We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable enough but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here with friends while enjoying a weekend in Chester. We didn't really spend any time in the hotel but the rooms that we had (Executive) were comfortable enough but a little tired and need updating. Compared to other hotels in the area the HI is an ugly building on a dual carriageway so don't book this if your looking for a cosy, romantic getaway. Perfectly acceptable though for visiting the city if you want somewhere to keep your head down while being n the city centre all day.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank robatshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times on business and find it just a bit hit & miss.

The staff are all very friendly and I have to say the cleanliness of the room (although dated) really was excellent.

My gripes would be:

1- Shower gel/Shampoo not replenished on second day of stay.
2- My shower head was too low so had to duck to wash my hair. (I am not that tall either!).
3- The horrendous cost of the WIFI. £16 for 24 hours is not acceptable nowadays (or £5 for one hour & £10 for 4 hours). The hotel is also in a 3G desert so I was unable to use my phone for the internet so was forced to pay for WIFI.

Despite the above I did have a good nights sleep on both days (which I guess is an important factor) but I am unsure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel in a family room and having stayed at numerous Holiday Inn's previously I had a reasonable expectation of what to expect. The rooms were of a decent size and the public areas, including the bar, swimming pool and restaurant were clean and modern. What makes this particular holiday inn stand out above other similar hotels were the staff. From arrival at reception, to the bar staff and the staff at breakfast, we were made to feel very welcome. Special mention should go to the head barman, who made our children feel at home during our stay and was extremely pleasant.

The hotel is a short distance outside Chester but is perfect for accessing the town and the major road networks nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chopper1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked a room here via expedia for one night. Upon arrival late Saturday evening we were given a twin room, and were told that there was not a double room available in the whole hotel.
I had checked just the night before and there was, yet nothing of any nature was offered, and even though this was our wedding anniversary weekend single beds it was to be.
Disappointed at response, but pay cheap get cheap I guess.
Location is not too pleasant out of town on edge of bypass, and the restaurant was expensive so travel would be required if wishing to eat out. Better inside than out is all than can be said positively.

Room Tip: Make sure you put in request for specific room in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsACM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear MrsACM,

Thank you for writing a review about our property. I am pleased you found the location of our hotel satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest apology for the room issues you experienced. I appreciate you bringing this into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I booked a twin room for myself and a colleague for one night and paid £74 for the room, unlimited Wi-Fi and breakfast - a bargain, I thought! Imagine my surprise when I also discovered that the rate includes use of a lovely little health club, with gym, sauna, spa pool and a swimming pool too - absolutely superb.
The hotel itself is situated on a main arterial road which feeds straight into the heart of Chester, but also has excellent links to North Wales, Liverpool (via the Mersey Tunnel) or Manchester on the M56. The exterior is a little dated, but inside (as with all Holiday Inn hotels) the building is fresh and modern; immaculately presented and very clean. The room was spacious and included a 32" LG Full HD television with Freeview - a very welcome surprise! The bathroom was equipped as per normal (shower over bath, loo, sink with enormous mirror etc) and the beds were beautifully comfortable (with a choice of pillows from the 'menu', firm, soft, down or memory foam etc).
Both my colleague and I had a great night's sleep and then enjoyed a superb buffet breakfast in the 1st floor restaurant (this costs about £12 per person normally, so is a bargain if you book it as part of your room rate). It's all you can eat, so after a plate of Full English, some croissants/pain au chocolat, some fruit and a yogurt, I was set up for the day (until 4pm, it turned out)!
All in all, a superb little hotel in a convenient location, very clean, friendly staff and extremely good value!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife had an important meeting to attend in Chester on Saturday morning. Needed to drop her in the city early, then return to the digs until lunch.
The hotel was alive and very vibrant as the England soccer match was on tv in the bar area!! a noisy but very friendly bunch could be heard cheering our national team on!! Our room was spacious, clean, bright and well equipped. The bed was huge, and with loads of pillows looked extreemly inviting!! Wtil dumped our cases, and returned to the bar area to forridge for food which we were told could be bought there or in the 1st floor restaurant until late late. They didn't disappoint! Gourmay fish, at ten o'clock - 5 stars sir!!. My wife needed to dine early on Saturday am.. A continental mini-brekki was prepared by the night staff, to be ready at 07:00. She was very impressed not only with the timing, but the food itself was exactly what she would have chosen too. Thankyou so much.
Definately use this place again. No problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Turned up late at this hotel after a long drive & my heart immediately sunk when I saw the drab 1970s building. "Not another dreary decaying hotel" I thought but I was wrong.
On entering I was met with a clean, modern and efficient reception which was backed up with a recently refurbished room.
Widescreen TV, power shower, mini bar, settee & desk - even a complementary Mars bar.
After a good (and quiet) nights sleep, I was again surprised by the first rate dining room & breakfast buffet. Even though the restaurant was busy with tourists (I saw 3 coaches parked outside), there were spare tables, a great choice of food (which was frequently topped up) and busy staff clearing away (one of my biggest annoyances).
Checking out was also quick & faultless.
All for £69 per night - this really puts the budget hotel chains to shame
It also shows what can be done when you have good, motivated and well trained staff
So in summary despite the looks from the outside, this is a good place to stay

Room Tip: The rooms in the low 400 range (eg 401) seem to be the ones recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,472 reviews
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £62 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing