We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chester South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business, from check in to when I left the staff were very friendly and attentive. Spacious and very comfortable room. Had dinner and the food was good. Overall a good hotel. The only problem I had was at there was no phone reception while in my room.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank skill39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    219
    74
    59
See reviews for
268
327
35
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taubate, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The family room was ideal for our stay with my 2 young children following a trip to Chester zoo (only about 10 minutes away) Every single member of staff was friendly, efficient and professional. The food was great value for money (we opted for room, breakfast & dinner for only £70.50) the breakfast in particular was excellent. With check out not till 12 O clock we could enjoy a swim in the hotel pool before checking out, the hotel provides towels so you don't have to travel home with wet ones you have brought.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hartley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalluf
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night of Chester Rocks. The staff made us feel very welcome and one in particular went out of her way to help us. The rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this hotel and use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights for personal reasons. The hotel is close to the 'park and ride' so it is easy to go to Chester without taking the car.

The pool and fitness areas are a real plus point for our family with two girls who swim like fishes.

The down side was the dinner arrangements are let down by the billing. The food is good both at dinner and breakfast but there are not enough staff around to sort out problems. The bill was incorrect on both occasions, the second time it took nearly 45 minutes to sort out and in the end we had to leave it untill the morning and checkout. not good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear susan h,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Chester South. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with my auntie, uncle and cousin for the Chester Rocks Festival. It was in perfect location, straight off the motorway and 7 minute drive away from the racecourse and city centre.
Staff were friendly and actually seemed genuinely interested in us and our stay.
Stayed bed and breakfast: buffet breakfast was clean and of good quality. Not much of a selection but extremely good food nonetheless.
Rooms were clean and presentable. Quite a bit of a walk to get to our room but I'm not complaining, a good way to wake up in the morning.
Staff were more than happy to arrange for a taxi to get us to the festival and always happy to go the extra mile.
Pool and gym were good, cleanliness of the changing rooms and bathrooms were exceptional.
This hotel was the icing on the cake for my birthday weekend, would definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night when going Chester races. Hotel is well situated just off the motorway but only a 5 min taxi drive into Chester centre and next door to a BP service station. The hotel is nice, the reception is large and the staff were friendly. Check in was easy and a good price at £90 b&b for 2 adults on races weekend. The room was as expected, comfy bed and spacious. Breakfast buffet was good, food was arm and attentive staff meant nothing was left to go cold.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Been there with National Holidays with friends and husband. We stayed just one night, but we had a very tasty 3 course meal in the evening and a very good breakfast with hot English breakfast, pancakes........
The room was very nice, modern style. With Mini bar, iron board and iron, trousers press, little space to hang your cloths. Great big Flatscreen TV. It was very clean and nice decorated. The bed was very comfy, the only downside, the room was cold and through the air con we couldn't get it warm.
Otherwise a great hotel, really nice to recommend it. A gym and sauna and hot tub and pool are there, too. so don't forget to take your swim gear. We did and we bought just one by Primark to enjoy the Spa area.

Room Tip: We had room no 407, that was very nice. only 1 floor up form Reception ground 3. Our friends had 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing