We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn South Chester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Holiday Inn South Chester”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Excellent 4 day stay. Rooms good, food very good, Use of gym, pool and sauna included in room rental. Fast and friendly service in Restuarant and bar. Special thanks to Danielle, Kay and Paige for their cheerful and helpful service. Recommended if you're looking for somewhere in Cheshire.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    416
    222
    75
    59
See reviews for
274
335
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I attended a conference at this venue with my boss today & our day had not got off to a great start as we'd been stuck in traffic for 3 hours, so were an hour and a half late for the start of our course. Tea & coffee facilities were fine & they were changed regularly through the day but things went downhill from lunch - something which we'd been looking forward to. There was a very poor choice of sandwiches available although we could select white or brown bread, with one serving dish of chips between 16 hungry adults and a dish of limp looking salad. I picked the best of a bad bunch of sandwiches, and was very disappointed on taking a bite to find that my ham had been covered with mustard, yuk! I commented on this at our table & one of the other attendees said that each sandwich had some sort of topping - the cheese had branston pickle & the beef had horseradish. There was no option of 'plain' sandwich to select. I left the room for a knife to scrape my topping off & a member of staff happened to be there, so I commented on the sandwiches, she replied "oh that's a shame" & then asked me if everyone had had enough!
The ladies toilets were obviously not checked "on the hour" as stated on the sign displayed in there, as the machine for paper towels was not working, nor was the hand dryer when we visited at the start of lunch, nor were they working when we revisited 2 hours later.
Unfortunately the only comment form left for us to complete was the course feedback sheet, so no opportunity to point any of this out to staff.
I had always believed that Holiday Inns were meant to be a fairly good quality hotel, but am not so sure after my short visit today.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Audra W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by the serviced you received from our staff. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay with The Holiday Inn Chester South, all the staff were very friendly & helpful. We had the prefect weekend away to celebrate our first wedding anniversary!
The breakfast cooked by Joe Canning was amazing!!
We will definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthac987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Handily placed for our needs . The staff were friendly and attentive however housekeeping was a bit of a let down .Our room needed a good vacuuming and the en suite had toothpaste dried onto the sink aswell as hairs in the shower .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faristhered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear faristhered,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy our hotel accommodations suited your needs. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the unacceptable housekeeping service you have experienced. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the management accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Arrived and was given all the information we needed for our stay, the room was well thought out and everything we needed and was comfortable. I was very impressed with the room, the staff and would highly recommend. When travelling in the uk will be looking at staying at another Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Both the hotel and our room were decorated to a good standard. Bedroom and bed were clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was included in our tariff, and was excellent with a wide choice. We thought that the dinner menu, although very well cooked and presented, was just a little expensive, A choice of a couple of more modest dishes would have been welcome. On arrival, I had to report to Reception the condition of the bathroom basin because in a number of places the plastic coating had blistered. We liked to room location so stayed, but we were nevertheless slightly surprised that the room had been allocated to guests. The pool and fitness suite were all clean and well maintained as were the changing rooms.
We were aware that parking in Chester is very limited and one of the factors that influenced our choice of hotel was because it was only about 10 minutes by frequent No 1 bus into Chester.
In summary the hotel was fine with good Leisure suite and ample parking; and a fast bus service into the centre of Chester. .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My opinion of the hotel is more or less the same as Stellis - typical corporate hotel. We wandered in through a wedding party -a lot of chain smokers including the bride. They were pretty well - behaved and I wish the couple a long and happy marriage. We were in an executive room a long way from the action. As we were meeting friends we did not have evening meals there. On the afternoon we arrived the bar staff were extremely busy coping with the wedding guests. No real ale on offer - no surprise but the only bottled beer was Newcastle Brown. A few beers such as Old Speckled Hen or Black Sheep would have been welcome.

Breakfast was OK. On the Sunday morning the detritus, left near the entrance by the smokers from the previous day, had not been cleaned up. Thus I can only give cleanliness an average score.

Room Tip: A long walk through corridors but if you choose an executive room you will not be troubled by noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing