We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night in Chester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We had a lovely weekend at this Hotel. The hotel reception staff were excellent and extremely friendly. The staff in the restaraunt and bar were also superb.

The hotel is a good 30 minutes walk to the centre of Chester, or a £5 taxi ride. We found this no problem at all and found it less hassle than having to struggle with parking in the city centre.

The food in the restaraunt was very good. The Sea Bass I would certainly recommend to anyone tempted.

Although from the outside, the hotel looks a little dated - the inside is lovely and modern with a large bar and reception area. The room was clean and big enough for the two of us. The bed was comfortable. Couldn't have asked for more.

Overall an excellent hotel to use if your visiting Chester and need somewhere close enough to easily get into the Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear uk_dalefan

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and the great service you received from reception, bar and restaurant in particular.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East in the future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

very good night will deffo be going to next years 999 night went with few work friends who all said how good the night was.
the hotel was very clean room was lovely and very comfortable
the staff very friendly people service excellent with lovely food.
staff looked very smart and proffessiona in their roles specially martin bar man and lorraine although all the staff looked after us aLL VERY WELL Xl

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear karen b

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent 999 party night and I was delighted to hear that you want to rebook for 2012, Claire and Bev are awaiting your call! I was particularly pleased to read your kind comments about Martin and Lorraine, please be assured that I will pass your kind words onto them.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have used this hotel for both business and weekend breaks. I would thoroughly recommend it. The standard of food is both excellent and great value for money. I found the team to be most helpful and the hotel has a friendly atmosphere. Rooms are spacious with modern decor. Room facilities are ample with all of the mod cons - trouser press, iron / board, desk area ....etc. The leisure centre is free for residents and is adequately equipped with weights and a dedicated fitness room. It also has a nice pool, spa and steam room. The lounge area and bar also has free wifi access. A great hotel !!

Room Tip: Downstairs best. Avoid those adjacent to entrance as landscape gardners start work early in the morn...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Chris B

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Definately a budget hotel. A bed past it's sell by date and soft useless pillows giving no support left me waking up creaky and naggy. Add on the missed wake up call and it's two strikes against. Fortunately just a one night stay after a Christmas party. Not much different from a budget Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear MartinB59

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.co.uk

I was disappointed to read that you felt that your bed in particular was not up to a high enough standard. I have asked my Head Housekeeper to undertake a full bed survey to identify which beds we need to replace and ensure that going forward we have a better system in place to replace beds quicker.

I would hope that this would not deter you from a return visit and that you enjoyed your Christmas Party.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

was well looked after by james (manager) , he made sure that everything was right the little things that made our stay brilliant.

relaxing steam and sauna rooms , fantastic food

definitely going again to get away from the madness

Room Tip: have the three course dinner added to your deal excellent
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear rwgsiteman

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had used this hotel previously when it was run by Ramada and found the change to Mercure a change for the better.
The building itself is uninspired with little to commend other than its location, just off the A55 and close to a Park and Ride facility for easy access to the city centre. Internally, the hotel is bland with seemingly endless bare corridors and no lift access to the first floor. The dining room is slightly a claustrophobic windowless space which does not encourage extended occupation. But the negatives stop here.
The hotel is clean and warm (even in December) and we enjoyed a quiet, well equipped and comfortable room. All of the staff encountered were pleasant, cheery and helpful. The breakfasts were a great improvement over those on offer during the Ramada ownership with a good range of fruit/cereals; cold meat/cheese and cooked items on a self-service basis with additional options such as smoked haddock available on request.
All in all we felt that we experienced good value for money on our 5 day stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear SB-NRU. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the future, when I hope that we can demonstrate further improvements in the hotel following the takeover. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed over for one night in Nov with Husband and 2 children. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful, we had a dinner and the waiter Robert was very attentive and polite, he gave extra stickers to the children, he was also very quick with our food which was great with two hungry and impatient lovelies!
We also had access to the S.Coe lesiure pool attached to the hotel, children loved it, although the lady giving swimming lessons was quite rude, she doesnt work for the hotel.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lails001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Lails001. Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the future. Thank you for your kind comments about Robert, I will pass on your feedback and ensure that he is recognised for his efforts in the hotel. Yours Sincerely James Lake General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing