We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent nights sleep but only good when on offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A decent nights sleep but only good when on offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is not one of the newest additions, by which I mean the decor is somewhat aging. Notwithstanding this, the hotel was clean, the bathroom was spotless. The grouting had seen better days and the shower leaked, but there were plenty of towels provided, so it wasn't too much of an issue.

This was a good deal, so you have to look at this place as value for money. You get what you pay for - a decent 3 star hotel. The breakfast was standard of all Holiday Inns. Not a bad stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Solekka,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and we delighted your enjoyed the Holiday Inn selection.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    413
    221
    75
    59
See reviews for
272
333
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked this through late rooms only a few weeks before our stay so it was good value!!! The staff were very family friendly!! Mark who worked in the lounge bar deserves a mention - nothing was too much trouble and he spent time chatting to us and the children. Some parts of the hotel are looking a bit dated including the pool and our hotel room but everywhere was spotlessly clean so you can look past an old fashioned dressing table for cleanliness and comfort. We ate in the bar for our evening meal and the food was very nice- just a couple of things to note the children's menu is small portions, so when our 8 year old son ordered pizza he was quite disappointed with what came!!! Also just beware that they automatically add a service charge to your bill and although the "kids ate free" the service charge was for the full price of what the bill would have been. I am more than happy to tip if the food and service has been good but I would like tiO choose what I give not have it automatically added on (my only grumble) other than that I would recommend and would stay again!!!

.

Room Tip: The family rooms were very spacious and even though it said 2 sofa beds they had very good wooden si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Kelly R,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

Kids eat Free menu items are available in both our Bar and Restaurant, and we will work on the portion size.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

It was good to be away from the city centre, but a lot of traffic noise from nearby A 55. It was ideally placed for visiting relatives beyond Wrexham, being on the Wrexham road. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was rather a long way to my room, carrying a case, but I had asked for a room with a view and I was put in one which looked out on lawn, trees, hedges and field. Also it was good to be away from any noise in the bar. The breakfast was excellent, but the menu for evening food was not to my liking and quite expensive. A glass of wine was extremely expensive.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Helen J,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

Our hotel is perfectly located for both Wrexham, Chester and the north of Wales.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just come back from a 1 night stay and I have to say i'm glad i'm home.
Welcome and check in was good, hotel looks like something from the seventies, similar to Crossroads ! Locaton is ok for Chester but at the side of a busy road, so you do get some road noise but nothing too much.

Our room (110) was a standard room on the ground floor, the rooms are very typical chain hotel, basic but functional. They are somewhat tired around the edges but clean.

Within 5 minutes of taking off our coats we clearly had a "loving couple" next door ! after various screams and shouts things settled down....oh well....queue a 2nd round about 1 hour later.....jeez...well lets hope they are worn out be the time we get back from dinner...(whoever stayed in room 108, 29/12/13 I applaud your performance !)

2 hours later back in the room, things are quiet next door (thankfully) but we seem to have no inherited a herd of elephants above us !!....we stuck it out for an hour but it was truly dreadful, no way on earth you could sleep through it.

Thankfully a quick visit to reception saw us allocated a new room on the 2nd floor and very pleasingly an upgrade to an executive room. The second room was somewhat improved better décor and had fridge etc etc. unfortunately although much quieter still not quiet.

Breakfast was ok, reasonable selection but not the best spread ever encountered, usual chain hotel fare with the bonus of a pancake maker ! But at £5 a head added to room rate when booking it was good value..be warned to buy on site its £14.95...

There is no free Wi-Fi at this hotel.

After breakfast we thought we spend an hour or so just reading in our room but once again the noise, banging doors, running ?, deliveries etc......by 9am we packed up and left !!

Overall the staff are nice, exec rooms are good, standard ones tired but functional. However the overall noise levels we're dreadful and ruined the whole stay.

Never again Holiday inn South.

Room Tip: Choose an exec room on the upper floor to have any hope of a quiet time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear wazza99,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered during your visit. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Basic but clean hotel and excellent base. A lovely pool for families and breakfast is superb. Only down side is you have to pay for wifi which is really expensive - it should really be free as standard like most hotels I think- but can't complain, everything else was spot on. Very friendly staff too thank you

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queenmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Queenmonkey,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having stayed at the Holiday Inn Chester South recently on a weekend away in Chester, I can highly recommend it.

Conveniently located off the A55 and with plenty of free parking, located a short drive into the centre of Chester or a reasonably cheap taxi fare. Park and ride also located close by for buses into the centre.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I feared the worst as the exterior isn't exactly what you would call attractive, looking more like an old people's home than a hotel! As soon as we went into the building though our fears were completely unjustified as the interior is very clean, welcoming and modern. The reception staff were very polite and helpful and check in was a pain free process.

After going through a maze of corridors we found our room and again were very impressed. I'm not sure if the same can be said of all rooms in the hotel but our room seemed to have been recently renovated and was very large with sofa bed, coffee table, a comfortable (if perhaps slightly small) double bed and wooden shutters which did a great job of blocking out light and road noise. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. The shower provided plenty of hot water and was powerful.

We did not eat at the hotel as the prices seemed somewhat expensive but all the staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be the price of the hotel WiFi which seemed extortionate, especially as many rivals provide this service for free.

Having never really considered Holiday Inn previously, I am very pleased that we did on this occasion. For the price we paid we could not have asked for a better hotel. We shall certainly go back to Holiday Inn Chester South and will also look at other Holiday Inns on future trips around the UK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ben729

Thank you for your five star review and the positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Have just had a 2 night stay here to visit friends and family before Christmas. From the moment we checked in until we left we couldn't fault it. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable my only complaint would be that there was no free wifi, not something I expected, but it didn't overly trouble us. Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice of either a cold continental one or hot full English I also liked that there was a machine that enabled you to cook your own pancakes, something I took advantage of. The only problem I could see was the lack of lifts there was only 1 that opened into the restaurant and it didn't appear to be available for check out as guests were having breakfast, luckily my husband was with me and he carried the luggage down. I would definitely recommend it and will be staying here again. Huge thanks to the staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear faefrank,

Thank you for your five star review and the positive comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

For your future reference, Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards members do currently receive Free Internet in Holiday Inn. From the 1st July 2014, all IHG Rewards Club members will receive Free Internet in all of IHG properties in Europe.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing