We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible evening customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible evening customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived here 26.7.14 , 10 ladies in total for a hen party. We arrived early and the day reception staff were very helpful even allowing us to check in early as our rooms were ready. Rooms lovely and clean, bar area very nice although a bit expensive. Following a day/evening in Chester centre we returned to the hotel and decided to order some good from the 247 menu. Rang through to reception who responded that they couldn't provide us with food as they were dealing with a situation. There had been an incident with a guest and the police had been called. Now we couldn't see what this had to do with ordering a chicken sandwich so we voiced our opinion. The staff relented however there were no baguettes for the chicken baguette! So we asked could we get some fries? The response was no as they can't use the fryers, fair enough so we were offered a microwave curry! Erm no thank you the menu price was approx £10! Afraid that this did leave a sour taste

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Louise1990,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our evening service did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    413
    221
    75
    59
See reviews for
272
333
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 21-24th July whilst attending a course held in the hotel. A bit tired looking in places but spotlessly clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Special mention to Mark the bar supervisor, a more attentive and friendly hospitality professional I've yet meet. Food was very good though opted for bar meals so not sure if restaurant is much different though training course lunch in the restaurant was very tasty.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MonTheWell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I made a reservation as we were going to Chester Races for the day. On arrival we saw some friends in the hotel bar, so why my wife spoke to them I checked in. The check in was speedy and the receptionist was very polite and professional, even recognising that I am a IHG Member.
The building is on three floors and though the room was quite a walk, when I arrived the room was lovely and clean (in fact I think we had been upgraded to an Executive Room without being informed :-) ). The communal areas and the grounds were all very clean and the few staff we met seemed to be very pleasant and helpful.
A good night's sleep was had and in the morning a hearty, all you can eat, full English - before I was taken away to Cheshire Oaks! But for those who prefer a more healthy breakfast there was a good selection of cereals, cold meats and cheese, yoghurts, fruits etc.
Check-out was as speedy and efficient as check-in the [previous day.
I cannot comment on the pool or health club as I did not have time to try them.
The only downside was the price, over GBP130 for the night as it was Chester Races.
Finally, the hotel is easy to find, very convenient for the racecourse and City Centre (about a 5-10 Min taxi ride).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I liked the bar service here and the staff were very helpful, Hayley on the front desk was particularly helpful in sorting out my WiFi woes. Food is also pretty good. The thing that lets the hotel down isthe poor state of repair (it's not as slick as most Holiday Inn's and could do with a refurb) and the gym is somewhat cramped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jon A,

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear you kind words regarding our staff and our bar service. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We have taken note of your comments and we will use these for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The outside looks awful! So much so that we were going to turn around and leave without going in! But inside is a different story . It's a lovely little hotel. The bar area is lovely and they have a small Starbucks in there as well.
They automatically add 10% service charge to bills which I think is a bit cheeky but on the plus side kids eat free which is amazing!
Staff were LOVELY!
Room was nice and spacious even with toddlers bed ...still space for big couch.
Pool too which was a bonus for us. About 90 mins from holyhead and straight road most of the way there so another bonus for us. Only 15 mins from Cheshire oaks too.
Breakfast lovely!
Overall lovely experience but unfortunately outside and entrance driving in really lets them down which is a shame because what's inside is lovely!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
197 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the outside looks a bit drab

Staff were all polite helpful and efficient

Rooms clean tidy and presentable, albeit showing signs of age. The door was a bit tight, reported on checkout as not a big issue

Eat in the restaurant first night, the young lady serving us was cheery polite, and of good humour, and enjoyed a chat about wine.
The food was of good qulaity.

The breakfast was help yourself, and a very good selection to cover all tastes

The Gym was a good size and a good range of equipment

The swimming pool was one you could actually swim in, good size, and very clean and tidy

All in all very efficient, but the property itself needs to be brought up to the quality level of the staff

This tired gem needs a little bit of a facelift

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed on business. Paid for by company.
Check in - quick and easy and friendly.
Bedroom - showing signs of wear and tear
Bathroom - enamel peeling off bath. Limescale on taps and shower. Silicon sealant peeling off. Hairs in bath.
Telephone in room not working. Maintenance sent quickly but unable to repair.
Breakfast was ok.
No free wi fi. Over £10 for 24 hrs.
If travelling with family I normally pay circa £45 per night for bed and breakfast and wifi staying in a Premier inn. This was almost 3 times the price and not the same quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_and_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Linda_and_Phil,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing