We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Location ~ The hotel is ideally located just off A55 and within 4 miles of city centre.

Reception staff ~ Very helpful/polite.

Rooms ~ My room was badly badly in need of an upgrade and fell short of standards I see at other hotels in this group. Being a gold member, I do stay in quite a few. Whole place just felt dated with worn carpets etc.

Breakfast ~ I was on room only and was offered breakfast at the absolutely scandalous rate of £10.95. Come on, how can this be justified? Appreciate its a business but I genuinely struggle to compare it with anywhere else. Frankie and Bennys = £4.95. Wetherspoons large breakfast = £3.99. Little Chef = £6.99. Premier Inn all you can eat = £8.25. What incentive is there at £10.95??

Went into Chester and unfortunately there were road works just up the road. Taxi driver took £13.50 out of my wallet. What a great advert for Chester!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear liamshelley,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations and competitive rates to the area. We apologize if our room accommodations and rates fell below your expectations. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    413
    221
    75
    59
See reviews for
272
333
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked a family room Friday - Sunday with breakfast.

Check in was very smooth and quick with very friendly staff.

The room on entering did smell a little damp but nothing too awful. We were a family of three there were only two mugs and no decaf coffee. I went to reception and got a spare mug and coffee and milk was sent to the room very quickly.

The room was very clean and light. Nice complimentary shampoo, soap and body wash in the bathroom which was also very clean.

The one great thing about holiday inns they have air conditioning in the rooms which was great in the hot weather.

Breakfast was inlcuded, it was 7.30 on weekends which was great due to our early start on Saturday. Staff very friendly on arrival explained how it worked. Breakafast had so much choice it was brillant, Fresh fruit, fruit in syrup, various yoghurts, meat and cheese, Toast, pastriesm juices, cereals and the cooked brekfast was hot with plenty of choice. I had an omlette made fresh which was very good. The highlight for my daughter they have a pancake machine, that was a huge plus for her.

Overall the oocation is very good for travelling, the pool was good as the gym. There is a park and ride bus service into chester across the road from the hotel.

This is the second time we have stayed there and will definately go again.

Room Tip: Family rooms are at the back of the hotel away from the main part. It is a far walk with luggage bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Chester overnight as we toured the area. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, the price was excellent. The motel was only about 5 minute drive into the township for shops and restaurants. We were staying whilst a large part of England was experiencing a heat wave and the air conditioning was more than welcome and made our stay such an enjoyable experience. Would highly recommend this hotel and their chain of hotels if you are travelling on a budget as we are for several months. The spaciousness makes the holiday one of pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

another lovely stay at the holiday inn south .fantastic room and great service. I can not fault this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone family or couples. It is the third time we have stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirraljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend and were very pleasantly surprised at what good value this hotel represents. Chester can be quite expensive to stay, but this hotel was not expensive at all. The room was quiet and decently appointed (we were in one of the modern rooms off to the other side of the building from the main group of rooms). The food was very good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the health club but the fact that it had one at this price point was surprising. The bar had a nice outside area of grass in which we enjoyed some of the summer sun. Taxis are around £5 into Chester city centre (£7 at night) and it takes less than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: 255-230 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This Hotel is approximately 2 miles from Chester town centre.

However the Taxi ride is approximate £6, and the park and ride is walkable at £2 per person return.

We found the hotel to be quiet and the room to be in an excellent condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reds1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My partner and l have just stayed at the Holiday inn for 2 nights as we wanted to celebrate our engagement in Chester. On arriving Friday afternoon the 2 ladies behind the reception were polite, very friendly and more then helpful. Full marks to them they when out of their way to help us. They made our engagement extra special so a big thank you from us. Rooms were clean, we asked for a quite room which we got. The pool was nice to relax in after our drive. The evening meal was excellent and so was the buffet breakfast. The staff in the Restaurant in the evening and morning work really hard to see that you had every thing that you needed. We will defiantly be staying again and highly recommend this hotel to out friends.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denice573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing