We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$75
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
404
569
395
194
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
569
395
194
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridehealth clubleisure facilitiesevening mealbar pricesbreakfast was buffet stylecity centresteam roomcheshire oaksboth nightstea and coffeetwo night stayenjoyable staystayed here for one nightweekend breakyogurtcanal
Filter
Updating list...
1,613 - 1,618 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

What more would anyone wish for than good food, excellent service and warm and friendly personnel? As an organisation, over the Christmas period, we took many groups to the Mercure for a festive, entertaining day out which included a delicious Christmas lunch. The staff, the friendliest, politest and most attentive we have ever experienced, are excellent and they all went out of their way to ensure each visitor enjoyed their day. Some groups came from the South and booked for an overnight stay as well; visiting Chester on their second day. They too said nothing was too much trouble and everyone went out of their way to make their stay very enjoyable. This hotel has achieved the perfect balance between friendly and professional. We would recommend The Mercure Chester East most highly.
.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Anne839

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was absolutely thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent visits to the Mercure Chester East and your great comments. It has been a real pleasure working with you and I look forward to welcoming you back later in 2012.


Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My partner and I stayed here December 2011 for one night. We were not expecting much for a 1 night stay in a city hotel and thought it was wonderful. The room was clean, 3 course dinner was lovely and breakfast particularly good with fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, lots of choices. Spa facilities were great, reasonable sized pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi. Terrific value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreadavies36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear andreadavies36

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and fabulous food and facilities that you enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East in the future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We had a lovely weekend at this Hotel. The hotel reception staff were excellent and extremely friendly. The staff in the restaraunt and bar were also superb.

The hotel is a good 30 minutes walk to the centre of Chester, or a £5 taxi ride. We found this no problem at all and found it less hassle than having to struggle with parking in the city centre.

The food in the restaraunt was very good. The Sea Bass I would certainly recommend to anyone tempted.

Although from the outside, the hotel looks a little dated - the inside is lovely and modern with a large bar and reception area. The room was clean and big enough for the two of us. The bed was comfortable. Couldn't have asked for more.

Overall an excellent hotel to use if your visiting Chester and need somewhere close enough to easily get into the Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear uk_dalefan

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and the great service you received from reception, bar and restaurant in particular.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Chester East in the future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

very good night will deffo be going to next years 999 night went with few work friends who all said how good the night was.
the hotel was very clean room was lovely and very comfortable
the staff very friendly people service excellent with lovely food.
staff looked very smart and proffessiona in their roles specially martin bar man and lorraine although all the staff looked after us aLL VERY WELL Xl

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear karen b

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent 999 party night and I was delighted to hear that you want to rebook for 2012, Claire and Bev are awaiting your call! I was particularly pleased to read your kind comments about Martin and Lorraine, please be assured that I will pass your kind words onto them.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have used this hotel for both business and weekend breaks. I would thoroughly recommend it. The standard of food is both excellent and great value for money. I found the team to be most helpful and the hotel has a friendly atmosphere. Rooms are spacious with modern decor. Room facilities are ample with all of the mod cons - trouser press, iron / board, desk area ....etc. The leisure centre is free for residents and is adequately equipped with weights and a dedicated fitness room. It also has a nice pool, spa and steam room. The lounge area and bar also has free wifi access. A great hotel !!

Room Tip: Downstairs best. Avoid those adjacent to entrance as landscape gardners start work early in the morning.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Chris B

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and I would hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Mercure Chester East Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
James Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews