We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“60th spa break 5th -6th aug ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chester South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“60th spa break 5th -6th aug ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

just returned from a 1 nite break ! dinner bad & breakfast ! a surprise treat for a friends 60th birthday ! the hotel looks nothing from the outside but inside it is lovely ! staff wer very good ! room was great & food was excellent ! would return again !

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    219
    74
    59
See reviews for
268
327
35
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights mid week in an executive room on the first floor. It was a trek to the room down the longest corridor ever but it was quiet and the room was very good. It was a good size, very clean and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is well situated a couple of miles drive from Chester but is also only a couple of minutes from the park and ride into Chester. It's also also perfectly suited for driving into North Wales (would definitely recommend a scenic drive- it is breathtakingly beautiful).

Check-in and check-out were quick and smooth. We ate in the hotel bar on the Tuesday as they had an Indian buffet on. This was absolutely delicious, and good value and I would definitely recommend it. They also do a Mexican buffet on a Wednesday. The staff in the bar were very friendly and the service was excellent. All the staff we passed around the hotel were friendly in fact.

The pool isn't massive but perfectly adequate and the pool area was clean and tidy and there were exercise classes available if you're feeling energetic! Towels were provided and the changing rooms were clean with plenty of lockers( bring a £1 coin). The jacuzzi was clean and well maintained and very relaxing. The saunas are in the changing rooms so are separate for men and women which may appeal to some but we found a bit anti-social.

We didn't have our little boy with us but it was very family friendly and welcoming so I wouldn't hesitate to come again with him.

Overall, a lovely hotel and a really good break. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

a great hotel nice staff rooms are cosy and very clean if you want a drink from the bar it is a bit expensive but wot the hell 2mins to park & ride & 10 mins to chester if you want to relax after a busy day try the hotel pool & sauna fantastic

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My friend and myself were on a National Holiday weekend away. We had dinner bed and breakfast here. On entering the hotel the staff are very friendly and told us what time tea and breakfast were. We entered our room which overlooked the garden at the back. The room had the usual tea coffee making items, air con, which was needed, shower gel, shampoo and soap in the bathroom. Towels were nice and white and big enough to go around you, not like some places that I have stayed. Our evening meal was really tasty and was throughly enjoyed by us both. We went down to the bar and and had a couple of drinks before deciding we didnt want another drink so decided on a hot chocolate which was very creamy. We went to bed, and once we decided who was sleeping in which bed settled down for the night. We both had a very good nights sleep and found the beds to be comfortable and didnt want to get up. Breakfast was again of high standard with everything you needed for a full breakfast and my friend was really pleased when she saw the pancake machine. All in all a great stay, clean, polite staff and lovely food and if I was in the area again I would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here on 29.7.14 with my husband and 2 small children. We chose this hotel as we were visiting Chester zoo and the package deal the hotel do is very good. We arrived at the hotel at 10am partially checked in and collected our zoo tickets. When checking in my husband was asked provide his bank card and told they would immediately withdraw £160 into a holding account to cover our costs. After our day out we returned to the hotel at roughly 5.30. Evening meal was included and we were booked in for 6pm. The restaurant was lovely and the food very nice. The lady who served us was very helpful with the children's needs and provided a very good service. The night was good. We all had a good sleep and the room we had was spotless with no problems. Back to the restaurant for breakfast. No issues, food was lovely. On checking out we paid our final bill and left. However since we left we discovered that the hotel had taken both the £160 holding fee and the final bill. We then had to spend our further days away £160 short. When we rang the holiday inn customer services they were helpful but told us we would have to wait up to 3 days to get it back. Not good when I have bills to pay and a family too look after. The hotel was lovely but the method of billing has very much put me off staying with holiday inn!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived here 26.7.14 , 10 ladies in total for a hen party. We arrived early and the day reception staff were very helpful even allowing us to check in early as our rooms were ready. Rooms lovely and clean, bar area very nice although a bit expensive. Following a day/evening in Chester centre we returned to the hotel and decided to order some good from the 247 menu. Rang through to reception who responded that they couldn't provide us with food as they were dealing with a situation. There had been an incident with a guest and the police had been called. Now we couldn't see what this had to do with ordering a chicken sandwich so we voiced our opinion. The staff relented however there were no baguettes for the chicken baguette! So we asked could we get some fries? The response was no as they can't use the fryers, fair enough so we were offered a microwave curry! Erm no thank you the menu price was approx £10! Afraid that this did leave a sour taste

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Louise1990,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our evening service did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 21-24th July whilst attending a course held in the hotel. A bit tired looking in places but spotlessly clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Special mention to Mark the bar supervisor, a more attentive and friendly hospitality professional I've yet meet. Food was very good though opted for bar meals so not sure if restaurant is much different though training course lunch in the restaurant was very tasty.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MonTheWell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing