We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is there no lift?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Overall this holiday inn is fine, but why there is no lift is very strange in a 3/4 star property. Although I realised this prior to making a reservation, it is not stated on the hotel's own website, only on third party websites. There are only 2 floors, but it is struggle with a pram and I am not sure how wheelchair users would cope if assigned a room on the first floor.
Anyway, the hotel itself is as previously described - 70s/80s exterior with a fresh new reception/lobby area. The internal corridors seem to go on for a long time with plenty of twists and turns before finding your room.
The rooms are good, standard holiday inn decor and good sized bathrooms although looking slightly dated now.
The pool area was good - a nice hot tub in a conservatory extension of the pool if you like and a sauna in the changing rooms. I could not see a steam room though. The gym looked OK, but did not have to use it.
On checking in we were offered special vouchers for breakfast at £10 each as opposed to the regular c£14 price. We took up this offer as there are no eateries located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. On a Sunday morning the restaurant was busy with small queues forming, but nothing too serious. The curse of the Satrurday night wedding party was avioded as those guests were shown to a separate dining room.
Prices in the bar are high, (un)luckily there was a lady in front of me making a large drinks/food order and I had time to check out he price list - £5 plus for a glass of wine was enough to make us return to the room!
The location is right on the edge of Chester with a 10minute drive required to the centre. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel with frequent buses into the city centre.
The reception staff were very helpful and approachable.
Overall good choice for Chester and North Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

Good location, really nice modern clean rooms, location not too bad £5 in a taxi to Chester - would def stay again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel itself is fine, not modern by any means but clean and tidy. The restaurant just cannot cope with the size of the hotel. We went for an evening meal at 8:30pm but had to go to the bar and wait for a table to become available. Good news you would think as it must be popular for a reason. I don't think that's the case as the food was fine, not great but the service was ultra slow!!! I think we found the reason why we had to wait. We sat down at 9pm and we had every intention to have a 3 course meal. We finished the second course by 10:30pm and waited until 10:50pm before someone asked if we wanted a desert. We left tired not wanting to eat anything else. It should not have come as a surprise to us the next day when we arrived for breakfast at 8:30am carrying our pre-paid breakfast vouchers only to be confronted with a queue of people all the way out of the dining room waiting for a table. We waited until 8:50am with little movement so decided to give up and eat out. On asking for a refund for the breakfast vouchers the receptionist asked for authorization from her boss. Her boss gave a very disapproving look but authorized it to go ahead anyway. As a priority club member I have to say I generally find Holiday Inn's good hotels but this is the first time I've ever had to queue for breakfast never mind having to leave because I couldn't get in. All in all, the hotel is fine but the service was a serious let down.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j-kallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We booked this hotel through late rooms.com for approx £60 which we thought was a bargin because the rooms were advertised at £140 a night. The hotel is really tired, its still got a early 1990s feel in the room. The main reception has been renovated to look nice and sleek, but as soon as you go through into the rabbit warren of corridors, you still see the old carpet. Really old fittings in the rooms, shower was very low so had to crouch down. Would have been very angry to have paid full price, but even at our lower price, was disappointed. Didn't stay for breakfast because it was a whopping £16 each.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMSScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 1 night on 3rd July! I dont know if it is cheap or expensive as we stayed here as part of a national Holiday!

Rooms were lovely, clean and tidy and bathroom was huge!!

Loads of t.v channels and movie to rent if you want (8 pound per movie though!)

Pool was nice, clean and sauna was too! (All free to use !!)

Only downside is PRICE OF DRINKS! OH MY GOD.. it was 5.00 for 1 bottle of Bulmers which is very dear compared to Billigham! The softdrinks not too bad though!
Glass of wine was about 7 pound 20!

Only 25 mins from Zoo ! Which is great and 10 - 15 mins from Centre!

All our food was buffet but evening meal and breakfast was Gorgeouss!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rls6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

we played 35 pounds only for 1 night B&B, cant argue. its clear and a good breakfast and not a far drive from the centre of chester.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukfishert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I must commend the Staff at this hotel, they were very professional, friendly and helpful. The Service throughout each department was excellent. The Restaurant had excellent food and was great value for money. The Leisure Centre and Pool were very inviting. Even though the hotel is 3 miles out of the town centre it was easily accessible by bus or taxi. We look forward to returning again.

Well Done, Holiday Inn Chester South.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekenders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,755 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.5 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#34 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £49 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing