We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New look for some, not for others.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I booked this hotel through another company and not direct with the hotel. I did it on a secret hotel basis so didnt find out where i was staying until the booking was confirmed. It was on a non refundable basis. All very well to save you money but i dont think the service should be any different.

After a day at Chester Zoo, we arrived at the Hotel. From passing you can tell it's an old hotel but it has undergone a recent refurbishment which makes it very modern.

We checked in with no problems, the girl behind the desk even offered us membership to the priority club which saves 10% at the hotel bar wihout a joining fee. We took up this option and went to our room.

As we entered the room we discovered our first problem. When booking in July, i requested a double room (it was after all for my partners birthday), however the room we had been given was a twin room. I know double rooms arent always guaranteed bu i do think we should have been made aware of this at an earlier stage. It's not as if we booked last minute. The lighting in the room was very poor and the main light did not really light the whole of th room. We contacted reception to enquire about a room change and we were told there were no doubles available and they would send houskeeping up to pu the beds together. That would be ok...if the lights switches wernt in the middle of the room. Putting the beds together would cut off the switches and leave us in further darkness.

We went to reception to explain the problem putting the beds together. The girl (not the same as who checked us in) didnt believe us and took it on herself to walk to the room (at the other side of the hotel) only to come back and agree with us. She then checked the computer and if by magic found us a double room.

This made us a little happier. We got to the new room and put the lights on, only the main light didnt come on! Once again we had to contact reception. They promptly sent up the maintenance guy to replcae the bulb. I didnt mention the knob on the drawer that was being held in by tissue. It had obviously been pulled off before and that was the easy fix.

At this point i was too annoyed to want to stay and conacted a local hotel to make a booking for the 2nd night. A little bit presumptious but i couldnt see myself wanting to be there 2 nights.

I was looking at the many brochures in the room and they all mentioned the new look hotel. The pictures looked great. The hotel was made to look very modern. Reminded me of the Holiday inn i stayed at in Malaysia. Only our room was very different to the pictures. I think it had been forgotton about in the refurb. The side tables, wardrobes and bed were all old.

We decided to have a drink in the new look bar. The service there was excellent. The man behind the bard was brilliant, highlight of the hotel. He also works in the breakfast restaurant. Only complaint about the bar is obviously the prices but thats always to be expected in a hotel bar.

The reception arranged us a taxi into Chester and at £5 was pretty good value.

When we got our heads down for the night i could hve no problems. The bed was comfy and there was hardly any noise.

Breakfast in the morning was really good. It was all self service and the choice was great. We had a short wait to be seated but the man did apologise and get us as soon as he could. I did maybe overeat a little but it was good value for money.

We left the hotel before our 2nd night to move to a hotel in the center of Chester.

I did feel we could maybe have stayed the 2nd night but i ad already paid for another hotel in my annoyance from the first half an hour in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelaneyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Thank you for your comments. Please accept our apologies that a double room was not available when you checked in, unfortuonately these rooms get booked up very quickly. I am pleased, however, that we were ultimately able to accommodate your request. We note that the remainder of your stay was comfortable and the dining experience enjoyable.

We have an ongoing refurbishment program taking place at the hotel to ensure that our rooms are upgraded on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

Nice hotel, they have obviously spent money on refurbishing the reception, restaurant and bar, the outside looks neater too.
Staff very friendly & helpful, like the new shower curtains & rails give more space in the bath area. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank furyyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Thank you for your comments following a recent stay.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Hard to get too excited about this hotel, but likewise not much to criticize either. Fairly standard holiday inn. Nice touch with bar discounts for Priority Club members and everything seemed well kept and maintained. Room was a bit of a trek as the hotel sprawls over a big area, but once we arrived all was clean and pleasant.

Nothing to stand this one out from the crowd, but then again nothing that would give me any reason not to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We managed to secure a two-night, room-only stay here for circa £80 which is good value & I guess for the price our stay was just about adequate but I've got a similar deal in many Holiday Inn's across the UK & some even cheaper & ended up with a far nicer experience.

The location is good - an easy 5 minute drive to the centre of Chester although there's nothing within walking distance - the closest place to eat or drink outside hotel was the Satlney Tandoori which was about two miles away - it was also shockingingly poor so unless eating in the hotel I'd recommend getting into Chester where's there plenty of great places to eat. We did eat in the hotel bar one night & the food was really good, a nice atmosphere & well-serviced bar. After our Indian we wished we'd stayed in again !

The external appearance of the hotel is horrible but I've never been too bothered about this, the lobby, bar area's etc are all ok - certainly nothing special but fine. We used the pool facilities & I hate to sound negative but compared to similar hotels the experience was poor. A dated pool with pretty run-down changing areas. That said for £40 per night at least there's a pool available I guess.

The room was easily the worst part - we were allocated a twin room which we could only think was almost a last resort as the hotel was fully booked. There's promotional material all over the hotel stating how Holiday Inn's have all been refreshed, etc but this room was straight out of the early 80's (at best) with dusty shelves & whilst not exactly dirty, just didn't feel clean. I truly think however that there's far nicer rooms on property & perhaps we were just unlucky. The bedding didn't overhang so unless you lied perfectly still would find yourself uncovered, they did actually put the beds together for us to effectively creat a double bed but the headboards stayed where they were as did the single sheets ! Again it should be said however we did have two decent night's sleep in fairness, no problems with the mattresses & pillows although in the morning's you could hear everything going on in hallways.

Overall I hate to be negative & it's very rare we are dissapointed with a hotel as we try to be balanced & don't expect luxury when paying less than £50 but compared to other Holiday Inn's we've staye on over the last few years this was by far the worst & subsequently won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptinEO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I feel this Hotel is in the stages of being updated as the room we had did not appear as the same standard as the ones our friends had. Unclean carpet, old furniture and a cold water tap that worked when it felt like it and one morning when it didn't work for some time. We returned one evening, although the bed had been made the dirty towels were left in the bath and the bathroom had not been cleaned and fresh towels not left. On arriving I noticed a lump of chocolate on the floor which I left and it was there all of our stay. On the plus point the reception and dining room staff were very friendly and helpful and very obliging. I would recommend the hotel but try to get a more modern room. Also our room did not have a fridge unlike our friends in the other three rooms. This is not essential but would be very useful. We have stayed in other Holiday Inns and Holiday Express Hotels in this country and I am a Priority Card holder and feel that this is not one of their better Hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExcellentCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We have just returned from our 1 night stay at this hotel. Firstly can i say what great value for money. It's clean, the rooms were lovely, yes I agree with others it is a bit of a maze, but this was not a problem to us. Leisure facilities looked fine, although we did not get a chance to use them. The reception staff were very friendlyand checked us in promptly. The bar and restaurant staff (especially stephanie who is getting married on wed, have a lovely day) were excellent, we did not have any problems with waiting, the service was quick, food was brilliant. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUZYQ64Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Overall this holiday inn is fine, but why there is no lift is very strange in a 3/4 star property. Although I realised this prior to making a reservation, it is not stated on the hotel's own website, only on third party websites. There are only 2 floors, but it is struggle with a pram and I am not sure how wheelchair users would cope if assigned a room on the first floor.
Anyway, the hotel itself is as previously described - 70s/80s exterior with a fresh new reception/lobby area. The internal corridors seem to go on for a long time with plenty of twists and turns before finding your room.
The rooms are good, standard holiday inn decor and good sized bathrooms although looking slightly dated now.
The pool area was good - a nice hot tub in a conservatory extension of the pool if you like and a sauna in the changing rooms. I could not see a steam room though. The gym looked OK, but did not have to use it.
On checking in we were offered special vouchers for breakfast at £10 each as opposed to the regular c£14 price. We took up this offer as there are no eateries located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. On a Sunday morning the restaurant was busy with small queues forming, but nothing too serious. The curse of the Satrurday night wedding party was avioded as those guests were shown to a separate dining room.
Prices in the bar are high, (un)luckily there was a lady in front of me making a large drinks/food order and I had time to check out he price list - £5 plus for a glass of wine was enough to make us return to the room!
The location is right on the edge of Chester with a 10minute drive required to the centre. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel with frequent buses into the city centre.
The reception staff were very helpful and approachable.
Overall good choice for Chester and North Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £62 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing