We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 17 August 2014

after reading mixed reviews about this hotel i was a little dubious about what it had to offer us. myself and my young daughter were staying in a twin room. the room was clean, modern-ish and comfortable. all the staff we encountered were polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. they were great with my daughter. we had a meal in the bar as the restaurant was fully book that evening, meal was standard i felt a little over priced for what we received, but as my daughter ate for free as all kids do, it was still a bargain. we really enjoyed using the pool and the spa, it was nice and warm unlike most public pools.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was my long weekend off from work and my wife had also got three bank holidays to take. So we decided to visit Chester. We did the booking through Superbreak.com website and found that this hotel offered a good deal on staying Saturday /Sunday with full English Breakfast and your meal on the Saturday included in the price which for two was very good. You also had the chance to have a meal in the restaurant on the Sunday evening paying £20 per person which was not unreasonable. We set off on the Saturday morning from our home in North Yorkshire and took in Bolsover Castle and the Blue John Caverns on our way to Chester, which was very panoramic and beautiful. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a pleasant member of staff who explained what the hotel offered and took our reservation for the evening meal. She gave us our key card and we made our way to our room. On entering the room it was very nicely presented, being well kept and tidy. we were well pleased with the décor and surroundings. We had time to take in the Spa facilities before our evening meal. The swimming pool spa area was well kept clean towels available and pleasant staff again on hand if you need anything. The pool was very warm and pleasant and as for myself I had a sauna which was very refreshing. After this we went and changed ready for our evening meal in the restaurant. we were shown to our table and was presented with both a food and wine menu. The food menu was very good, we had three courses to choose in our deal and were not disappointed in what we had chosen. The first course my wife went for the homemade soup which was tomato and basil whilst I went for the garlic mushrooms on top of a piece of brioche, both were very good. For our main course my chose the pork loin fillet and I went for a rump steak both were again presented very nicely and was washed down with a nice bottle of white Italian wine which was the only extra we had to pay for. To finish I went or an apple crumble with custard and my wife went for the cheese cake. This was a very enjoyable meal, food presentation very good and the staff were very accommodating. After a very comfy sleep in the twin beds we arose the Sunday morning all set for going to look around Chester. First of all breakfast we went to the restaurant and was shown to our table by a very friendly waiter who again explained the setup of their breakfast system. On offer was continental breads and cakes, cereals, juices, fruit and of course a full English buffet breakfast plus for the children and opportunity for them to make their own pancakes. The food was very good and after eating a whole hearty full English we were now set up for our visit into Chester. At the end of the day we returned to the hotel and again chose to eat in the hotel as the breakfast we had earlier in the day meant we didn't really want any lunch. We had the opportunity of the £20 meal deal offer when we booked, however again the receptionist who was very helpful explained that if we upgraded on the deal to £25 per head that would include three drinks from the bar each. So we chose to do that. Again the meal was vey good. In the morning on Monday after breakfast we set off for home via the Peak District again feeling very satisfied that the hotel we had just spent the weekend in was very good in both terms of comfort and staff attention, if I was asked if I would return to this hotel, then I would have no hesitation in doing so.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelBHemingbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little dated but it's clean, the parking is free, the food is a good standard, the service is good and the staff are friendly and helpful, it's a couple of miles from town centre but there are bus stops close by and the taxi fare is cheap enough. All in all a good hotel

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Clean comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Close to park and ride into Chester.Great to have the fitness centre available on site at no extra charge. would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 997Mark101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stay at the Holiday inn Chester south for business regularly. It wouldn't be my first choice of chain but is very convenient to Chester Business park and also the park and ride, reasonably priced (strangely it is always cheaper through a booking agent than my corporate account) and has a good swimming pool. The food is OK in the restaurant and the breakfast buffet is of a good quality. However, at weekends it tends to fill up with coach parties, stag/hen crowds and is generally very noisy, with people COMING AND GOING ALL NIGHT! This leads to lots of doors banging, creaky floors in corridors, room parties etc. Even with earplugs it is difficult to sleep and there is NO chance of a lie in. It is not unusual for the fire alarm to go off, and to have to turf out into the car park...which I assume is due to idiots smoking in their rooms? The other negative is the ludicrous price of the wi-fi. Not even free in the public areas....

Room Tip: all seem about same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

just returned from a 1 nite break ! dinner bad & breakfast ! a surprise treat for a friends 60th birthday ! the hotel looks nothing from the outside but inside it is lovely ! staff wer very good ! room was great & food was excellent ! would return again !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights mid week in an executive room on the first floor. It was a trek to the room down the longest corridor ever but it was quiet and the room was very good. It was a good size, very clean and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is well situated a couple of miles drive from Chester but is also only a couple of minutes from the park and ride into Chester. It's also also perfectly suited for driving into North Wales (would definitely recommend a scenic drive- it is breathtakingly beautiful).

Check-in and check-out were quick and smooth. We ate in the hotel bar on the Tuesday as they had an Indian buffet on. This was absolutely delicious, and good value and I would definitely recommend it. They also do a Mexican buffet on a Wednesday. The staff in the bar were very friendly and the service was excellent. All the staff we passed around the hotel were friendly in fact.

The pool isn't massive but perfectly adequate and the pool area was clean and tidy and there were exercise classes available if you're feeling energetic! Towels were provided and the changing rooms were clean with plenty of lockers( bring a £1 coin). The jacuzzi was clean and well maintained and very relaxing. The saunas are in the changing rooms so are separate for men and women which may appeal to some but we found a bit anti-social.

We didn't have our little boy with us but it was very family friendly and welcoming so I wouldn't hesitate to come again with him.

Overall, a lovely hotel and a really good break. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,754 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.5 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#33 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £50 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing