We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Value Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Chester overnight as we toured the area. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, the price was excellent. The motel was only about 5 minute drive into the township for shops and restaurants. We were staying whilst a large part of England was experiencing a heat wave and the air conditioning was more than welcome and made our stay such an enjoyable experience. Would highly recommend this hotel and their chain of hotels if you are travelling on a budget as we are for several months. The spaciousness makes the holiday one of pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chester South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

another lovely stay at the holiday inn south .fantastic room and great service. I can not fault this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone family or couples. It is the third time we have stayed here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirraljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend and were very pleasantly surprised at what good value this hotel represents. Chester can be quite expensive to stay, but this hotel was not expensive at all. The room was quiet and decently appointed (we were in one of the modern rooms off to the other side of the building from the main group of rooms). The food was very good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the health club but the fact that it had one at this price point was surprising. The bar had a nice outside area of grass in which we enjoyed some of the summer sun. Taxis are around £5 into Chester city centre (£7 at night) and it takes less than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: 255-230 are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This Hotel is approximately 2 miles from Chester town centre.

However the Taxi ride is approximate £6, and the park and ride is walkable at £2 per person return.

We found the hotel to be quiet and the room to be in an excellent condition.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reds1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My partner and l have just stayed at the Holiday inn for 2 nights as we wanted to celebrate our engagement in Chester. On arriving Friday afternoon the 2 ladies behind the reception were polite, very friendly and more then helpful. Full marks to them they when out of their way to help us. They made our engagement extra special so a big thank you from us. Rooms were clean, we asked for a quite room which we got. The pool was nice to relax in after our drive. The evening meal was excellent and so was the buffet breakfast. The staff in the Restaurant in the evening and morning work really hard to see that you had every thing that you needed. We will defiantly be staying again and highly recommend this hotel to out friends.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denice573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a late booking to go to Chester races.the hotel is about £10 in a taxi to centre of Chester.the staff throughout the hotel are 1 st class and could not be more helpful.a very nice swimming pool and excellent gym and rooms were ok.the price per night was £110 per room with no breakfast which was too much but racing was on and prices bumped up.the worst thing about hotel was their extortionate rates for wi fi which was £16.99 for 24 hours especially for some reason it was hard to get a mobile phone signal unless you went outside away from hotel.I would not stay here again unless last minute or racing wasn't on but for tourists visiting area it's perfect as its situated handily for road travellers.The only other fault was the breakfast was too expensive as well and most people were going to garage round corner which must be making a packet.

Room Tip: You just have to take what you get we ordered double but got twin
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manonspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed here for business and found the staff were excellent in the hotel - especially Mark in the bar.

Rooms were as expected for a Holiday Inn, the hotel itself is dated but the standard has been kept up.

Food was good and great offers from the hotel on meal packages.

One big plus is that they have in room air-con which in the summer of 2013 is a blessing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £53 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing