We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food, service and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food, service and noisy”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Arrived to front desk staff who were offhand. Restaurant was like a Costa Coffee - soup took 20 minutes to arrive, chicken was dried up and tasteless
3 am woken by hotel checking in whole construction team from road project who guess what drank and kept rest of us up til dawn
Rooms were OK - but lots of better and cheaper hotels in Chester

Room Tip: Dont take a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear alan m,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We are disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you visited the restaurant. We will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future.

I would like to thank you for your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    418
    222
    75
    59
See reviews for
274
336
35
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton Regis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Hotel easy to find. Located beside the park and ride. Plenty of parking, Hotel staff very Helpful and friendly. Room nice and big, with a comfortable bed and nice en suite facilities. Corridors and room above a bit noisy thou. Could easily here other people.

The use of the leisure facilities made my stay, pool, Jacuzzi, gym equipment & changing area very clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast a bit pricey, but good quality selection was available.

Only complaint was we couldn't get a phone or internet signal from our room and we would have had to pay by the hour for internet usage. Where other hotels offer this service for free.

Room Tip: Don't be on the ground floor as it sounds like those above you are moving furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Not a pleasant stay at this Hotel recently. Firstly after booking a room for 3 (Me, My Husband, and Daughter) on arrival we were given a single room and a double, after complaining about this to rude staff i was finally told "I was Lucky!!!!!" they had a room all 3 of us could go in together. We then went for a not so lovely meal, which consisted of hard boiled potatoes, dried out veggie rice, dried out veg and some form of meat in sauces, after asking if there was some more edidble food along with most of the restaurant, we were told other meals could be prepared but at further cost to us!! The highlight of the stay was a trip to the garage next door for a pot noodle!!

Room Tip: Specify clearly a few times you want to be in a room with your family/friends if you do so as the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Amanda L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am truly sorry to hear that the room allocation and food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. We deeply regret that this has negatively affected your visit and we are truly sorry for the lapse in service.

It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends on our way back to Sussex from Liverpool but were very disappointed with the location and the over priced charges for drinks and food. We needed a car to get in to Chester so after visiting the city we decided to eat at the hotel so that we could enjoy a drink but the cost of the drinks were very expensive and the food was disappointing so very glad we decided not to include breakfast as part of the booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ODPAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear ODPAnne,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked through travel, this hotel proved to be ideally located for our sight-seeing trip to Chester. We combined it with a City Tour, and was suprised at the extent of the historical data attached to the City! The hotel was well appointed (swimming pool, gym, etc) and a very good resteraunt. The rooms were pleasant enough, and had all the usual items you would expect. The staff, however, were VERY courteous and friendly, making this trip aone to remember!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were slightly disappointed in this Holiday Inn as it was not up to the standard of other hotels in the group. On our way to our room we passed dirty linen and towels piled up lying on corridor floors which did not make a great first impression. The rooms were clean, but the hotel was in need of a refurbisment. Little things were missing, no pens or paper in the room and what caused us the most trouble (which is not the hotel's fault) was a very bad mobile phone reception - we had to lean into the window to make a call and couldn't even use my phone in the carpark, which if you are on a business trip was very inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear coolsue,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the mobile phone reception. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Apart from the pleasant staff at reception and in the bar area there is little to recommend this hotel. An unexplained aroma in the room was dealt with the following day but the leaking bath plug was not. General maintenance needs to be improved. Service in the restaurant varies but it seems that preference is given to groups rather than individual paying guests. A 3 night stay on a b&b basis could encourage us to eat in the restaurant. The bar serves the restaurant menu and service was swift despite being denied a table in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear ann2307,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing