We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather expensive for what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I booked a twin room, when visiting relatives with my sister, and rather unusually these days, that's what we got - 2 single beds! The room was clean but basic and the bathroom was rather below average (the sink took ages to empty and when I lifted the plug it was obvious that I was probably the first person to do this for many years - it was completely gunked up!) - the same with the shower over the bath!.
The drinks in the bar were expensive and I was served a medium glass of wine and charged for a large glass! Over £11 for a glass of wine and a pint of Stella!!
Overall, the hotel is dated and tired and built in a square - so you have to walk miles to your room!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fandsparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear fandsparr,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received accommodations and service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed during Chester Races and had an executive room. The staff on reception were pleasant and helpfull and the checkin was quick and easy. We had lunch in the bar which was fresh and good value for money. However, the room was not as fresh as the lunch, it was old and tired with typical 1980 decor and fixtures. The room did receive one attempt at being modernised but the addition of a huge 40 inch TV on the desk was not our idea of modern. The room had a sofa but this had a hole in it, a coffee table with a burn mark on it and the bathroom was a dark place with no lights over the bath. The large TV was enhanced with digital channels and pay movies but the quality of the picture was poor.
Breakfast was in the dining room which was very nice but as the food was self service it was cold, too much cooked in advance.
The hotel was adequate but not real value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear G_P56_12,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that our staff exceeded your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I apologize the room accommodations you received fell below your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Chester.

Sincerely,


Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Chester Races

Bad site, bad architecture, bad art on the walls. Etc etc. Wouldn't have booked it if I had been in charge of this adventure but you know what? I'd rather stay here where the staff are friendly and atmosphere is welcoming than the last two 4* hotels I was in where they were stuffy and rude.

Holiday inn, your staff selection and training must be superb.

Fantastic, sorry for even considering your brand ever before..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed for one night in May 2012 with a group of friends. Hotel room perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly.
Had lunch and breakfast both perfectly acceptable. One thing to note though. If you are on room only and wish to purchase a breakfast do so on check in as it is £3 cheaper(£10 as opposed to £13) (you will be issued with a voucher). Not sure why they have this system. Seems a little perculiar to me. Pool and spa area well maintained. Gym has machines for aerobic workout as well as freeweights. Slightly cramped though if too many people using the gym.

5 minute taxi ride to Chester at a cost of £5 ish

Overall a perfectly decent hotel as you would expect from Holiday Inn

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Nice Hotel not much near but the staff were really helpful sorting out meal vouchers and Chester zoo tickets for us. We were celebrating our anniversary and thought it was a lovely touch to have a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room and also a room upgrade, thankyou to all the staff at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for a total of four nights recently and were very satisfied. The room had a normal size double and two little beds for the children. Linen was fine and bed was comfortable. We were a long way from reception but preferred this as very little corridor noise. The staff were professional and friendly. The only problems we encountered were lack of heating in the bathrooms. They told us that all their heated towel rails were too hot so had been switched off. The room safe didn't work and needed resetting - this was done quickly.

The breakfast was very good, great choice and an excellent juicer. The sauna and pool were good too. You do need a car to be here but it's location is great for Chester and North Wales. I would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: At the end of a corridor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here for 18 days and was impressed with the patience of the staff (I was traveling with 28 teenagers), there level of service was impeccable, just one or two that were boardering on the rude and arrogant side. I wasn't going to let those two ladies get the better of me however and bring down my thoughts on the rest of the staff, who were wonderful on every level! Rooms were clean, food was pleasant and location was perfect for a large group of teenagers!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,733 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £59 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing