We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Edgar House(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Oddfellows(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveller rating
321
511
264
87
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
511
264
87
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridebusiness parkswimming poolexecutive roombar areahealth clubsofa bedchanging roomsfamily roomreception staffbit datedwould stay againcity centrebar pricesevening mealleisure facilitiesminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

staff great but the very big but stayed at a lot of hotels in my time but this one takes the worse vote for us, listening to next room having s..x at 2am and 4am realy isnt good that was fairly quiet after the arguments you could hear upstairs with some people at half 2 in a morning fri-sat nights, the walls are so thin its unbeleivable you hear everything and when i mean everything its just that, food was fair but well overpriced cold burger and 8 chips im an adult not a child, wife hated the place . so if you intend not to sleep as we didnt both nights fri-sat stay well clear of this place, poor excuse for an overpriced business park hotel.

Room Tip: go elsewhere...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiggylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Dated room with no mobile phone reception.
Shower temperature adjustment faulty and the washbasin seemed to have been painted over with some type of gloss paint which was cracked and peeling. Definitely not up to the standard I would expect of a HI.
The receptionist was responsive when I provided feedback and immediately offered compensation.
Staff were pleasant and helpful - but I will avoid this hotel in the future, despite it's convenient location for business travel by car.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydaysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear lazydaysWales,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations specifically with some of the amenities in the room. I am also glad that the staff responded to your concern immediately. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stay here & use the park & ride to get in to Chester - takes about 20 minutes & costs £2 per person return. Despite the out of town location this hotel is always busy so book in advance. Breakfast can get very busy at about 9am so get in 15 minutes earlier & bag the best seats. Reception staff very helpful - if you are celebrating an event let them know - they usually come up trumps somehow - nothing is too much trouble for them!

Room Tip: Executive rooms & ask for a quiet room - bit of a walk to the far end of the property but worth it for a quiet night!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilLDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We often stay in IHG chain hotels as we are priority club holders. Our stay was to enjoy a one night stay celebrating our wedding anniversary and a shopping trip for Chester. Outside of the hotel was as other reviews have said but we where expecting that having read up on them.

Checked in at 2pm and room was ready for us then, on the ground floor quite a long walk but as it was just the two of us this was fine and any raised areas had a ramp so those with wheelchair/pushchairs would be fine.

Room was as expected, plenty of space with a sofa and very clean and comfortable. We decided to have a snack and a drink in the bar area. Service was very slow, one staff member was getting change talking at reception, a staff member go to the side door by the bar and not appear, then another young girl came to the bar to prepare drinks for a room service tray but did acknowledge my waiting husband and called someone over.

We paid £17 for a small glass of wine, pint and a sharer platter with pork pie, scotch egg, bread, pickles. We were pleased with the quality of the food although for what we paid we expected a bit more.

Disappointed again with bar service late evening, charged £16 for a double gin and tonic and Baileys, no lime offered with the gin or the drinks offered to be taken over to the table. Bar man made no conversation and prices way to high for what we received.

To get into Chester we walked to the park and ride near the hotel and paid £7 for a taxi back late evening.

I asked reception to take off the 10% service charge on check out which she did but I was not asked why which I would have explained my reasons. Overall pleased with reception staff, feel more training needed for the bar staff.

We ate dinner and breakfast in town. Breakfast was offered at £9.95 each at a discounted price if we booked on the day we arrived.
Didn't get the chance to try out the pool facilities, I would stay here again but not use the bar. Maybe next time the Express Holiday inn so we are in town.
Very clean and well maintained interior which is why my rating is 4.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Came away with Garth, while he was at work in nearby Hollywel.

Spent the time exploring Chester, great city with some wonderfull buildings and streets to explore.

The hotel has a good location with a main bus route into town just outside. The number 1 runs regularly past the front of the hotel and also the park and ride is very close, it cost £2 return to get into town. Cheaper than any car parking in town.

The bar is clean and and nice to relax at. Had breakfast both morning which was very nice and plenty of choice.

My only comment is the cost of the wifi in the hotel which seems to be very costly and not available free in the bar like most hotels.

But over all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews