We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel,polite staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Chester
bristol england
1 review
“nice hotel,polite staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

me and my wife stayed here for 3 nights and all i can say is its a fantastic hotel,we was suppose to go to another hotel as we read few bad comments but beacause we stayed here about 2 years ago so we thought we,ll give another try.I can see loads of changes compared the first time we stayed here rooms,curtains,management whinh we think good improvement.We had dinner as well which we enjoyed,nice food and dessert although we,ve waited longer as we expected.loads of breakfast choices which is nice.Lastly i would like to thank the asian lady sorry i forget her name for bein so helpful and kind to us what a fantastic job she is doing.we know she is very busy serving buffet but still she find time to serve us tea and coffee twice and looking after the costumer well done her..we,ll be coming back for sure

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james23-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear James 23-55. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the future. Thank you for your kind comments about Cisa, I will pass on your feedback and ensure that he is recognised for his efforts in the hotel. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    479
    319
    144
    87
See reviews for
221
706
32
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Visited here on Tesco's Clubcard vouchers. Was slightly concerned when we pulled up to the hotel as it's not very attractive from the outside. However, the decor improves when you walk into the building. The staff behind reception were lovely and friendly. The room was a reasonable size and although both bedroom and ensuite seemed clean they definitely need a revamp. Some bits a pieces need replacing too, like the shower head, and I realised the bath plug wasn't actually fitting correctly after I had got in it and the water was slowly disappearing! Prices of drinks were pretty steep but this is generally the case in hotels anyway so no big shocker really.

We didn't actually eat here (apart from breakfast which was lovely) but we heard the evening meals were lovely from other guests. We walked a couple of minutes up the road to the steak and grill restaurant which was very reasonably priced and pretty tasty.

The taxi journey into Chester city was about £4-£5 one way but you could hop on the Park & Ride (walking distance from hotel) for just less than £2 return.

All in all this hotel is fine for a short stay away for anyone wanting to visit Chester.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Stinny. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future. I’m sure that you are aware that we recently changed brands and have new owners. The new owners are keen to invest in their hotels and I hope that when you next visit you will see the benefit from this. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed on saturday night and package included bed, breakfast and evening meal for 2. We also had in room enteryainment all for £99.
The hotel is typically large chain in appearance including rooms and communal areas. The staff were very helpful and accomadating throughout our stay.
Food was nice and the breakfast was very good.
A good stop over for a shopping trip to chester etc

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Chrisjacqui. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a nice hotel with very helpful & friendly staff, food was very good with lots of choice at breakfast & dinner, and good service, bedrooms are warm & comfortable, clean & with everything you need in them, such as iron, hairdryer, tv, tea, coffee, toiletries, etc, Would definately stay here again, lovely break.
If I had to say a negative it would be that the rooms could do with a bit of new decorating to spruce them up a bit, looking a bit tired.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Hughes 33. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future. I’m sure that you are aware that we recently changed brands and have new owners. The new owners are keen to invest in their hotels and I hope that when you next visit you will see the benefit from this. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Nice comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff. Pool was wonderful, very warm and we were the only people in it. Jacuzzi very luxurious. Food was good, starter and main course very good but let down by the pudding.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Linda H. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future. I have passed your comments onto Chef about your pudding and I hope when you next visit you will find them more to your liking. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Arrived Friday 18th November with my wife for two night stay over in Chester. First impressions: ugly building, big car park, pleasant staff, pleasant reception and bar. Now the first room we were given had an unpleaseant smell from the toilet so we asked to be moved. The second room we were shown was had a lot of road noise then we realised that the window did not lock. We were then offered a large suite and by way of an apology offered a complementary glass of wine. The room was very spacious, clean and everything was in working order. We did expereince some noise from the floor above and nearby stairs. Hotel gym facilities were better than most I had experienced; nice pool and steam room, the sauna was closed. Running, rowing and cycle machines all working and with a good weights room with various workstations. The breakfast was good and staff obliging by preparing scrambled eggs which were not on the hot plate. We did not eat an evening meal although the menu options were good, prices less so. The hotel is two miles outside the centre of Chester shopping area, a 30 minute walk or catch the city bus from nearby park-and-ride. Overall Good 4/5.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fazer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Fazer220. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future. I’m sure that you are aware that we recently changed brands and have new owners. The new owners are keen to invest in their hotels and I hope that when you next visit you will see the benefit from this as we tackle many of the issues that you have highlighted. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel on the 20th Nov 2011, My partner and I stayed in room 208. The hotel reception was good. Well trained staff, very helpfull. The room on entering was incredibly hot but that wasnt a problem as there was a control on the radiator which soon reduced the rooms temperature down to a comfortable level. The room itself was very clean with everything you would need, for a comfortable nights stay. We missed out on breakfast due to the high price £10.00 booked, so we cannot comment on that except for the price. The bar was also a comfortable place to hang out, but again the drinks were very expensive. The swimming pool was excellent, very warm, nice sauna and jacuzzi. A really good way to start off the morning, again the staff member in the health club was very helpfull and an asset to the hotel. overall the experience was good. I would go again. I could suggest a few small changes to certain aspects of the hotel. I would be glad to give the hotel some detailed customer feedback. :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear miketech. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the future. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing