We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
ashby
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Turned up late at this hotel after a long drive & my heart immediately sunk when I saw the drab 1970s building. "Not another dreary decaying hotel" I thought but I was wrong.
On entering I was met with a clean, modern and efficient reception which was backed up with a recently refurbished room.
Widescreen TV, power shower, mini bar, settee & desk - even a complementary Mars bar.
After a good (and quiet) nights sleep, I was again surprised by the first rate dining room & breakfast buffet. Even though the restaurant was busy with tourists (I saw 3 coaches parked outside), there were spare tables, a great choice of food (which was frequently topped up) and busy staff clearing away (one of my biggest annoyances).
Checking out was also quick & faultless.
All for £69 per night - this really puts the budget hotel chains to shame
It also shows what can be done when you have good, motivated and well trained staff
So in summary despite the looks from the outside, this is a good place to stay

Room Tip: The rooms in the low 400 range (eg 401) seem to be the ones recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farfromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    424
    222
    75
    60
See reviews for
276
338
35
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here on a weekend away with my partner and it was very nice indeed. I will try to make my assessment fair:

Stuff That Needs Improvement:
- Extractor Fan in bathrooms; the fan in the bathroom was on all the time. I can obviously understand why (you need to keep it well ventilated) but there was no facility to switch it off. When I went to bed, I phoned Reception who explained that it is the case in all of the rooms - you can't turn it off. So, throughout our stay, there was a constant background humming from the bathroom. It wasn't too intrusive, but was at times a little distracting.

- Spa access: It closes at 8pm (which I don't understand: they don't have life guards - not a criticism; most places don't - so why can't they just allow later access?) and in the day time it sometimes wasn't available to guests (e.g. on Sundays, or during fitness classes, etc.). Not a huge problem, but worth noting. Also, "spa" isn't really as I would describe it: a good sized pool, a small but pleasant bubble pool, and then a seperate sauna located in the respective changing rooms.

However, these are minor quibbles really didn’t matter. The essentials were covered perfectly:

Stuff That Was Really Quite Good:
- Good sized rooms
- Quite - no disturbances from other guests
- Clean environment
- A great breakfast buffet!
- Fantastic staff

These are the things that, for me, really make a break good – and on this occasion, they did.

I would like to make mention of the latter: the staff. We were only there for two nights, but the staff were all wonderful – helpful, informed, attentive, polite; a real pleasure.

I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room - we got one on the very end of the corridor just by asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from spending 5 happy days here. We have stayed in many Holiday Inns and we know we can always expect the bedroom and bathroom to be spotlessly clean and the food well cooked and more than satisfying for any traveller. Always a good choice so would highly recommend.
Surprisingly the basin in room 128 was badly cracked, so we informed the receptionist who asked us if we would like to be moved, but as we had already unpacked we decided to stay put, after all we were only going to use the basin to wash our hands and clean our teeth! Apparently they weren't aware of the problem with the sink so it was just as well we reported it.
On the negative side:
1. There are no instructions for the t.v. as to how many channels we could use and lying on the bed to view is uncomfortable (namely an aching neck) as the tv is on a low chest of drawers, and you can't really view it from the pillow without raising one's head - take note Holiday Inn it really does need to be higher.
2. Despite the hotel having a super pool and gym facilities we found the latter for ourselves, no mention made of it on our arrival.
Overall we had a good stay and felt it was excellent value for money so I would award this hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamorgangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed at the holiday Inn for 2 nights with my husband on a short break.
I had emailed the hotel previously and asked if we could have a room on the ground floor as I am 30 weeks pregnant and I got an email back within a couple of hours advising that it had been sorted.
We arrived at the hotel at around 1.30pm (despite check in being at 2.30pm) and even though we were early our room was ready for us which was a pleasant surprise!
The room was clean and spacious, but a little dated. The bathroom could had done with sprucing up but again was clean and spacious.
We had dinner in the hotel on the first night in the restaurant, and the food was lovely. We had a 3 course as booked as part of a package and the choices we could have had were plentiful. Portions were good without being too much, and could upgrade to anything off this 'set' menu for £2.50 which was reasonable.
Breakfasts were buffet style and there was plenty on there to choose from. The only complaint I had with this was one morning there was no croissants, and coffee was not served in pots on your table, you had to wait for a server to bring you more if you wanted it.
Drinks in the bar were more expensive (a pint, small wine and lemonade about £9) but then it is a hotel so you expect this. The one thing we did notice is that there was a lot of complaints about the food in the bar, either being cold or not right or slow service, so this did put us off eating there on the second night.
We also used the pool in the hotel, and had no complaints. It was clean and spacious, the jacuzzi was lovely.
All in all for what we paid we had no complaints. The staff are lovely and welcoming and will help out with anything you need to ask.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the ground floor which was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolapops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

we got a deal with co op travel. Tickets for Chester zoo and an overnight stay, seven of us, three adults and four kids. two age seven, an eleven year old and a thirteen year old. Good ay at the zoo except for the rain. The hotel was good. Very friendly staff. The pool and gym were very good. The grounds look beautiful, it was a shame the weather wasn't at it's best for sitting out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here with friends last weekend and have to say that the experience was poor. We have stayed on other Holiday Inn hotels and found them to be friendly, reasonably priced and in fairly good condition. This one is shabby and in desperate need of some tlc. The drinks prices were hugely inflated at £20 for 4 drinks and the heat of the water when having a shower was best described as tepid. All in all very disappointing. Wouldnt recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Clare M,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. It is disappointing to hear that our hotel fell below your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience the unusual condition of the shower caused you. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we thank you for your feedback and I assure you that the valuable comments you've shared will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel itself is cheap and cheerful but sadly let down by extortionate bar prices. In addition a 10% service charge is added to the bar bill, we were told on challenge that this was discretionary but most people will not notice. This is not a consistent Holiday Inn policy as we have stayed at others recently but maybe the Holiday Inn chain think tourists will pay a premium in Chester. Sadly we wont be returning. Four small glasses of wine was over twenty pounds this is very poor value for money. If you do stay here use it as a base and eat and drink in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Karen R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Holiday Inn Chester South. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments regarding bar prices. Our pricing is comparable to other hotels in the area, and in most cases cheaper than many of our competitors. Whilst there are some wines that come at a premium, a glass of our most expensive wine by the glass is £7.80 for 250ml, we also offer bottles of wine at under £17.

Regards

Darren Cooke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing