We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing to complain about...”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel to break up the journey to chester zoo. On arrival there was plenty of car parking spaces, with a petrol station next door. Yes it did look a bit dated but once indoors I thought the place had character. There is a big garden in the middle which was well kept and appealed to me. The bed was comfy and we had a good nights sleep. At breakfast the male host was very attentive and the buffet was alot better than other places I have stayed. The cleaners are also friendly to, greeting you in passing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    433
    228
    77
    62
See reviews for
283
348
37
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

One night stop over on the way to the races in Chester. You really do get what you pay for and at £40 for two people in a double room I can't complain about the standard of this hotel. Not the most modern décor hotel looks a bit forbidding from the outside. Staff pleasant and helpful - especially bar waiter. We didn't appreciate being asked to pay for breakfast 3 times but obviously just a staff mix up. Room was clean bed was comfortable. Did exactly what it said on the tin !

Room Tip: Remember you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudiemackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Trudiemackem,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am pleased to hear about the compliments you had for our hotel and on the other hand I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate you letting us know about your concerns. This helps us understand areas we can improve upon.

Thank you for your feedback as it will help us strive to become a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip.Looks a bit tired from the outside but décor ok inside.Room adequate,bar pleasant enough.Breakfast a bit bland but plenty of it.Gym & Swimming Pool a real bonus.Biggest asset are the staff who couldn't be more helpful & pleasant.In summary an ideal place for a couple of nights whether on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich62Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear rich62Cambridge,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback we receive and use it to help develop the product and the service we offer.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Our aim is to make sure that we provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests and I am glad that you were satisfied with the services and amenities that we have to offer.

Thank you again for staying with us, and taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you continue to choose us in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed here before and it was absolutely fine, but not so this time. It appears this hotel is a tale of two halves, and dependant on the room allocated depends on the quality of the stay. On arriving the hotel is fine. Plenty of parking, pleasant staff, nice reception area and bar etc. We stayed in room 304. Yes it was bank holiday weekend, but we had the room booked for some weeks just for 1 night to break up a weekend away in Wales.
It is a really long trek down endless tired corridors to get to rooms, but we knew that from staying before. Our room was to put it politely tired. The room had an aroma about it that suggests it may be closed up at quieter times ( I would hope this is the case). Whilst initially appearing clean, upon further inspection it only just came up to scratch.
Rusty nails on fitting in bathroom, bathroom floor looked a bit grim, carpet in need of a clean, pictures fixed on walls but not straight, wooden shutters that only just shut, the list goes on. It was only in the morning while making the bed that I noticed a champagne cork and used milk carton on the floor just under the edge of the bed which were not ours. If I had seen this when arriving, I would of asked to change room.
I am not normally one to complain like this, but I do feel that we had a below par room. When going to breakfast, we passed other rooms with doors open which were a million miles better than ours - much nicer furnishings and decor, and I'm guessing they were probably the same price as ours.
The ground floor rooms can be noisy from the rooms above, especially when kids running around upstairs, but that is to be expected in hotels.
The good points are definately the breakfast and the pool, which is why we booked to stay here. Breakfast is really good and the pancake machine won votes from our party. We followed breakfast with a swim in pool, which was nice, although would have been better if the jacuzzi had been working.
We will not be staying again unless we are guaranteed an upgraded room which is a shame because this hotel has lots to offer but for the price should do better.We use Holiday Inn regularly because of the reliability but this time we were disappointed.I am guessing the target market is business travellers, who probably get a better experience.
Also, although nothing to do with the hotel I hope, we saw the biggest rat ever wondering around the car park, which did little to improve our stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear tracey b,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Kindly accept our sincerest apology over the room conditions. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as was attending a 50th party in Chester itself so the price quoted on the Internet seemed to be very reasonable. Arriving at the hotel the outside did look quite worn but on entrance the reception itself was quite modern and clean. Check in was quick and then we were off to the room which I have to say was at the end of a maze of corridors which seemed to go on forever. The carpets were vey worn and the decor of the corridors was vey plain and had no character but we were soon at the room itself. As for the room it was clean and tidy and was very spacious and had the normal tea and coffee making facilities and I have to say a very comfatable stay was had that evening. We had to get away early next day so do not have a chance to try the breakfast but for a reasonable priced stay just outside Chester it's not too bad.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear John R,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the carpet. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

From the outside, the hotel doesn't look that inviting. However, looks can be deceptive and once inside, things change for the better!

Despite being busy when we arrived, we were dealt with by reception staff quickly and pleasantly. We had room 404 (an executive double) which was quite a way from reception, but it was very quiet.

The room was perfect; plenty of space, including a sofa. A large TV, free wi-fi, bathrobes and a mini fridge (expensive! - but at least we could put the drinks we bought off site in there to keep cool!). Tea and coffee facilities were provided along with biscuits and a small chocolate bar each morning.

The bathroom was fine, not massive but clean and with a nice, hot, powerful shower.

Bed was comfortable, with a selection of pillows on request (hard or soft, synthetic or down!)

There is a leisure suite on site, with a fully equipped gym and pool (but only a max. depth of just over 1 metre) and a jacuzzi spa. Disappointingly the saunas are separate in the changing rooms, so no chance to sit with your other half. Towels are available at reception and the place was clean and well maintained.

All the staff seemed very friendly and helpful.
Location is handy - only about 3 miles south of Chester centre. There is a bus stop just opposite the hotel which runs at least every half hour. If you miss the last bus back (around 23:30, then there's change to be had from £8 in a black cab).

We didn't eat in the restaurant or drink in the bar so I can't comment on this.
A 12 noon check out made sure we weren't rushed on the morning of departure.

For the quality received, the rates are good - especially compared to what seemed like very expensive rooms right in the heart of the centre, So being a couple of miles out was a small inconvenience to deal with for the value received at the hotel.

I would certainly stay here again when visiting Chester again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just stayed at the Hotel for the weekend, which we enjoyed very much. Stayed with a group of friends (13 in total) one of whom was celebrating her 70th birthday. The hotel presented her with a bottle of champagne which we really did not expect, and at the evening in question they supplied some party hats and streamers and balloons, a very nice touch. We spent some time in the swimming pool which was OK, but unfortunately not quite deep enough for a comfortable swim. Being 3 miles out of Chester and nothing of note anywhere near the Hotel there is a ring and ride closeby which costs £2 return to Chester and solves the problem of trying to park in Chester. This ride was free for OAP's until recently but that no longer applies and now it costs all adults the same price.
Overall I could not really fault the Hotel, apart form the fact that the evening meals were a bit pricey. To avoid this you would need to drive into Chester for a meal as the ring and ride stops around 6.30pm. The staff of course were all very helpful as they always are in Holiday Inns.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117 which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdave333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,405 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing