you! Serving food from 11am including burgers, pasta, pizza, flatbreads and much more as well as a great kids menu!
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“On the whole a good experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Visited with the kids on a Friday lunchtime. Food was good and tasty- different to the usual pub grub which is refreshing. The only downside was that the service was a bit slow even though there were only two other tables eating, on the other hand the staff were very pleasant and friendly

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revschester, Manager at Revolution Chester, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Kate,

Thank you for your feedback, I have passed this onto the management team and we are working on improving service standards which includes the speed of service! I am glad you enjoyed the food and found the staff friendly.

Kind Regards

Sarah Jackson
Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    64
    18
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great refurb.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Called in with the kids on a trip to Chester. Has been refurbished since our last trip. Love the new look, family friendly but seems quite grown up at the same time! Enjoyed the food, kids menu good and also ate free, which we didn't realise until we paid. Nice atmosphere and friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revschester, Manager at Revolution Chester, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Tina,

Glad you like the New look! we agree it now looks a lot more family friendly!
we are continually striving to make it more family friendly and from the comments I have read so far, it seems like we are heading in the right direction. Thanks again for the review

Kind Regards

Sarah Jackson
Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent the day in Chester with my sisters and decided to have lunch at Revolution. Good decision! Although pretty quiet (it was around 1400 hrs when we ate!) the staff were very pleasant and efficient. We had the £5.00 meal offer and were not disappointed. I had the BBQ chicken wrap and salad (hard to find places that serve a lovely salad but this was spot on) and the wrap was very tasty. Will definitely return and will recommend to friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tigger01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revschester, Manager at Revolution Chester, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi tigger01_10,

Thank you for the review, I'm glad you like our side salad! I would recommend when your next in Chester coming in and trying our new food menu, It has had some great reviews!

Kind Regards

Sarah Jackson
Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“There's been a Revolution at Rev.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

No seriously there has been a complete revolution at Rev.
We've been away a while and the refurb is spectacular. The last time we were in a similar Bar was Manley, Australia, "bikini's, sandals and sand welcome".Foregate Street doesn't have the surf but it does have serious footfall that should now check out Chester's new gem. My previous review commented on it being a place for the young at heart, this refurb will doubtless appeal to the more discerning client. It's bright airy and not one mass expanse as was previously the case, looks ideal for private party's now. Tuesday nights service was flawless, great up selling, check back and food. Clearly table service is the new order of the day. The light show is spectacular, to the rear of the restaurant bar area. Love the new encaustic floor on the right as you enter.
What ever your age give it a go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revschester, Manager at Revolution Chester, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Andy,

Thanks again for another glowing review! we always look forward to reading the reviews from you! I'm glad you like the new refurbishment! we are constantly trying to improve the atmosphere and service standards, so its nice to know we are on the right track!

Kind Regards

Sarah Jackson
Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really bad service”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Went into this place on Friday 6pm, walked through the door, the place was set out as a restaurant, service was zero to none existent, no one doing front of house, 2 girls chatting away at the bar and didn't even acknowledge the fact that my friend and I were there, barman too busy doing nothing to say hello, sat ourselves down then 10 minutes late we decided to leave as we still did not get any service. Surely in these times service is everything, if you cannot do that right you do not deserve my custom!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sean8997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Revolution Chester also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Revolution Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing